Registration and taxes for start-up entrepreneurs: regulations at a glance


Work well, plant 500 trees! About us make the Working World more Human and Ecological, so we donate Revenue for Certified Afforestation. As Publisher Best of HR - Berufebilder .de® you can unique Book Concept, on Demand eCourses and News Service we share 15 years of Experience with our Customers (Samsung, Otto, State Institutions). By the Top 20-Blogger Simone Janson, referenced in ARD, ZEIT, WELT, Wikipedia .
Copyright: Artwork created as part of a free collaboration with Shutterstock. ,

Before taking up your self-employment, you should consider, together with your advisor, which authorities have to be notified of the company's establishment or where you must register. There are, in particular:

Registration and taxes for start-up entrepreneurs: regulations at a glance


More knowledge - PDF download, eCourses or personal advice

Important note: This entry contains content and information that may be out of date, eg due to legal or statistical changes. Because it can still be helpful to get an overview of the topic, you can still find it here.


Here writes for you:

Simone Janson Simone JansonSimone Janson is publisher, German Top20 blogger and Consultant for HR communication.

Profile

Freelance work: registration with the tax office

If you wish to pursue a freelance activity, you must in any case inform the financial authority responsible for you. As a rule, you will receive a comprehensive questionnaire asking all tax-related information (for example: type of activity performed, start of self-employment, estimated turnover and profit).

If you are self-employed, you are not obliged to keep an account even if the characteristics listed below in the section on the commercial register are exceeded. However, you can always book books voluntarily at any time.

Registration with the trade office

Commercial activities must be registered with the competent trade office. In particular, it must be ensured that the company's object is precisely identified.

Tip: Text as PDF (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Actions or news via Newsletter!

When you register a business, you usually do not need to provide a separate account. As soon as you register a business with the commercial office, the tax office will automatically receive a copy of your commercial application and will also send you a questionnaire.

Only for craftsmen: Membership in the Chamber of Crafts

If you intend to become self-employed in a craft profession, you should contact the responsible Chamber of Crafts in advance. Even after the reform of the craft code, the so-called “master compulsion” still exists in many professions.

Tradesmen: Membership in the Chamber of Industry and Commerce (IHK)

commercial CompanyNon-manual workers are required to be members of the Chamber of Commerce and Industry. The registration takes place here also automatically at the time of registration of the trade.

Merchants: Entry Commercial Register

Under certain circumstances, you as a tissue provider are required to register in the commercial register. According to § 238 HGB you are then obliged as a merchant within the meaning of § 1 HGB for the management of books, that is an accounting. This obligation always exists when the entrepreneur:

  • is already required under the provisions of the German Commercial Code (140 AO)
  • certain size characteristics are exceeded (§ 141 AO).

Whom concerns this duty

This applies in particular to the so-called “actual merchant” (§ 1 HGB), who runs a basic trade (for example a textile retail). With the so-called “Kannkaufmann” (§ 2 HGB), the commercial law bookkeeping obligation only occurs if this has been entered in the commercial register.

Tip: Text as PDF (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Actions or news via Newsletter!

Commercial partnerships (e.g. OHG or KG) are also obliged to keep accounts due to the obligation to register in the commercial register. In the case of corporations, due to their legal form, there is always an obligation to keep books (so-called “form merchant”; § 41 GmbHG; § 91 AktG).

In addition, there are special accounting obligations for hospital bearers (hospital accounting regulations) and for nursing care facilities (nursing bookkeeping regulations)

How does the transition to accounting work?

When the value limits are exceeded, the Finanzamt will require a separate administrative act (§ 141 Abs. 2 AO). It is sufficient if only one size feature is exceeded. The obligation to keep accounts is to be observed at the beginning of the fiscal year following the year of the financial year's request.

If you employ employees: Federal Agency for Labor

If you employ employees, you must apply for a company number at the Federal Employment Agency for your company. Under this number, all social insurance applications will be processed for your employees. Berufsgenossenschaft Depending on the type of activity and the size of your company, you as an employer must pay contributions to the professional association for your employees. Therefore, check with your advisor which professional association is responsible for your company and show the opening of your company as well as the number of your employees there.

Supplementary pension fund for the construction industry VVaG (“SoKa-Bau”)

For companies in the construction industry, there is a legal obligation to pay contributions to the supplementary pension fund of the construction industry. These are calculated according to the gross wages of your employees. If you want to become active in this area, mandatory registration of your company and your employees must take place.

Tip: Text as PDF (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Actions or news via Newsletter!

Other authorities

In individual cases, it must also be examined whether there are further disclosure obligations. For example, permits from construction or environmental authorities are conceivable.

What taxes do you have to pay?

In the private sector, entrepreneurs or freelancers are always subject to personal income tax, irrespective of their legal form. Therefore, you must notify the tax office of your income.

individual entrepreneurs

Only the type of income and the type of income distinguishes the individual entrepreneur or partners from the shareholder of a capital company.

In the case of an individual entrepreneur, the income generated during the marketing year is subject to personal income tax. Whether this is commercial or self-employed income is of no importance to this extent. In addition, the amount of the taxable profit is not dependent on whether this profit was withdrawn by the entrepreneur or retained in the company for the purpose of capital reinvestment (reinvestment). The amount of income tax is dependent on many factors. In addition to the amount of the profit, the form of assessment (individual assessment or joint assessment with the spouse) as well as other income also play an important role.

Shareholder of a partnership

The shareholder of a partnership is treated in the same way as a sole proprietor in income tax. The commercial or freelance profit of the company is determined by the tax office in a separate tax assessment and distributed to the individual shareholders.

Tip: Text as PDF (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Actions or news via Newsletter!

dividend

This profit share is to be taxed by the respective shareholder in the context of his personal income tax declaration with respect to the income from business operations or with the income from independent work.

In the case of commercial income, in addition to the taxable profit share, the proportionate trade tax on the company is deducted from the income tax.

Shareholder of a corporation

For shareholders of corporations, there are generally two types of income that are relevant for tax purposes: on the one hand, the remuneration for managing the company for the company and, on the other hand, the dividends or profit distributions of the company.

The remuneration from the company's business is income from self-employment. The income tax deducted by the company, including ancillary benefits, is calculated on the personal income tax of the company.

dividends

Dividends paid by the capital company represent income from capital assets. Since these payments have already been subject to corporation tax and trade tax at the level of the capital company, taxation with the shareholder takes place only to 50% of the distributive gross amount (so-called half-income method).

Tip: Text as PDF (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Actions or news via Newsletter!

From this amount (plus further interest and dividends) the saver deduction amount is deducted, so that the profit distributions can even remain completely income-tax-free.

Capital gains tax

The withholding tax to be withheld by the corporation from the distribution amount will be credited against personal income tax on presentation of a proper tax certificate (§ 36 para. 1 No. 2 EStG).


More knowledge - PDF download, eCourses or personal advice


Offline download: Download this text as PDF - Read usage rights, Because we do not automatically submit the title of this text for privacy reasons: When buying in "interests" the title register if support is needed. After buying text exclusively Download at this URL (please save).

3,99 Book now


Your eCourse on Demand: Choose your personal eCourse on this or another desired topic, As a PDF download. Up to 30 lessons with each 4 learning task + final lesson. Please enter the title under "interests". Alternatively, we are happy to put together your course for you or offer you a personal regular eMailCourse including supervision and certificate - all further information!

19,99 Book now


Consultant packages: You want to increase your reach or address applicants as an employer? For these and other topics we offer special Consultant packages (overview) - For example, a personal phone call (price is per hour).

179,99 Book now


occupations pictures

You want to comment here? Please the Debate Rules comply, contributions must be unlocked. Your eMailAddress remains secret. More information on the use of your data and how you can counter this can be found in our Data protection declaration / Privacy Policy.

  1. To follow debate on this post
  2. All debates follow

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

JaI would like to be regularly informed about the latest promotions & offers Newsletter be informed.

I hereby accept the Debate Rules and the Privacy policy with the possibility to contradict the use of my data at any time.

Anmeldung und Steuern für Existenzgründer: Regelungen im Überblick


Gut arbeiten, 500 Bäume pflanzen! Wir machen die Arbeitswelt menschlicher wie ökologischer und spenden – urkundlich belegt – Einnahmen für Aufforstung. Als Verlag Best of HR – Berufebilder.de® mit einzigartigem Buchkonzept, on-Demand eKursen und News-Dienst geben wir über 15 Jahre Erfahrung an unsere Kunden (u.a. Samsung, Otto, staatliche Institutionen) weiter. Von der Top20-Bloggerin Simone Janson, referenziert in ARD, ZEIT, WELT, Wikipedia.
Bildrechte:  Bildmaterial erstellt im Rahmen einer kostenlosen Kooperation mit Shutterstock. .

Vor der Aufnahme der selbständigen Tätigkeit sollten Sie gemeinsam mit Ihrem Berater prüfen, bei welchen Behörden eine Anzeige der Unternehmensgründung zu erfolgen hat bzw. wo Sie sich eintragen müssen. Anzeigepflichten bestehen insbesondere bei:

Best of HR – Berufebilder.de®

Wichtiger Hinweis: Dieser Beiträg enthält Inhalte und Angaben, die möglicherweise nicht mehr aktuell sind, z.B. aufgrund gesetzlicher oder statistischer Veränderungen. Weil er dennoch hilfreich sein kann, einen Überblick zum Thema zu bekommen, können Sie ihn weiterhin hier finden.


Hier schreibt für Sie:

 

Simone Janson Simone JansonSimone Janson ist Verlegerindeutsche Top20 Bloggerin und Beraterin für HR-Kommunikation.

  Profil

Freiberuflicher Tätigkeit: Anmeldung beim Finanzamt

Sofern Sie eine freiberufliche Tätigkeit ausüben wollen, müssen Sie in jedem Fall das für Sie zuständige Finanzamt entsprechend unterrichten. Sie erhalten dann in der Regel einen umfassenden Fragebogen, in dem alle steuerrelevanten Angaben abgefragt werden (zum Beispiel: Art der ausgeübten Tätigkeit, Beginn der selbständigen Tätigkeit, voraussichtliche Höhe der Umsätze und des Gewinns).

Sofern Sie freiberuflich tätig sind, sind Sie auch bei Überschreiten der unten im Abschnitt zum Handelsregister genannten Größenmerkmale nicht zur Buchführung verpflichtet. Sie können jedoch jederzeit freiwillig Bücher führen.

Anmeldung beim Gewerbeamt

Gewerbliche Tätigkeiten müssen zwingend beim zuständigen Gewerbeamt angemeldet werden. Dabei ist insbesondere darauf zu achten, dass der Unternehmensgegenstand genau bezeichnet wird.

Tipp: Text als PDF (bitte Anleitung lesen!) oder zu diesem Text kompletten eKurs herunterladen. Aktionen oder News per Newsletter!

Wenn Sie ein Gewerbe anmelden, brauchen Sie in der Regel das Finanzamt nicht gesondert zu informieren. Sobald Sie ein Gewerbe beim Gewerbeamt anmelden, erhält das Finanzamt automatisch eine Durchschrift Ihrer Gewerbeanmeldung und wird Ihnen ebenfalls einen Fragebogen zusenden.

Nur für Handwerker: Mitgliedschaft in der Handwerkskammer

Wenn Sie beabsichtigen, sich in einem handwerklichen Beruf selbständig zu machen, dann sollten Sie sich im Vorfeld mit der zuständigen Handwerkskammer in Verbindung setzen. Auch nach der Reform der Handwerksordnung besteht in vielen Berufen noch der sog. “Meisterzwang”.

Gewerbetreibende: Mitgliedschaft in der Industrie- und Handelskammer (IHK)

Gewerbliche Unternehmen, die nicht im handwerklichen Bereich tätig sind, sind zur Mitgliedschaft in der Industrie- und Handelskammer verpflichtet. Die Anmeldung erfolgt auch hier grundsätzlich automatisch im Zeitpunkt der Anmeldung des Gewerbes.

Kaufleute: Eintrag Handelsregister

Unter Umständen Sind Sie als Gewebetreibender verpflichtet, sich ins Handelsregister eintragen zu lassen. Nach § 238 HGB sind Sie dann als Kaufmann im Sinne von § 1 HGB zur Führung von Bücher, sprich einer Bilanzierung, verpflichtet. Diese Pflicht besteht immer dann, wenn der Unternehmer:

  • bereits nach den handelsrechtlichen Vorschriften zur Führung von Büchern verpflichtet ist (§ 140 AO)
  • bestimmte Größenmerkmale überschritten werden (§ 141 AO).

Wen betrifft diese Pflicht

Das betrifft insbesondere den sogenannten “Istkaufmann” (§ 1 HGB), der ein Grundhandelsgewerbe (zum Beispiel einen Textileinzelhandel) betreibt. Bei dem sogenannten “Kannkaufmann” (§ 2 HGB) tritt die handelsrechtliche Buchführungspflicht nur dann ein, wenn dieser im Handelsregister eingetragen worden ist.

Tipp: Text als PDF (bitte Anleitung lesen!) oder zu diesem Text kompletten eKurs herunterladen. Aktionen oder News per Newsletter!

Auch Personenhandelsgesellschaften (zum Beispiel OHG oder KG) sind auf Grund der Verpflichtung zur Eintragung in das Handelsregister zur Buchführung verpflichtet. Bei Kapitalgesellschaften besteht kraft Rechtsform immer die Pflicht zur Buchführung (sog. “Formkaufmann”; § 41 GmbHG; § 91 AktG).

Außerdem bestehen noch besondere Buchführungspflichten für Krankenhausträger (Krankenhaus-Buchführungsverordnung) und für Pflegeeinrichtungen (Pflege-Buchführungsverordnung)

Wie funktioniert der Übergang zur Bilanzierung?

Das Finanzamt fordert bei Überschreiten der Wertgrenzen in einem gesonderten Verwaltungsakt zur Bilanzierung auf (§ 141 Abs. 2 AO). Dabei ist es ausreichend, wenn nur ein Größenmerkmal überschritten wird. Die Verpflichtung zur Buchführung ist dabei mit dem Beginn des Wirtschaftsjahres zu beachten, dass auf das Wirtschaftsjahr der Aufforderung des Finanzamtes folgt.

Wenn Sie Mitarbeiter beschäftigen: Bundesagentur für Arbeit

Sofern Sie Mitarbeiter beschäftigen, müssen Sie für Ihren Betrieb eine Betriebsnummer bei der Bundesagentur für Arbeit beantragen. Unter dieser Nummer werden dann sämtliche Sozialversicherungsanmeldungen für Ihre Mitarbeiter bearbeitet. Berufsgenossenschaft Je nach Art der Tätigkeit und der Größe Ihres Unternehmens müssen Sie als Arbeitgeber Beiträge zur Berufsgenossenschaft für Ihre Mitarbeiter zahlen. Prüfen Sie daher gemeinsam mit Ihrem Berater welche Berufsgenossenschaft für Ihr Unternehmen zuständig ist und zeigen Sie die Eröffnung Ihres Betriebes sowie die Anzahl Ihrer Beschäftigten dort an.

Zusatzversorgungskasse des Baugewerbes VVaG (“SoKa-Bau”)

Für Unternehmen des Bauhauptgewerbes besteht die gesetzliche Verpflichtung, Beiträge an die Zusatzversorgungskasse des Baugewerbes zu entrichten. Diese berechnen sich nach den Brutto-Arbeitslöhnen Ihrer Mitarbeiter. Wenn Sie in diesem Bereich tätig werden wollen, muss insoweit zwingende eine Anmeldung Ihres Unternehmens und Ihrer Mitarbeiter erfolgen.

Tipp: Text als PDF (bitte Anleitung lesen!) oder zu diesem Text kompletten eKurs herunterladen. Aktionen oder News per Newsletter!

Sonstige Behörden

Im Einzelfall ist darüber hinaus zu prüfen, ob weitergehende Anzeigepflichten bestehen. Denkbar sind dabei beispielsweise Genehmigungen von Bau- oder Umweltbehörden.

Welche Steuern müssen Sie zahlen?

Im privaten Bereich entsteht beim Unternehmer oder Freiberufler immer die persönliche Einkommensteuer, unabhängig davon in welcher Rechtsform er sein Unternehmen betreibt. Daher müssen Sie dem Finanzamt Ihre Einkünfte Melden.

Einzelunternehmer

Lediglich die Einkunftsart und -ermittlung unterscheidet den Einzelunternehmer bzw. Personengesellschafter vom Gesellschafter einer Kapitalgesellschaft.

Beim Einzelunternehmer unterliegt der im Wirtschaftsjahr erzielte Gewinn der persönlichen Einkommensteuer. Ob es sich dabei um gewerbliche oder freiberufliche Einkünfte handelt, ist insoweit zunächst ohne Bedeutung. Darüber hinaus kommt es für die Höhe des zu versteuernden Gewinns nicht darauf an, ob dieser Gewinn vom Unternehmer entnommen oder im Unternehmen zur Kapitalverstärkung (Thesaurierung) belassen wurde. Die Höhe der Einkommensteuer ist dabei von vielen Faktoren abhängig. Neben der Höhe des Gewinns spielen auch die Veranlagungsform (Einzelveranlagung oder Zusammenveranlagung mit dem Ehegatten) sowie andere Einkünfte eine gewichtige Rolle.

Gesellschafter einer Personengesellschaft

Der Gesellschafter einer Personengesellschaft wird bei der Einkommensteuer vergleichbar einem Einzelunternehmer behandelt. Der gewerbliche oder freiberufliche Gewinn der Personengesellschaft wird durch das Finanzamt in einem gesonderten Steuerbescheid festgestellt und auf die einzelnen Gesellschafter verteilt.

Tipp: Text als PDF (bitte Anleitung lesen!) oder zu diesem Text kompletten eKurs herunterladen. Aktionen oder News per Newsletter!

Gewinnanteil

Dieser Gewinnanteil ist vom jeweiligen Gesellschafter im Rahmen seiner persönlichen Einkommensteuererklärung bei den Einkünften aus Gewerbebetrieb oder bei den Einkünften aus selbständiger Arbeit zu versteuern.

Bei gewerblichen Einkünften wird dem Gesellschafter neben dem zu versteuernden Gewinnanteil darüber hinaus die anteilige Gewerbesteuer der Personengesellschaft zwecks Anrechnung auf die eigene Einkommensteuer zugerechnet.

Gesellschafter einer Kapitalgesellschaft

Bei Gesellschaftern von Kapitalgesellschaften liegen in der Regel zwei steuerrelevante Einkunftsarten vor: einerseits die Bezüge aus der Geschäftsführertätigkeit für die Gesellschaft und zum anderen die Dividenden oder Gewinnausschüttungen der Gesellschaft.

Die Bezüge aus der Geschäftsführertätigkeit stellen Einkünfte aus nichtselbständiger Arbeit dar. Die von der Gesellschaft einbehaltene Lohnsteuer einschließlich der Nebenleistungen wird auf die persönliche Einkommensteuer des Gesellschafters angerechnet.

Dividenden

Dividendenzahlungen der Kapitalgesellschaft stellen Einkünfte aus Kapitalvermögen dar. Da diese Zahlungen bereits der Körperschaft- und Gewerbesteuer auf der Ebene der Kapitalgesellschaft unterlegen haben, erfolgt die Versteuerung beim Gesellschafter nur zu 50 % des Ausschüttungsbruttobetrages (sog. Halbeinkünfteverfahren).

Tipp: Text als PDF (bitte Anleitung lesen!) oder zu diesem Text kompletten eKurs herunterladen. Aktionen oder News per Newsletter!

Von diesem Betrag (zuzüglich weiterer Zinsen und Dividenden) wird der Sparerfreibetrag abgezogen, so dass die Gewinnausschüttungen sogar vollständig einkommensteuerfrei bleiben können.

Kapitalertragssteuer

Die von der Kapitalgesellschaft vom Ausschüttungsbetrag einzubehaltende Kapitalertragsteuer wird bei Vorlage einer ordnungsgemäßen Steuerbescheinigung auf die persönliche Einkommensteuer angerechnet (§ 36 Abs. 1 Nr. 2 EStG).


Mehr Wissen - PDF-Download, eKurs on Demand oder persönliche Beratung


Offline-Download: Diesen Text als PDF herunterladen –  Nutzungsrechte nachlesen. Da wir den Titel dieses Textes aus Datenschutzgründen nicht automatisch übermitteln: Beim im Kauf unter "Interessen" den Titel eintragen, falls Support nötig ist. Nach dem Kauf Text ausschließlich unter dieser URL herunterladen (bitte abspeichern).

3,99 Jetzt buchen


Ihr eKurs on Demand: Wählen Sie Ihren persönlichen eKurs zu diesem oder einem anderen Wunschthema. Als PDF-Download. Bis zu 30 Lektionen mit je 4 Lernaufgaben + Abschlusslektion. Bitte unter "Interessen" den Titel eintragen. Alternativ stellen wir gerne Ihren Kurs für Sie zusammen oder bieten Ihnen einen persönlichen regelmäßigen eMail-Kurs inklusive Betreuung und Zertifikat – alle weiteren Informationen!

19,99 Jetzt buchen


Berater-Pakete: Sie wollen Ihre Reichweite erhöhen oder als Arbeitgeber Bewerber ansprechen? Für diese und weitere Themen bieten wir spezielle Berater-Pakete (Übersicht) – zum Beispiel ein persönliches Telefonat (Preis gilt pro Stunde).

179,99 Jetzt buchen



Sie wollen hier kommentieren? Bitte die Debatten-Regeln einhalten, Beiträge müssen freigeschaltet werden. Ihre eMail-Adresse bleibt geheim. Mehr Informationen zur Verwendung Ihrer Daten und wie Sie dieser widersprechen können, finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

  1. Debatte zu diesem Beitrag folgen
  2. Allen Debatten folgen

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Ja, ich möchte regelmäßig über die neusten Aktionen & Angebote per Newsletter informiert werden.

Hiermit akzeptiere ich die Debatten-Regeln und die Datenschutzbedingungen mit der Möglichkeit, der Verwendung meiner Daten jederzeit zu widersprechen.