Employee Leadership - Improving Team Performance: Pygmalion Effect in 5 Steps



Previous PartNext part



We are moved by the idea to make the world of work more human - without constant pressure for efficiency, stress and fear. As Publisher Best of HR - Berufebilder.de® with podcast, eLearning-on-demand offers and news service we share 15 years of experience with our customers (Samsung, Otto, state institutions). By the Top20 female blogger and consultant Simone Janson, referenced in ARD, ZEIT, Wikipedia .
Copyright: Artwork created as part of a free collaboration with Shutterstock. ,

Executives often underestimate the impact their expectations have on the team's motivation - especially in leadership. In 5 steps you can increase the efficiency of your team.

Employee Leadership - Enhancing Team Efficiency: Pygmalion Effect in 5 Steps Career Management_Pygmalion Effect

Tip: Text as PDF or podcast (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!


More knowledge - Podcast, PDF download, eCourse or personal advice

Here writes for you: Gerd Mittmann is Vice President Benelux, DACH and Nordics at Fyber NV Profile

The Pygmalion Effect: Who leads must expect!

Overview

We often underestimate the effect our expectations have on others. But we should know better: if we are lucky, many of us in our careers had a manager who had a positive impact on our careers.

Tip: Text as PDF or podcast (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!

When we think back, we probably remember useful feedback, training, or ongoing support. What we do not take into account, however, is the role that his expectations of us have played in our work and our self-confidence.

Use development potential of employees: An exciting experiment

Overview

The scientific experiment of American psychologists Robert Rosenthal and Leonore Jacobson in 1965 at a primary school is a famous example of this effect and shows how strongly our behavior is aligned with the expectations of others.

Teachers got the information that 20 percent of their students after an IQ test enormous development potential was found. In fact, the students were chosen completely arbitrarily.

When executives treat their employees differently, they get different results

Overview

In a later, re-measurement of the IQ, these children had a significantly higher IQ than their peers, where apparently no increased performance potential was detected.

Tip: Text as PDF or podcast (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!

But why? The teachers had treated them differently: they were more concerned about these students, were more patient and gave more positive feedback. The teachers' expectations of the students - apparently more gifted - had come true.

Use the power of expectation in employee leadership: self-fulfilling prophecy

Overview

In Company one meets the Pygmalion effect in the same way. Because just like the students in the experiment, the employees also adapt their behavior and their work performance to the expectations of their superiors. Team leaders or managers have a certain perception of the employees' abilities and communicate these constantly - both verbally and nonverbally.

Even if they are not aware of this, subtle signals such as tone of voice, eye contact, and body language can convey expectations. And subconsciously we are all trained to interpret these signals to understand what is expected of us and to adapt our behavior.

When managers believe in their employees, they encourage more

Overview

Thus, when managers believe in the potential of their team members, they behave accordingly, thereby promoting self-confidence and the efficiency of their employees.

Tip: Text as PDF or podcast (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!

At the same time, however, the opposite is the case. If an employee fails in a task, he is quickly assumed to be incompetent. In the future, less and less is expected of him and his self-confidence decreases as well as his performance - a vicious circle. With a negative self-fulfilling expectation one speaks then of the "golem effect".

Increase performance: 5 steps to use the pygmalion effect

Overview

Consider these five possibilities and use the Pygmalion effect in your company to increase team performance:

  1. Go unprejudiced into cooperation: Regardless of what you know about the past performance of your employees, it is important to start the collaboration without prejudice. So give everyone the opportunity to develop positively. Maintain a corporate culture in which excellence is promoted and, in a certain way, expected.
  2. Set high - but realistic - goals: Too low targets are not motivating, as are unrealistically high targets. Instead, you should set goals for your employees that lie outside their comfort zone but can be achieved with high probability.
  3. Offer your support: Once you have set challenging goals for your employees, it is important to offer support. Demonstrate commitment by identifying the role you can play in attaining your goals. If an employee fails to perform a task, support him by exploring the cause together. The way we react to weaknesses or mistakes is crucial. In Shutterstock, for example, we cultivate a culture in which mistakes are definitely desired to grow.
  4. Speak positively about your team: When talking to other employees about your team members, highlight their positive qualities and point out the strengths and potential of your team. The way we talk about others can positively influence the opinions and expectations of others.
  5. Give positive feedback: Given the fact that praise has a strong impact on our work and costs us nothing, it is surprising how rarely we praise our employees. When an employee does a good job, you should make sure that he is aware of it - to repeat this in the future and to improve further. For Shutterstock, for example, we have monthly feedback discussions with the employees, whether they reach their goals or if they need support.

Conclusion: Always expect the best from your team

Overview

So expect only the best of your team and offer them your full support - you will be rewarded with self-confident, satisfied employees and improved performance!

Tip: Text as PDF or podcast (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!


More knowledge - Podcast, PDF download, eCourse or personal advice

Overview


Offline download: Download this text as PDF - Read usage rights, Because we do not automatically submit the title of this text for privacy reasons: When buying in "interests" the title register if support is needed. After buying text exclusively Download at this URL (please save).

3,35 Book now


Listen to Podcast & Download MP3: You can listen to this text for free, as member even without annoying popup, or download the MP3 for a fee - Read usage rights, After the purchase page refresh, then you will find the download link here. Because we do not automatically submit the title of this podcast for privacy reasons: When buying in "interests" the title register if support is needed.

3,35 Book now


Your eCourse on Demand: Choose your personal eCourse on this or another desired topic, As a PDF download. Up to 30 lessons with each 4 learning task + final lesson. Please enter the title under "interests". Alternatively, we are happy to put together your course for you or offer you a personal regular eMailCourse including supervision and certificate - all further information!

16,20 Book now


Consultant packages: You want to increase your reach or address applicants as an employer? For these and other topics we offer special Consultant packages (overview) - For example, a personal phone call (price is per hour).

149,99 Book now


occupations pictures

You want to comment here? Please the Debate Rules comply, contributions must be unlocked. Your eMailAddress remains secret. More information on the use of your data and how you can counter this can be found in our Privacy Policy.

  1. To follow debate on this post
  2. All debates follow
  3. Debates per eMail subscribe (add link here!)
  1. Monika

    Great, very helpful article on an under-noticed topic. Keep it up!

    • Simone Janson

      Thanks for the nice comment!

    • Simone Janson

      Thank you, that makes me happy!

  2. Pingback: Outside the box XXXV / 15 - HR links of the week: the end of personnel development, learning in old age and more powerful teams edutrainment company GmbH

  3. Prof. Frank Widmayer

    I am not sure if the Pygmalion effect can be used as a "tool" and should: "A tool with a fool is still a fool!". I'm afraid that without the right inner attitude, the effect will be the opposite ("A fool with a tool is worse than without"). Who out of pure calculation and just because it is "worth" trying to just set high goals, could experience a blue miracle. This could quickly be perceived as a particularly perfidious kind of manipulation. The antennae of fellow humans for such "games" are very fine! So attention: It's very important to know the effect (that would be a start), but not so easy to make something out of it. For me, there are two things: 1. An inner attitude that perceives the other at eye level and not as a malleable mass, which can now be better "guided" by applying the Pygmalion effect. 2. The right management tools, but only with 1. together to achieve an effect in the desired direction.

    • Prof. Frank Widmayer

      It has to be called "A fool with a * tool" is still a fool! "

    • Simone Janson

      Hello Mr Professor Widmayer,
      thank you for the sensible supplements, that with the inner attitude you have expressed very much. However, I do not really see any contradiction with the statements made by Mr Mittmann in your two points. However, you are welcome to present your opinion in a separate guest contribution.
      Regards

  4. Michael Braner

    Personalmanagement mit Pygmalion-Effekt - 5 Tipps: The Power of Expectation CHARACTER PICTURES - Exciting contributionTktXRlxFPf

  5. Julia Simon

    Personalmanagement mit Pygmalion-Effekt - 5 Tipps: The Power of Expectation CHARACTER PICTURES - Exciting contributionHH3XGffWm1

  6. Competencepartner

    Personnel Management with Pygmalion Effect - 5 Tips: The Power of Expectation: We Underestimate ... - Exciting contribution2x8kA8sfa8 #Profile #Development

  7. REGIS GMBH

    Personnel Management with Pygmalion Effect - 5 Tips: The Power of Expectation via PROFESSIONAL IMAGES - Exciting contributionQTunCj08EY

  8. Thomas Eggert

    Personnel Management with Pygmalion Effect - 5 Tips: The Power of Expectation via PROFESSIONAL IMAGES - Exciting contributionEdbWeic580

  9. firm-job

    Personnel Management with Pygmalion Effect - 5 Tips: The Power of Expectation: We often underestimate the effect ... - Exciting contributiongd2GmiS8l4

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

JaI would like to be regularly informed about the latest promotions & offers Newsletter be informed.

I hereby accept the Debate Rules and the Privacy policy with the possibility to contradict the use of my data at any time.

Mitarbeiter-Führung – Leistungsfähigkeit im Team steigern: Pygmalion-Effekt in 5 Schritten


Uns bewegt, die Arbeitswelt menschlicher zu gestalten – ohne ständigen Effizienzdruck, Stress und Angst. Als Verlag Best of HR – Berufebilder.de® mit Podcast, eLearning-on-Demand-Angebot und News-Dienst geben wir über 15 Jahre Erfahrung an unsere Kunden (u.a. Samsung, Otto, staatliche Institutionen) weiter. Von der Top20-Bloggerin und Beraterin Simone Janson, referenziert in ARD, ZEIT, Wikipedia.
Bildrechte: Bildmaterial erstellt im Rahmen einer kostenlosen Kooperation mit Shutterstock. .

Führungskräfte unterschätzen oft die Wirkung, die ihre Erwartungen auf die Motivation des Teams haben – gerade in der Mitarbeiterführung. In 5 Schritten können Sie die Leistungsfähigkeit Ihres Teams steigern.

Mitarbeiter-Führung - Leistungsfähigkeit im Team steigern: Pygmalion-Effekt in 5 Schritten Karrieremanagement_Pygmalion-Effekt

Tipp: Text als PDF oder Podcast (bitte Anleitung lesen!) oder zu diesem Text kompletten eKurs herunterladen. Regelmäßige Sonderaktionen oder News per Newsletter!


Mehr Wissen - Podcast, PDF-Download, eKurse oder persönliche Beratung

Hier schreibt für Sie: Gerd Mittmann ist Vice President Benelux, DACH und Nordics bei Fyber N.V. Profil

Unsere Bücher

Lesen


Lesen


Lesen


Lesen


Best of HR - Berufebilder

Lesen


Der Pygmalion-Effekt: Wer führt muss erwarten!

Zur Übersicht

Wir unterschätzen oft den Effekt, den unsere Erwarten auf andere haben. Dabei sollten wir es besser wissen: Wenn wir Glück haben, hatten viele von uns in ihrer beruflichen Laufbahn einen Vorgesetzten, der einen positiven Einfluss auf unsere Karriere hatte.

Tipp: Text als PDF oder Podcast (bitte Anleitung lesen!) oder zu diesem Text kompletten eKurs herunterladen. Regelmäßige Sonderaktionen oder News per Newsletter!

Denken wir zurück, erinnern wir uns wahrscheinlich an nützliches Feedback, Weiterbildungsmaßnahmen oder eine kontinuierliche Unterstützung. Was wir jedoch nicht berücksichtigen, ist die Rolle die seine Erwartungen an uns im Bezug auf unsere Arbeit und unser Selbstvertrauen gespielt haben.

Entwicklung-Potential von Mitarbeitern nutzen: Ein spannendes Experiment

Zur Übersicht

Das wissenschaftliche Experiment der amerikanischen Psychologen Robert Rosenthal und Leonore Jacobson im Jahr 1965 an einer Grundschule ist ein berühmtes Beispiel für diesen Effekt und zeigt, wie stark sich unser Verhalten an den Erwartungen anderer orientiert.

Lehrer bekamen die Info, dass bei 20 Prozent ihrer Schüler nach einem IQ-Test enormes Entwicklungspotenzial festgestellt wurde. Tatsächlich wurden die Schüler aber völlig willkürlich ausgewählt.

Wenn Führungskräfte ihre Mitarbeiter anders behandeln, erhalten Sie andere Ergebnisse

Zur Übersicht

Bei einer späteren, erneuten Messung des Intelligenzquotienten hatten diese Kinder einen deutlich höheren IQ, als ihre Mitschüler, bei denen scheinbar kein erhöhtes Leistungspotenzial erkannt wurde.

Tipp: Text als PDF oder Podcast (bitte Anleitung lesen!) oder zu diesem Text kompletten eKurs herunterladen. Regelmäßige Sonderaktionen oder News per Newsletter!

Aber warum? Die Lehrer hatten sie anders behandelt: Sie bemühten sich mehr um diese Schüler, waren geduldiger und gaben mehr positives Feedback. Die Erwartungen der Lehrer an die – scheinbar – begabteren Schüler hatten sich bewahrheitet.

Die Macht der Erwartung in der Mitarbeiter-Führung einsetzen: Selbsterfüllende Prophezeiung

Zur Übersicht

In Unternehmen begegnet man dem Pygmalion-Effekt in gleicher Weise. Denn genau wie die Schüler im Experiment passen auch die Mitarbeiter ihr Verhalten und ihre Arbeitsleistungen an die Erwartungen der Vorgesetzten an. Teamleiter oder Manager haben eine bestimmte Wahrnehmung von den Fähigkeiten der Mitarbeiter und kommunizieren diese ständig – sowohl verbal, als auch nonverbal.

Selbst wenn sie sich dessen nicht bewusst sind, können subtile Signale wie Tonfall, Blickkontakt und Körpersprache Erwartungen vermitteln. Und unterbewusst sind wir alle darauf geschult diese Signale zu deuten, um zu verstehen, was von uns erwartet wird und unser Verhalten anzupassen.

Wenn Manager an ihre Mitarbeiter glauben, fördern sie mehr

Zur Übersicht

Wenn Manager also an das Potenzial ihrer Teammitglieder glauben, verhalten sie sich auch dementsprechend und fördern damit das Selbstvertrauen und die Leistungsfähigkeit ihrer Mitarbeiter.

Tipp: Text als PDF oder Podcast (bitte Anleitung lesen!) oder zu diesem Text kompletten eKurs herunterladen. Regelmäßige Sonderaktionen oder News per Newsletter!

Gleichzeitig ist aber auch das Gegenteil der Fall. Scheitert ein Mitarbeiter an einer Aufgabe, wird ihm schnell Unfähigkeit unterstellt. In Zukunft wird dann immer weniger von ihm erwartet und sein Selbstvertrauen sinkt genau wie seine Leistung – ein Teufelskreis. Bei einer negativen selbsterfüllenden Erwartung spricht man dann vom „Golem-Effekt“.

Leistungsfähigkeit steigern: 5 Schritte, um den Pygmalion-Effekt zu nutzen

Zur Übersicht

Berücksichtigen Sie diese fünf Möglichkeiten und nutzen Sie die den Pygmalion Effekt auch in Ihrem Unternehmen, um die Leistungsfähigkeit im Team zu steigern:

  1. Gehen Sie vorurteilslos in die Zusammenarbeit: Unabhängig davon, was Sie von den bisherigen Leistungen Ihrer Mitarbeiter wissen, ist es wichtig, die Zusammenarbeit vorurteilslos zu beginnen. So geben Sie jedem die Chance, sich positiv zu entwickeln. Pflegen Sie eine Unternehmenskultur, in der hervorragende Leistungen gefördert und in gewisser Weise auch erwartet werden.
  2. Setzen Sie hohe – aber realistische – Ziele: Zu niedrig angesetzte Ziele sind nicht motivierend, ebenso wenig wie unrealistisch hohe Ziele. Stattdessen sollten Sie Ihren Mitarbeitern Ziele setzen, die zwar außerhalb ihrer Komfortzone liegen, aber mit hoher Wahrscheinlichkeit erreicht werden können.
  3. Bieten Sie Ihre Unterstützung an: Nachdem Sie Ihren Mitarbeitern anspruchsvolle Ziele gesetzt haben, ist es wichtig, Unterstützung anzubieten. Beweisen Sie Engagement, indem Sie herausfinden, welche Rolle Sie selbst bei der Erreichung der Zielvorgaben einnehmen können.Sollte ein Mitarbeiter jedoch an einer Aufgabe scheitern, unterstützen Sie ihn, indem sie gemeinsam die Ursache erforschen. Die Art, wie wir auf Schwächen oder Fehler reagieren ist dabei entscheidend. Bei Shutterstock pflegen wir zum Beispiel eine Kultur in der Fehler durchaus erwünscht sind, um daran zu wachsen.
  4. Sprechen Sie positiv über Ihr Team: Wenn Sie mit andern Mitarbeitern über Ihre Teammitglieder sprechen, heben Sie deren positiven Eigenschaften besonders hervor und verweisen Sie auf die Stärken und das Potential Ihres Teams. Die Art, wie wir über andere sprechen, kann die Meinung und Erwartungen anderer positiv beeinflussen.
  5. Geben Sie positives Feedback: Angesichts der Tatsache, dass Lob eine starke Wirkung auf unsere Arbeit hat und uns nichts kostet, ist es überraschend, wie selten wir unsere Mitarbeiter loben. Wenn ein Mitarbeiter einen guten Job macht, sollten Sie sicherstellen, dass er sich dessen auch bewusst ist – um dies in Zukunft zu wiederholen und sich weiter verbessern zu können.Bei Shutterstock haben wir zum Beispiel monatliche Feedbackgespräche zusammen mit den Mitarbeitern, um zu sehen, ob sie ihre gesteckten Ziele erreichen oder ob sie Unterstützung benötigen.

Fazit: Erwarten Sie stets das Beste von Ihrem Team

Zur Übersicht

Erwarten Sie also stets nur das Beste von Ihrem Team und bieten Sie ihnen Ihre volle Unterstützung an – Sie werden mit selbstbewussten, zufriedenen Mitarbeiter und verbesserten Leistungen belohnt!

Tipp: Text als PDF oder Podcast (bitte Anleitung lesen!) oder zu diesem Text kompletten eKurs herunterladen. Regelmäßige Sonderaktionen oder News per Newsletter!


Mehr Wissen - Podcast, PDF-Download, eKurse oder persönliche Beratung

Zur Übersicht


Offline-Download: Diesen Text als PDF herunterladen –  Nutzungsrechte nachlesen. Da wir den Titel dieses Textes aus Datenschutzgründen nicht automatisch übermitteln: Beim im Kauf unter "Interessen" den Titel eintragen, falls Support nötig ist. Nach dem Kauf Text ausschließlich unter dieser URL herunterladen (bitte abspeichern).

3,35 Jetzt buchen


Podcast hören & MP3 downloaden: Sie können diesen Text kostenlos anhören, als Mitglied auch ohne störendes Popup, oder das MP3 gegen Bezahlung herunterladen –  Nutzungsrechte nachlesen. Nach dem Kauf Seite aktualisieren, dann finden Sie hier den Downloadlink. Da wir den Titel dieses Podcast aus Datenschutzgründen nicht automatisch übermitteln: Beim im Kauf unter "Interessen" den Titel eintragen, falls Support nötig ist.

3,35 Jetzt buchen


Ihr eKurs on Demand: Wählen Sie Ihren persönlichen eKurs zu diesem oder einem anderen Wunschthema. Als PDF-Download. Bis zu 30 Lektionen mit je 4 Lernaufgaben + Abschlusslektion. Bitte unter "Interessen" den Titel eintragen. Alternativ stellen wir gerne Ihren Kurs für Sie zusammen oder bieten Ihnen einen persönlichen regelmäßigen eMail-Kurs inklusive Betreuung und Zertifikat – alle weiteren Informationen!

16,20 Jetzt buchen


Berater-Pakete: Sie wollen Ihre Reichweite erhöhen oder als Arbeitgeber Bewerber ansprechen? Für diese und weitere Themen bieten wir spezielle Berater-Pakete (Übersicht) – zum Beispiel ein persönliches Telefonat (Preis gilt pro Stunde).

149,99 Jetzt buchen


berufebilder

Sie wollen hier kommentieren? Bitte die Debatten-Regeln einhalten, Beiträge müssen freigeschaltet werden. Ihre eMail-Adresse bleibt geheim. Mehr Informationen zur Verwendung Ihrer Daten und wie Sie dieser widersprechen können, finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

  1. Debatte zu diesem Beitrag folgen
  2. Allen Debatten folgen
  3. Debatten per eMail abonnieren (Link hier eintragen!)
  1. Monika

    Toller, sehr hilfreicher Artikel zu einem noch zu wenig beachteten Thema. Weiter so!

    • Simone Janson

      Vielen Dank für den netten Kommentar!

    • Simone Janson

      Vielen Dank, das freut mich!

  2. Pingback: Über den Tellerrand XXXV/15 – HR-Links der Woche: Das Ende der Personalentwicklung, Lernen im Alter und leistungsfähigere Teams | edutrainment company GmbH

  3. Prof. Frank Widmayer

    Ich bin mir nicht so sicher, ob man den Pygmalion-Effekt als „Tool“ einsetzen kann und sollte: „A tool with a fool is still a fool!“. Ich befürchte, dass der Effekt ohne die dazu passende innere Haltung eher das Gegenteil bewirkt („A fool with a tool is worse than without“). Wer aus purem Kalkül heraus und nur weil es sich „lohnt“ versucht, einfach hohe Ziele zu stecken, könnte ein blaues Wunder erleben. Das könnte schnell als besonders perfide Art der Manipulation wahrgenommen werden. Die Antennen der Mitmenschen für derlei „Spielchen“ sind sehr fein! Also Achtung: Es ist sehr wichtig, den Effekt zu kennen (das wäre schon mal ein Anfang), aber nicht so einfach, daraus etwas zu machen. Für mich gehört also zweierlei dazu: 1. Eine innere Haltung, die den anderen auf Augenhöhe wahrnimmt und nicht als formbare Masse, die nun durch Anwendung des Pygmalion-Effekts noch besser „geführt“ werden kann. 2. Die passenden Führungstools, die aber nur mit 1. zusammen eine Wirkung in die gewünschte Richtung erzielen.

    • Prof. Frank Widmayer

      Es muss natürlich heißen: “A fool with a *tool* is still a fool!”

    • Simone Janson

      Hallo Herr Professor Widmayer,
      vielen dank für die sinnvollen Ergänzungen, das mit der inneren Haltung haben Sie sehr treffen ausgedrückt. Bei Ihren am Ende genannten beiden Punkten sehe ich jedoch jetzt nicht wirklich einen Widerspruch zu den Ausführungen von Herrn Mittmann. Gerne können Sie aber Ihre Meinung dazu nochmals in einem eigenen Gastbeitrag darlegen.
      Viele Grüße

  4. Michael Braner

    Personalmanagement mit Pygmalion-Effekt – 5 Tipps: Die Macht der Erwartung | B E R U F E B I L D E R - Spannender BeitragTktXRlxFPf

  5. Julia Simon

    Personalmanagement mit Pygmalion-Effekt – 5 Tipps: Die Macht der Erwartung | B E R U F E B I L D E R - Spannender BeitragHH3XGffWm1

  6. KompetenzPartner

    Personalmanagement mit Pygmalion-Effekt – 5 Tipps: Die Macht der Erwartung: Wir unterschätzen … - Spannender Beitrag2x8kA8sfa8 #Beruf #Bildung

  7. BEGIS GmbH

    Personalmanagement mit Pygmalion-Effekt – 5 Tipps: Die Macht der Erwartung via B E R U F E B I L D E R - Spannender BeitragQTunCj08EY

  8. Thomas Eggert

    Personalmanagement mit Pygmalion-Effekt – 5 Tipps: Die Macht der Erwartung via B E R U F E B I L D E R - Spannender BeitragEdbWeic580

  9. kanzlei-job

    Personalmanagement mit Pygmalion-Effekt – 5 Tipps: Die Macht der Erwartung: Wir unterschätzen oft die Wirkung,… - Spannender Beitraggd2GmiS8l4

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Ja, ich möchte regelmäßig über die neusten Aktionen & Angebote per Newsletter informiert werden.

Hiermit akzeptiere ich die Debatten-Regeln und die Datenschutzbedingungen mit der Möglichkeit, der Verwendung meiner Daten jederzeit zu widersprechen.