TALK | Billionaire and Shutterstock founder Jon Oringer: failure as a recipe for success



Next part



Work well, plant 500 trees! We make the Working World more Human and Ecological, so we donate Revenue for Certified Reforestation. As Publisher Best of HR - Berufebilder .de® with an unique Book Concept, on-demand eCourses and News Service we share 15 years of Experience with our Customers (Samsung, Otto, State Institutions). By the Top 20-Blogger Simone Janson, referenced in ARD, ZEIT, WELT, Wikipedia .
Disclosure & Image Rights: Picture material created with a free provided camera of our sponsor Olympus. Artwork created as part of a free collaboration with Shutterstock.

TALK | Billionaire and Shutterstock founder Jon Oringer: Failure as a recipe for success TALK | Billionaire and Shutterstock founder Jon Oringer: failure as a recipe for success

Stock photo agency Shutterstock has opened its European headquarters in Berlin this week. To start, I interviewed founder and billionaire Jon Oringer: His goals in Europe, job offers in Berlin - and his personal recipe for success.

The Amazon of stock photography?

Overview

Jon Oringer, according to Forbes Silicon Alley's First Billionaire, is getting ready for stock photography to become what Amazon is for the book market or Google for online search. Nevertheless, the entrepreneur is rather modest and reserved.

At Best of HR – Berufebilder.de® Oringer has already reported on his successful business idea: He started with Shutterstock 2003 by uploading 30.000 to his own pictures and making them available to subscribers. Later he convinced more and more artists to upload more pictures.

Tip: Text as PDF (please read the instructions!) Download or for a little more Text in the complete book with discount or book an eCourse on the topic book. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!

Berlin as part of the expansion strategy

Overview

Today, the platform markets around 30 million pictures by 400.000 artists worldwide in 150 countries and 20 languages. Around 170.000 new photos are added every week. The company recently broke the 350 million paid download mark.

A sales office in London has recently opened. The new office in Berlin is part of Shutterstock's expansion strategy as a European headquarters - you can see that the company with its subscription-based business model does not need to be afraid of German data protection, unlike some other Internet giants.

"Germany is the largest market in Europe"

Overview

750.000 has clients worldwide, from 30 to 40 percent in Europe. "Germany is the largest market in Europe," says Oringer in the video and later explains the choice of location in more detail:

"Berlin is a thrilling and dynamic city in a growing market for Shutterstock. The metropolis offers the perfect blend of art, media and technology, and at the same time is the gateway to the rest of Europe. "And it's exactly in this mix that Oringer finds the best and most creative minds for his company.

Wanted: Employees who think entrepreneurially

Overview

From this Europacentrale, Shutterstock would like to push ahead with its expansion plans and build a team of product, technology, sales and customer service specialists. Since this week, 10 full-time employees have been working in the Prenzlauer Berg office. The company expects to be able to hire more than 20 employees by the end of 2014.

Oringer was already in his Article he wrote again in the video: The challenge is to find people who have the same entrepreneurial spirit as himself. Oringer, who initially did everything himself, has found over 300 such employees.

Tip: Text as PDF (please read the instructions!) Download or for a little more Text in the complete book with discount or book an eCourse on the topic book. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!

How do you apply?

Overview

We are looking for sales people with an understanding of creative people and - what else? - developers for mobile applications. Also, to find such people, the company organizes a hackathon every year (I have just reported the format), in which the creative can live.

Anyone who wants to apply for Berlin, but must take the way across the US. He finds more information. Caution: Job information is not always displayed.

The success recipe of Jon Oringer

Overview

The person Jon Oringer, however, can hardly be grasped in the personal conversation: the answers are short and precise, he describes his work style as efficient. Oringer is not one who enjoys talking himself.

This understatement makes him likeable, but it does not make my work as a journalist easier. He also remains modest when it comes to the question of his recipe for success. Above all, he has a very good team to rely on, he says.

And his success was above all the product of his failure, according to Oringer. Before he founded Shutterstock, he has already set several companies in the sand. The lessons learned from these failures directly flowed into the development of Shutterstock. The previous failure was therefore a direct prerequisite for today's success.


Tip: Text as PDF (please read the instructions!) Download or for a little more Text in the complete book with discount or book an eCourse on the topic book. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!


More knowledge - PDF download, eCourses or personal advice

Overview

Important NOTE

This entry contains content and information that may be out of date, eg due to legal or statistical changes. Because it can still be helpful to get an overview of the topic, you can still find it here.


Offline download: Download this text as PDF - Read usage rights, Because we do not automatically submit the title of this text for privacy reasons: When buying in "interests" the title register if support is needed. After buying text exclusively Download at this URL (please save).

3,99 Book now


Your eCourse on Demand: Choose your personal eCourse on this or another desired topic, As a PDF download. Up to 30 lessons with each 4 learning task + final lesson. Please enter the title under "interests". Alternatively, we are happy to put together your course for you or offer you a personal regular eMailCourse including supervision and certificate - all further information!

19,99 Book now


Consultant packages: You want to increase your reach or address applicants as an employer? For these and other topics we offer special Consultant packages (overview) - For example, a personal phone call (price is per hour).

179,99 Book now


occupations pictures

You want to comment here? Please the Debate Rules comply, contributions must be unlocked. Your eMailAddress remains secret. More information on the use of your data and how you can counter this can be found in our Privacy Policy.

  1. To follow debate on this post
  2. All debates follow
  1. Pingback: Perfect Career: Pimps without Risks and Side Effects »t3n

  2. Pingback: In my current one WELTColumn betrayed two billionaires their recipe for success: the way to the billion | CHARACTER PICTURES

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

JaI would like to be regularly informed about the latest promotions & offers Newsletter be informed.

I hereby accept the Debate Rules and the Privacy policy with the possibility to contradict the use of my data at any time.

TALK | Milliardär und Shutterstock-Gründer Jon Oringer: Scheitern als Erfolgsrezept


Gut arbeiten, 500 Bäume pflanzen! Wir machen die Arbeitswelt menschlicher wie ökologischer und spenden – urkundlich belegt – Einnahmen für Aufforstung. Als Verlag Best of HR – Berufebilder.de® mit einzigartigem Buchkonzept, on-Demand eKursen und News-Dienst geben wir über 15 Jahre Erfahrung an unsere Kunden (u.a. Samsung, Otto, staatliche Institutionen) weiter. Von der Top20-Bloggerin Simone Janson, referenziert in ARD, ZEIT, WELT, Wikipedia.
Offenlegung & Bildrechte:  Bildmaterial erstellt mit einer kostenlos zur Verfügung gestellten Kamera unseres Sponsors Olympus, die wir im Rahmen des Tests bis zur Unbrauchbarkeit geprüft haben. Bildmaterial erstellt im Rahmen einer kostenlosen Kooperation mit Shutterstock.

Best of HR – Berufebilder.de®

Die Stock-Photo-Agentur Shutterstock hat diese Woche ihre Europazentrale in Berlin eröffnet. Zum Start habe ich Gründer und Milliardär Jon Oringer interviewt: Zu seinen Zielen in Europa, Jobangeboten in Berlin – und seinem persönlichen Erfolgsrezept.

Das Amazon der Stock-Fotografie?

Jon Oringer, laut Forbes Silicon Alley’s First Billionaire, schickt sich an, für die Stock-Fotografie das zu werden was Amazon für den Buchmarkt oder Google für die Online-Suche ist. Dennoch ist der Unternehmer eher bescheiden und zurückhaltend.

Auf Best of HR – Berufebilder.de® hat Oringer ja bereits über seine erfolgreiche Geschäftsidee berichte: Er begann mit Shutterstock 2003, indem er 30.000 seiner eigenen Bilder hochlud und sie für Abonennten verfügbar machte. Später überzeugte er immer mehr Künstler, weitere Bilder hochzuladen.

Tipp: Text als PDF (bitte Anleitung lesen!) oder zu diesem Text kompletten eKurs herunterladen. Aktionen oder News per Newsletter!

Berlin als Teil der Expansionsstrategie

Heute vermarktet die Plattform ca. 30 Millionen Bilder von 400.000 Künstlern weltweit in 150 Ländern und 20 Sprachen. Pro Woche kommen etwa 170.000 neue Fotos hinzu. Kürzlich knackte das Unternehmen die Marke von 350 Millionen bezahlten Downloads.

Unlängst wurde bereits ein Vertriebsbüro in London eröffnet. Das neue Büro in Berlin ist als europäisches Hauptquartier Teil von Shutterstocks Expansionsstrategie – man merkt, dass das Unternehmen mit seinem Abonennten-Geschäftsmodell im Gegensatz zu diversen anderen Internet-Giganten keine Angst vor dem deutschen Datenschutz zu haben braucht.

“Deutschland ist der größte Markt in Europa”

750.000 Kunden hat das Unternehmen weltweit, davon 30 bis 40 Prozent in Europa. “Deutschland ist in Europa der größte Markt”, sagt Oringer in dem Video und begründet später im Gespräch die Standortwahl noch etwas ausführlicher:

“Berlin ist eine spannende und dynamische Stadt in einem wachsenden Markt für Shutterstock. Die Metropole bietet die perfekte Mischung aus Kunst, Medien und Technologie und ist zugleich Tor zum restlichen Europa.” Und genau in dieser Mischung glaubt Oringer die besten und kreativsten Köpfe für sein Unternehmen zu finden.

Gesucht: Mitarbeiter, die unternehmerisch denken

Denn von dieser Europazentrale aus möchte Shutterstock seine Expansionspläne vorantreiben und dafür ein Team aus Produkt-, Technologie-, Vertriebs- und Kundenservice-Spezialisten aufbauen. Seit dieser Woche arbeiten im Büro im Prenzlauer Berg zehn Vollzeitkräfte. Das Unternehmen rechnet damit, mehr als 20 Mitarbeiter bis Ende 2014 einstellen zu können.

Tipp: Text als PDF (bitte Anleitung lesen!) oder zu diesem Text kompletten eKurs herunterladen. Aktionen oder News per Newsletter!

War Oringer bereits in seinem Artikel geschrieben hat, hat er auch im Video noch einmal betont: Die Herausforderung besteht darin, Leute zu finden, die den gleichen unternehmerischen Spirit haben wie er selbst. Gut 300 solcher Mitarbeiter hat Oringer, der am Anfang noch alles selbst machte, bislang gefunden.

Wie bewirbt man sich?

Gesucht werden vor allem Vertriebsleute mit Verständnis für Kreative und  – wie sollte es anders sein – Entwickler für mobile Applikationen. Auch um solche Leute zu finden, veranstaltet das Unternehmen jedes Jahr einen Hackathon (über das Format habe ich ja gerade berichtet), in dem sich die Kreativen ausleben können.

Wer sich für Berlin bewerben will, muss allerdings den Weg über die USA nehmen. Er findet weitere Informationen auf. Vorsicht: Nicht immer werden die Jobinformationen auch angezeigt.

Das Erfolgsrezept von Jon Oringer

Der Mensch Jon Oringer bleibt allerdings auch im persönlichen Gespräch kaum fassbar: Die Antworten sind kurz und präzise, er beschreibt seinen Arbeitsstil als effizient. Oringer ist ist keiner, der sich selbst gerne reden hört.

Diese Form von Understatement macht ihn sympathisch, aber mir die Arbeit als Journalistin nicht leichter. Auch bei der Frage nach seinem Erfolgsrezept bleibt er bescheiden: Vor allem habe er ein sehr gutes Team, auf das er bauen könne, sagt er.

Tipp: Text als PDF (bitte Anleitung lesen!) oder zu diesem Text kompletten eKurs herunterladen. Aktionen oder News per Newsletter!

Und sein Erfolg sei vor allem das Produkt seines Scheiterns, so Oringer. Bevor er Shutterstock gründete, hat er bereits mehrere Untenehmen in den Sand gesetzt. Die Erfahrungen aus diesen Fehlschlägen flossen direkt in die Entwicklung von Shutterstock ein. Das vorherige Scheitern war demnach direkte Voraussetzung für den heutigen Erfolg.


Video-Hinweis: Wenn Sie hier kein Video sehen, müssen Sie am Ende der Seite unter "Privacy und Cookies" die Option "Videos sehen" aktivieren!




Hier schreibt für Sie:

 

Simone Janson Simone JansonSimone Janson ist Verlegerindeutsche Top20 Bloggerin und Beraterin für HR-Kommunikation.

  Profil


Mehr Wissen - PDF-Download, eKurs on Demand oder persönliche Beratung


Offline-Download: Diesen Text als PDF herunterladen –  Nutzungsrechte nachlesen. Da wir den Titel dieses Textes aus Datenschutzgründen nicht automatisch übermitteln: Beim im Kauf unter "Interessen" den Titel eintragen, falls Support nötig ist. Nach dem Kauf Text ausschließlich unter dieser URL herunterladen (bitte abspeichern).

3,99 Jetzt buchen


Ihr eKurs on Demand: Wählen Sie Ihren persönlichen eKurs zu diesem oder einem anderen Wunschthema. Als PDF-Download. Bis zu 30 Lektionen mit je 4 Lernaufgaben + Abschlusslektion. Bitte unter "Interessen" den Titel eintragen. Alternativ stellen wir gerne Ihren Kurs für Sie zusammen oder bieten Ihnen einen persönlichen regelmäßigen eMail-Kurs inklusive Betreuung und Zertifikat – alle weiteren Informationen!

19,99 Jetzt buchen


Berater-Pakete: Sie wollen Ihre Reichweite erhöhen oder als Arbeitgeber Bewerber ansprechen? Für diese und weitere Themen bieten wir spezielle Berater-Pakete (Übersicht) – zum Beispiel ein persönliches Telefonat (Preis gilt pro Stunde).

179,99 Jetzt buchen



Sie wollen hier kommentieren? Bitte die Debatten-Regeln einhalten, Beiträge müssen freigeschaltet werden. Ihre eMail-Adresse bleibt geheim. Mehr Informationen zur Verwendung Ihrer Daten und wie Sie dieser widersprechen können, finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

  1. Debatte zu diesem Beitrag folgen
  2. Allen Debatten folgen
  1. Perfekte Karriere: Pimpen ohne Risiken und Nebenwirkungen » t3n

    […] zu ihren „lessons learned”. Angefangen beim Seriengründer Peter Eich bis zum Milliardär Jon Oringer mit seiner Bildagentur […]

  2. In meiner aktuellen WELT-Kolumne verraten zwei Milliadäre ihr Erfolgsrezept: Der Weg zur Milliarde | B E R U F E B I L D E R

    […] das er später an Nokia verkaufte, und gründete 2012 die Fluggesellschaft WOW air. Der Amerikaner John Oringer brachte seine Stock-Foto-Agentur Shutterstock vergangenes Jahr an die Börse. Laut Forbes gilt er […]

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Ja, ich möchte regelmäßig über die neusten Aktionen & Angebote per Newsletter informiert werden.

Hiermit akzeptiere ich die Debatten-Regeln und die Datenschutzbedingungen mit der Möglichkeit, der Verwendung meiner Daten jederzeit zu widersprechen.