Data security in companies: 2 X 4 Tips against shadow IT


We are moved by the idea to make the world of work more human - without constant pressure for efficiency, stress and fear. As Publisher Best of HR - Berufebilder.de® with podcast, eLearning-on-demand offers and news service we share 15 years of experience with our customers (Samsung, Otto, state institutions). By the Top20 female blogger and consultant Simone Janson, referenced in ARD, ZEIT, Wikipedia .
Copyright: Artwork created by Simone Janson | Best of HR Berufebilder.de®

Employees are excellent problem solvers. Put an obstacle in their way and they will find a way around it. But that can be a long term problem for IT security Company be.

Data security in companies: 2 X 4 tips against shadow IT data-security-it

Tip: Text as PDF or podcast (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!


More knowledge - Podcast, PDF download, eCourse or personal advice

Here writes for you: Paul Chapman is CIO at Box. Profile

Our books

Read


Read


Read


Read


Best of HR Berufebilder

Read


Employees with own initiative are good, right?

Overview

If your employees show their own initiative and work with IT systems that do not work for them, then you can be sure that they will find a way out. And who can blame them? They have goals and deadlines to achieve. They have given customers and colleagues promises they need to keep.

Tip: Text as PDF or podcast (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!

And you may be thinking - where is the problem? If you have some workarounds at hand - wonderful. It's easier than thinking up new solutions. But workarounds can be a sign that yours Company can not keep up anymore.

The path of least resistance

Overview

Let's look at the most common solutions that people use to do their jobs. Always popular is sending documents via eMail Personal accounts that allow them to work outside the office - that certainly benefits productivity.

Then there are the popular collaboration solutions - setting up unauthorized synchronization and sharing services so they can access many different files in a Starbucks or the airport lounge and share them with colleagues, suppliers, and partners.

This means that sensitive corporate data is shared on the Internet in places your IT department can not see. And that's the problem with the path of least resistance - over time, it creates IT security issues in your business.

Tip: Text as PDF or podcast (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!

Why are ECM systems not suitable for employees?

Overview

Actually, there is a solution to this problem. It's called Enterprise Content Management (ECM) and came up in the 2000 years. These ECM systems were well-suited for managing mission-critical information and processes, but they did not provide a pleasant user experience. That was a disappointment.

Systemscope research shows that over 50 percent of ECM projects had lower takeover rates than expected. And even worse, 50 percent have failed completely. So it's no wonder that workarounds have become a solution. So what's the problem? Why are ECM systems not suitable for employees?

A step behind reality

Overview

Many ECM systems were developed before this rapid development began. Now their abilities lie behind the modern business reality, which is why employees are forced to find workarounds for doing your job.

Every conceivable way we manage our business has changed in the past ten years. In particular, four forces have shaped our way of working today.

Tip: Text as PDF or podcast (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!

  1. Mobility: Today, almost all the world can be reached by smartphone, so businesses need to meet special customer expectations and provide mobile services that improve the quality of life and convenience of their customers.
  2. analysis: Organizations need to manage unbelievable amounts of data and identify the critical information they need to improve their customer experience, or the data needed to run applications and devices.
  3. Cloud: Today's businesses are built on cloud technology, while established technology giants are increasingly collaborating with native cloud providers.
  4. The Internet of Things: Up to 2020, new business models need to integrate 25 billion networked devices that generate information, in addition to the existing network of mobile users.

The extent of shadow IT

Overview

According to CIO.com, only 8 percent of companies are aware of the level of shadow IT that hides in their processes. This means that for most organizations, the data hidden in the systems, such as network protocols, eMailTraffic, annexes, corporate credit card reports, telephone bills, ISP bills and firewall protocols are unaware.

By working directly with the employees in your company right from the start, you can find out what is wrong in your systems and processes before it is too late.

What the IT approves is alright?

Overview

Bypassing ECM systems does not happen completely unrecognized. Many IT managers are being pressured by the business to enable collaboration and mobility and are forced to use the company's approved workarounds.

Adding external partners to the corporate directory is an example. Duplication of data from the internal network in the DMZ is also common, but absolutely not ideal. The increased storage and management costs of duplication are a problem. Frequently, sensitive data in the DMZ land, making it a main target for hackers. Companies know the risks, but they often do not know that there is a secure alternative.

Tip: Text as PDF or podcast (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!

Collaboration that works

Overview

To be a step ahead of this problem, a next-generation enterprise content management and collaboration platform must meet four key criteria:

  1. Versatile content management: The system must be able to manage ALL content types on thousands of apps on all devices and up to the cloud.
  2. Flexible security control: You can be sure that content and data are secure but still accessible by users.
  3. Workflow integration: Optimal interoperability to enable content and communications to be routed securely and seamlessly through critical business solutions and LOB apps.
  4. User Experience: And, of course, it must offer a fantastic user experience. If the IT solution does not provide optimal user experience, it is not accepted.


More knowledge - Podcast, PDF download, eCourse or personal advice

Overview


Offline download: Download this text as PDF - Read usage rights, Because we do not automatically submit the title of this text for privacy reasons: When buying in "interests" the title register if support is needed. After buying text exclusively Download at this URL (please save).

3,35 Book now


Listen to Podcast & Download MP3: You can listen to this text for free, as member even without annoying popup, or download the MP3 for a fee - Read usage rights, After the purchase page refresh, then you will find the download link here. Because we do not automatically submit the title of this podcast for privacy reasons: When buying in "interests" the title register if support is needed.

3,35 Book now


Your eCourse on Demand: Choose your personal eCourse on this or another desired topic, As a PDF download. Up to 30 lessons with each 4 learning task + final lesson. Please enter the title under "interests". Alternatively, we are happy to put together your course for you or offer you a personal regular eMailCourse including supervision and certificate - all further information!

16,20 Book now


Consultant packages: You want to increase your reach or address applicants as an employer? For these and other topics we offer special Consultant packages (overview) - For example, a personal phone call (price is per hour).

149,99 Book now


occupations pictures

You want to comment here? Please the Debate Rules comply, contributions must be unlocked. Your eMailAddress remains secret. More information on the use of your data and how you can counter this can be found in our Privacy Policy.

  1. To follow debate on this post
  2. All debates follow
  3. Debates per eMail subscribe (add link here!)
  1. Competencepartner

    Data Security in Business: 2 X 4 Tips against Shadow IT by Paul Chapman - Highly recommended 1xNdvBOXig

  2. Thomas Eggert

    Data security in companies: 2 X 4 Tips against shadow IT by Paul Chapman via BERUFEBILDER - Highly recommended MR8DmQ16K6

  3. REGIS GMBH

    Data security in companies: 2 X 4 Tips against shadow IT by Paul Chapman via BERUFEBILDER - Highly recommended z0cc1mPz0C

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

JaI would like to be regularly informed about the latest promotions & offers Newsletter be informed.

I hereby accept the Debate Rules and the Privacy policy with the possibility to contradict the use of my data at any time.

Zum Text

Besser Arbeiten, Infos nach Wunsch: Wir geben Ihnen Informationen, die Sie wirklich brauchen und engagieren uns für eine nachhaltige Arbeitswelt. Mit unserem einzigartigen on-Demand Verlags-Konzept bieten wir Bücher, Magazine, eKurse und haben über 20 Jahre Erfahrung im Corporate Publishing – Kunden u.a. Samsung, Otto, staatliche Institutionen, Partner Bundesbildungsministerium. Verlegerin Simone Janson ist eine der 10 wichtigsten deutschen Bloggerinnen, referenziert in ARD, FAZ, ZEIT, WELT, Wikipedia.

Offenlegung & Bildrechte:
Redaktionelle Bearbeitung: Dieser Beitrag wurde zur Veröffentlichung auf Best of HR – Berufebilder.de® überarbeitet und inhaltlich für das Format angepasst von Simone Janson. Alle Beiträge von Simone Janson


Hier schreibt für Sie: Paul Chapman ist CIO bei Box. Alle Texte von Paul Chapman.

  • Kündige dich nach oben {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Challenge – mit Mut Herausforderungen meistern {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Den Chef führen von Unten {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Gratis Marketing! Umsonst werben {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Knigge Gutes Benehmen & Stil im Berufsalltag {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Like a Boss – So werden Sie wichtig {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Klar denken effizienter arbeiten {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Tschüss Bullshit Jobs {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Der geheime Weg zur zweiten Chance {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Körpersprache für Manager & Macher {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Teamwork Teamarbeit Teampsychologie Teamentwicklung {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • eCommerce – Chance für Unternehmen {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Körpersprache & Geheimnisse nonverbaler Kommunikation {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Produktivität planen & steigern {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Entspannt mehr Geld verdienen {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Menschen Lenken {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Die 007 Strategie {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Projekte erfolgreich planen & umsetzen {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Mythos Motivation. Neue Wege zum Ziel {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Besser verhandeln & richtig gut verkaufen lernen {+AddOn nach Wunsch}

Datensicherheit in Unternehmen: 2 X 4 Tipps gegen Schatten-IT

Bisher 6376 Leser, 2507 Social-Media-Shares Likes & Reviews (5/5) • Kommentare lesen & schreiben

Mitarbeiter sind hervorragende Problemlöser. Legen Sie ihnen ein Hindernis in den Weg und sie finden eine Möglichkeit, es zu umgehen. Aber genau das kann langfristig zum Problem für die IT-Sicherheit von Unternehmen werden.

data-security-it

Mitarbeiter mit Eigeninitative sind gut, oder?

Wenn Ihre Mitarbeiter Eigeninitiative zeigen und mit IT-Systemen arbeiten, die nicht für sie arbeiten, dann können Sie sicher sein, dass sie eine Ausweichmöglichkeit finden werden. Und wer kann es ihnen verübeln? Sie haben Ziele und zu erreichende Deadlines. Sie haben Kunden und Kollegen Versprechen gegeben, die sie halten müssen.

Und Sie denken jetzt vielleicht  – wo liegt da das Problem? Wenn sie einige Workarounds zur Hand haben  – wunderbar. Das ist einfacher, als sich neue Lösungen auszudenken. Doch Workarounds können ein Zeichen sein, dass Ihr Unternehmen nicht mehr mithalten kann.

Der Weg des geringsten Widerstands

Sehen wir uns die häufigsten Problemlösungen an, die von Mitarbeitern zum Erledigen ihrer Arbeit genutzt werden. Immer beliebt ist das Senden von Dokumenten per eMail an persönliche Konten, damit sie außerhalb des Büros arbeiten können  – davon profitiert sicherlich die Produktivität.

Dann gibt es die beliebten Zusammenarbeitslösungen  – das Einrichten nicht genehmigter Synchronisations- und Freigabedienste, damit sie in einem Starbucks oder der Flughafen-Lounge auf viele verschiedene Dateien zugreifen und sie so mit Kollegen, Lieferanten und Partnern teilen können.

Dies bedeutet, dass sensible Unternehmensdaten im Internet an Orten verteilt werden, die Ihre IT-Abteilung nicht sehen kann. Und das ist das Problem mit dem Weg des geringsten Widerstands  – er führt im Laufe der Zeit zu Problemen für die IT-Sicherheit in Ihrem Unternehmen.


Tipp: Text als PDF (bitte Anleitung lesen!) oder zu diesem Text kompletten eKurs herunterladen. Aktionen oder News per Newsletter!

Warum sind ECM-Systeme nicht für Mitarbeiter geeignet?

Eigentlich gibt es für dieses Problem eine Lösung. Sie heißt Enterprise Content Management (ECM) und kam in den 2000er-Jahren auf. Diese ECM-Systeme waren gut geeignet für die Verwaltung unternehmenskritischer Informationen und Prozesse, aber sie boten keine angenehme Benutzererfahrung. Das war eine Enttäuschung.

Untersuchungen von Systemscope zeigen, dass über 50 Prozent an ECM-Projekten geringere Übernahmeraten als erwartet hatten. Und was noch schlimmer ist, 50 Prozent haben völlig versagt. Es ist also kein Wunder, dass Workarounds zu einer Lösung geworden sind. Was ist also das Problem? Warum sind ECM-Systeme nicht für Mitarbeiter geeignet?

Ein Schritt hinter der Realität

Viele ECM-Systeme wurden entwickelt, bevor diese rasche Entwicklung begann. Jetzt liegen ihre Fähigkeiten hinter der modernen Geschäftsrealität, weshalb Mitarbeiter gezwungen sind, Workarounds zum Erledigen Ihrer Arbeit zu finden.

Jede erdenkliche Art, wie wir unsere Geschäfte erledigen, hat sich in den letzten zehn Jahren verändert. Insbesondere vier Kräfte haben heute unsere Arbeitsweise neu geformt.

  1. Mobilität: Fast die ganze Welt ist heute per Smartphone erreichbar, weshalb Unternehmen speziellen Kundenerwartungen gerecht werden und mobile Dienste anbieten müssen, die die Lebensqualität und Bequemlichkeit von Kunden verbessern.
  2. Analysen: Unternehmen müssen unglaubliche Datenmengen verwalten und die wichtigen Informationen, die sie bei der Verbesserung der Kundenerfahrung unterstützen, oder die notwendigen Daten zum Betrieb von Anwendungen und Geräten identifizieren.
  3. Cloud: Unternehmen von heute sind auf Cloud-Technologie aufgebaut, während etablierte Technologiegiganten immer stärker mit nativen Cloud-Anbietern zusammenarbeiten.
  4. Das Internet der Dinge: Bis 2020 müssen neue Geschäftsmodelle zusätzlich zum vorhandenen Netzwerk mobiler Benutzer ca. 25 Milliarden vernetzte Geräte integrieren, die Informationen erzeugen.

Das Ausmaß der Schatten-IT

Laut CIO.com kennen nur 8 Prozent der Unternehmen das Ausmaß an Schatten-IT, die sich in ihren Prozessen verbirgt. Das bedeutet, dass den meisten Unternehmen die in den Systemen verborgenen Daten wie Netzwerkprotokolle, eMail-Verkehr, Anhänge, Berichte zu Unternehmenskreditkarten, Telefonrechnungen, ISP-Rechnungen und Firewall-Protokolle nicht bewusst sind.

Durch eine direktere Zusammenarbeit mit den Mitarbeitern in Ihrem Unternehmen von Anfang an können Sie herausfinden, was in Ihren Systemen und Prozessen fehlerhaft ist, bevor es zu spät ist.

Was die IT absegnet, ist in Ordnung?

Das Umgehen von ECM-Systemen geschieht allerdings nicht völlig unerkannt. Viele IT-Manager werden vom Geschäft unter Druck gesetzt, um Zusammenarbeit und Mobilität zu ermöglichen, und sind so zur Nutzung vom Unternehmen genehmigter Workarounds gezwungen.

Das Hinzufügen externer Partner zum Unternehmensverzeichnis ist ein Beispiel dafür. Das Duplizieren von Daten aus dem internen Netzwerk im DMZ ist auch üblich, aber absolut nicht ideal. Die gesteigerten Speicher- und Verwaltungskosten der Duplikation sind ein Problem. Oft landen sensible Daten im DMZ, wodurch sie zu einem Hauptziel für Hacker werden. Unternehmen kennen die Risiken, aber sie wissen oft nicht, dass es eine sichere Alternative gibt.

Kollaboration, die funktioniert

Um diesem Problem einen Schritt voraus zu sein, muss eine Plattform für Enterprise Content Management und Zusammenarbeit der nächsten Generation vier Hauptkriterien erfüllen:

  1. Vielfältige Inhaltsverwaltung: Das System muss ALLE Inhaltstypen bei tausenden von Apps auf allen Geräten und bis hin zur Cloud verwalten können.
  2. Flexible Sicherheitskontrolle: Sie können sicher sein, dass Inhalte und Daten sicher sind, aber immer noch durch Benutzer auf sie zugegriffen werden kann.
  3. Workflow-Integration: Optimale Interoperabilität, damit Inhalte und Kommunikation sicher und nahtlos durch unternehmenskritische Lösungen und LOB-Apps geleitet werden können.
  4. Benutzererfahrung: Und sie muss natürlich eine phantastische Benutzererfahrung bieten. Wenn die IT-Lösung keine optimale Benutzererfahrung bietet, wird sie nicht angenommen.

Text als PDF kaufen

Diesen Text als PDF erwerben (nur zur eigenen Nutzung ohne Weitergabe gemäß AGB): Bitte schicken Sie uns eine eMail mit gewünschten Titel an support [at] berufebilder.de, wir schicken das PDF dann umgehend zu. Sie können auch Text-Reihen erwerben.

3,99Jetzt buchen

Mehr erfahren – unsere Bücher zum Thema

Oder für wenig mehr direkt ganzes Buch oder eKurs zu diesem Thema kaufen, dazu weiterlesen. Hier finden Sie eine passende Auswahl.

eKurs on Demand kaufen

Bis zu 30 Lektionen mit je 4 Lernaufgaben + Abschlusslektion als PDF-Download. Bitte schicken Sie uns eine eMail mit gewünschten Titel an support [at] berufebilder.de. Alternativ stellen wir gerne Ihren Kurs für Sie zusammen oder bieten Ihnen einen persönlichen regelmäßigen eMail-Kurs – alle weiteren Informationen!

19,99Jetzt buchen

  • buch-review
    buch-review
    buch-review
    buch-review
    buch-review
  • buch-review
    buch-review
    buch-review
    buch-review
    buch-review
  • buch-review
    buch-review
    buch-review
    buch-review
    buch-review
  • buch-review
    buch-review
    buch-review
    buch-review
    buch-review

3 Antworten zu „Datensicherheit in Unternehmen: 2 X 4 Tipps gegen Schatten-IT“

  1. KompetenzPartner

    Datensicherheit in Unternehmen: 2 X 4 Tipps gegen Schatten-IT von Paul Chapman – Empfehlenswerter Beitrag 1xNdvBOXig

  2. Thomas Eggert

    Datensicherheit in Unternehmen: 2 X 4 Tipps gegen Schatten-IT von Paul Chapman via B E R U F E B I L D E R – Empfehlenswerter Beitrag MR8DmQ16K6

  3. BEGIS GmbH

    Datensicherheit in Unternehmen: 2 X 4 Tipps gegen Schatten-IT von Paul Chapman via B E R U F E B I L D E R – Empfehlenswerter Beitrag z0cc1mPz0C

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert

Ja, ich möchte regelmäßig über die neusten Aktionen & Angebote per Newsletter informiert werden.

Hiermit akzeptiere ich die Debatten-Regeln und die Datenschutzbedingungen mit der Möglichkeit, der Verwendung meiner Daten jederzeit zu widersprechen.

EnglishDeutsch