Go to Article

Better work, information as desired: We give you the information you really need and are committed to a better and more ecological working environment. When Book Publisher Best of HR – Berufebilder.de® with Unique Book Concept and eCourses we offer over 20 years of experience in Corporate Publishing - with Clients like Samsung, Otto, Governmental Institutions. Publisher Simone Janson also heads the Institute Berufebilder Yourweb, which awards scholarships and belongs to one of the top 10 female German bloggers, referenced in ARD, FAZ, ZEIT, WELT, Wikipedia .

Disclosure & Image Rights: Artwork created as part of a free collaboration with Shutterstock. 

Here writes for you:

58Is Reinhard Schinkel according to Handelsblatt one of Germany's best tax advisors and specialist author for tax law. Reinhard Schinkel was born in Berlin in 1970. Two days after being appointed tax advisor, he founded his own law firm in 2007 and embarked on the adventure of self-employment. Since 2009 he has published various books as a specialist book author. Since 2011 he has been writing on a monthly basis for the renowned business magazine Fuchsbriefe from Berlin, since 2016 his judgment comments have been published in the magazine Agrarbetrieb. He is managing partner in the tax consulting company HSP STEUER Berlin Südost, true to the credo “Passionate tax advisor” More information at www.hsp-steuerberater-berlin-suedost.de/

Establishing a German foundation as a tax-efficient form of business: First steps

Searching for meaning is the trend. No wonder that foundations are also becoming more and more interesting for ordinary people. One of the main reasons for this are the advantages in terms of asset transfers and taxes. But what must be taken into account when setting up a company and during ongoing business operations?

German-Stiftung reasons-6

What is a foundation?

First, we must define what a foundation is: a foundation is an independent organization, a body. It has no members or shareholders. The legal basis is the mother of all laws, the Civil Code. The statutory basic data are to be found there from the paragraph 80 ff. The federal states have adopted further regulations in the foundation legislation (eg the Stiftungsgesetz Berlin).

The foundation of a foundation has various advantages: on the one hand, the immense tax advantages for the donors of charitable foundations should be mentioned. On the other hand, foundations can also be used for asset protection. This is done in the area of ​​family-oriented family foundations.

How does a foundation work?

But how exactly do you start a foundation? First you have to know: Foundations are differentiated according to whether they have legal capacity or not. A key feature of the foundation is that a business asset must be available, the so-called foundation assets. As a rule, this endowment must not be "consumed".

Only the income from the asset stock is used for the operation of the foundation. Another core feature of the foundation is that the income can only be used for the purpose of the foundation.

The purpose of the foundation

When the foundation is established, a foundation purpose is defined. In this it is determined from the start what the money may be used for. Foundation purposes can be in
sovereign area.

Tip: Text as PDF (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse or series Download. Actions or news via Newsletter!

For this exist public legal foundations private area lie. These would be so-called family foundations or company foundations or non-profit areas. This area is of particular interest to the tax authorities, as donations to the assets of such a foundation can be deducted as generous as donations (more on this later).

Foundations of public law

Foundations of public law are established by a statutory administrative act. They serve the fulfillment of public tasks.

Examples of foundations of public law are:

  • the foundation remembrance, responsibility and future (serves the compensation of former forced laborers)
  • the Contergan Foundation for disabled people, (support for people suffering from permanent damage caused by the drug thalidomide (better known as Contergan)
  • the Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz, (administered formerly Prussian cultural objects such as libraries or art collections)
  • the Berliner Philharmoniker (bearer of this foundation is the Land Berlin)

Federal Foundations

Federal foundations are erected by a federal law and serve to commemorate outstanding statesmen of German history. This is exemplified by the American presidential libraries.

Examples for the Federal Foundation are:

  • the Foundation Chancellor-Adenauer-Haus in Rhöndorf
  • the foundation Reichspräsident-Friedrich-Ebert-memorial in Heidelberg
  • the Federal Chancellor Willy Brandt Foundation in Berlin

The non-legal foundation

The non-legal foundation is actually the little brother of the legally valid foundation. Legal capacity is granted to independent foundations with the approval of the foundation authorities. Before the approval, which has a legal effect, all foundations are not legal.

In the case of the non-legal foundation, the assets are transferred to a trustee (fiduciary) by means of a trustee agreement (foundation agreement). This trustee is required to use the money only for the previously defined purpose of the foundation.

How to found a legal foundation?

The establishment of a non-legal foundation is quite simple, in contrast to the legal foundation. You only need

  • a foundation purpose - who should receive the assets?
  • a trust treaty
  • a person / organization of your trust

Low administrative expenses

Most of these forms of foundation run under the umbrella of non-profit organizations (e.g. Caritas). This means: You determine for what purposes your foundation assets should be used within the scope of the non-profit organization. This can be broken down to individual projects.

An immense advantage is the greatly reduced administrative costs, in contrast to the legal foundations. You do not need your own board for the foundation. The founding documents will not be audited again separately by the Foundation Authority and the annual financial statements will not have to be submitted to the Foundation Supervision.

Only small assets necessary

For this reason, the establishment of a non-legal foundation is already practicable with a rather small capacity. A small asset is an asset that is less than 100.000 €. Why is that so?

The foundation purpose of a legally valid foundation may only be pursued through the income from the asset stock. In addition to the purpose of the foundation, however, the current expenses are also to be paid out of these income.

Pens to resolution

In the case of 100.000 € assets and an assumed interest rate of 5%, 5.000 € is therefore available for a good cause (before deduction of current expenses). This is not very much. However, the non-legal foundation can also be used for the purpose of the foundation.

The foundation is dissolved when there are no more assets. For this reason, a non-incorporated foundation should always be given priority in the case of rather small assets.
Alternatively, the assets could also be transferred via an endowment.

Increase in assets

The term "endowment" refers to the transfer of money from an existing foundation. With an endowment you thus increase the assets of an existing foundation.

Another advantage is that you can use the simple foundation to "practice". Could it be that you do not like the idea of ​​a foundation? If you like, the non-legal foundation can be converted into a legal foundation (with a corresponding increase in assets).

Disadvantages of the non-lawful foundation

As so often in life, there are not only advantages but also disadvantages. The person / organization of your trust - the trustee - is not subject to state restrictions (supervision by the Foundation Supervision). So if he acts contrary to your good purpose, you have hardly a handle to stop the bustle.

Under civil law, the property even goes into the ownership of the fiduciary. If this happens badly, the trustee's transferred assets are used for their own purposes rather than for foundations. If the trustee is a natural person and dies, the foundation is forced to be dissolved.

The foundation business

The so-called foundation business takes place in the first stage. This is a unilateral written declaration of intent that needs to be received.
The main component of the foundation's business is the establishment of a statute.

The absolute core compo- nents of the foundation business are:

  • Name
  • Seat
  • organs
  • Pledge of the transfer of property by the founder
  • assets equipment
  • Purpose of the Foundation

Request sample statutes

In addition, the individual countries have laid down further provisions in their foundation laws. If you are playing with the idea of ​​setting up a foundation, you can request or download sample rates from the respective state authorities.

This is very helpful, since, in addition to the required components according to the German Civil Code (BGB), the country-specific regulations are also incorporated, and a modified pattern kit can thus shorten the following stage two.

Name and seat of the foundation

But first a few explanations of the listed components: Foundations are often supposed to represent a legacy. Therefore, the name of the foundation will mostly contain the name of the founder or the name of the person to be remembered with the foundation (e.g. Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation).

The seat of the foundation is freely selectable, so it can be determined independently of the place of residence of the founder. Legal minimum organ of the foundation is the executive committee. Depending on the size of the foundation and the assets to be managed, other bodies may be set up, such as an advisory board, a board of trustees or a supervisory board.

If the foundation was established during the lifetime, the founder may reserve a right to designate the organs. In doing so, he himself can be called an organ.

The foundation assets

As already explained, the foundation's assets should not be too tight. The foundation's assets must be at least so high that the purpose of the foundation is fulfilled and the ongoing administrative expenses can be covered by the income.

If this is not ensured due to the small size of the property, the rejection of the foundation fee will result. The purpose of the foundation should, however, not be defined too narrowly, so that the foundations of the foundations can still be left to decide.

The purpose of the foundation

They have set up a foundation with the purpose of founding and maintaining the children's playground in the Schwabenallee in Berlin-Biesdorf. This works for several years wonderful, but then the area is rebuilt with a school. The playground does not exist anymore.

The purpose of the foundation can no longer be fulfilled. The foundation would have to be dissolved. It is possible that the foundation supervisory authority adapts to the purpose of the foundation in order to avoid dissolution. Nevertheless, it is advisable to consider the purpose of the foundation more generally (eg maintenance and maintenance of a children's playground in Berlin-Biesdorf).

Submit the statute

If the foundation business is set up together with the statutes, this is submitted to Section 2 of the Senate Administration (eg Senate Administration for Justice). In the case of a non-profit foundation (contribution follows), it is also necessary to recognize the charitable status of the Directorate-General.

In order to accelerate the recognition process, it is also advisable to submit the drafts in advance in order to request informally desired changes. If the foundation business meets the legal requirements, the foundation is recognized. With recognition, the founder is obliged to transfer the assets indicated in the foundation business. The foundation business can start!

Beware of taxation in the start-up phase

Whoever wants to set up a foundation has to pay more attention to things like taxation during the start-up phase. Taxation in the start-up phase sounds paradoxical at first. Because the foundation does not yet exist in the founding phase, so no income can be generated. However, German tax law is designed to fully tax the income earned (apart from a few exceptions).

What does that have to do with? In the so-called foundation business, the founder undertakes to transfer assets and this is where taxation begins. On the one hand, a distinction must be made between non-profit and private-law organized (family) foundations and, on the other hand, the taxation of the founder must be examined in the founding act.

Transfer to a non-profit foundation

On the part of the founder, care must be taken as to whether the assets are transferred from the private assets or from a working capital. If a transfer is made to the Foundation free of charge, this is free of income tax. No capital gain is achieved. The foundation assumes the asset (for example a property) with the amortized cost.

If the transfer is carried out out of an operating capacity, for example, a partial operation or whole operation is transferred, a distinction is made as to whether or not transmission takes place under detection of the hidden reserves.

Under hidden reserves, the difference between amortized cost (original purchase price minus deduction for wear short Afa) and the actual value at the time of the transfer is understood.

The thing about the book value

Ten years ago you bought a multi-family house for 1 Mio. €. Depreciation and amortization amounted to 200.000 €, so the carrying amount is still 800.000 €. Shortly before the transfer, you received a purchase offer of 1,5 million € for this property. The property thus contains 700.000 € hidden reserves (actual value 1,5 € million. /. 800.000 € book value).

It is possible to transfer this property directly from the operating assets to book values ​​(§ 6 Abs. 3 EstG, as a partial business) -? 800.000 €, or under uncovering the hidden reserves with an actual value of € 1,5 million.

Profit from the silent reserve

If the transfer is made at book value, no profit is recorded from the donor's side. Transfer value (withdrawal) 800.000 €. /. Carrying amount 800.000 € = 0 € capital gain.

If the transfer occurs while uncovering the hidden reserves, a withdrawal profit is obtained in the operation of 700.000 € (see above). As a result, the donor has to tax 700.000 with a tax-free rate, without a corresponding flow of liquidity opposing him.

You have the choice!

Therefore, the transfer of whole enterprises or part-enterprises to a non-profit foundation should always take place without uncovering the hidden reserves.

However, this option does not exist for the transfer of individual assets (for example, a company truck is transferred to the Foundation). This transfer must be made by uncovering the hidden reserves (withdrawal profit) and the withdrawal profit is subject to sales tax (§3 Abs..1b UStG)!

The gift tax

The foundation is an asset growth. This increase in wealth does not trigger taxation of income (private property is not tax-deductible), but taxation according to the law of inheritance / gift tax.

Taxation takes place after the deduction of small exemptions in accordance with tax class III, since the foundation does not identify any family ties with the founder. In the case of a transfer of assets of 600.000 €, 30% x 600.000 € = 180.000 € may therefore be charged for the foundation gift tax!

The land purchase tax

If it is to transfer property is also an eye on the land purchase tax.

Land transfer tax is the tax in Germany which transfers transactions of real estate subject to taxation. There is no uniform tax rate here. This differs from state to state and is approx. 4% of the transferred value.

Exemption from basic tax

If the land transfers are subject to the gift tax, they are, however, exempt from the basic income tax pursuant to § 3 No. 2 GrEStG.

However, this applies only to purely free transfer of assets. If the real estate loan is also transferred with a real estate loan, the real estate liability is deducted from the transferred liability.

Examples of taxation

You transfer a property (worth € 1 million) and the associated loans, which means that in future the foundation will also have to service the loans from the income (e.g. € 500.000).
Real estate transfer tax (500.000% 4 € 0) is levied on € 20.000.

This is due to the fact that within the scope of the gift tax consideration, only 500.000 € is also subject to taxation (1 million value./. 500.0000 € liabilities = 500.000 € asset growth).

The taxation of the charitable foundation in the founding act, on the other hand, is characterized by many reliefs, which is what the following deals with Article.

Buy text as PDF

Acquire this text as a PDF: Please send us an eMail with the desired title to support [at] berufebilder.de, we will then send the PDF to you immediately.

3,99 Book now

Find out more - our books on the subject

Or for a little more directly buy a whole book or eCourse on this topic, read on. Here you will find a suitable selection.

Buy eCourse on Demand

Up to 30 lessons with 4 learning tasks each + final lesson as a PDF download. Please send us an eMail with the desired title to support [at] berufebilder.de. Alternatively, we would be happy to put your course together for you or offer you a personal, regular one eMail-Course - all further information!

19,99 Book now

8 responses to "Establishing a German foundation as a tax-efficient form of business: First steps"

  1. Liane Wolfgang says:

    Foundation in Germany: taxation in the start-up phase #Business

  2. Holger Fröse says:

    Foundation in Germany: taxation in the start-up phase #Business

  3. Tracy Ilgner says:

    Foundation in Germany: taxation in the start-up phase #Business

  4. StifterTV says:

    Establishing a German foundation as a form of company - 2/9: First steps - Recommended contribution S0kv8YY130 via @ berufebilder

  5. Competencepartner says:

    Establishing a German foundation as a company form - 2/9: First steps by Reinhard Schinkel: W ... - Recommended contribution JbEeKee7Ry #Profile #Production

  6. Thomas Eggert says:

    Deutsche Stiftung Foundation as a company form - 2 / 9: First steps from Reinhard ... via BERUFEBILDER - Recommended contribution NtTEEyRYij

  7. REGIS GMBH says:

    Deutsche Stiftung Foundation as a company form - 2 / 9: First steps from Reinhard ... via BERUFEBILDER - Recommended contribution S1BFOZo5xl

  8. Competencepartner says:

    Establish a foundation in Germany: The foundation “for practicing”: Foundations are also then un ...

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Ja, I would like to be informed about the latest promotions and offers via Newsletter be informed.

I hereby accept the Debate Rules and the Privacy policy with the possibility to contradict the use of my data at any time.

EnglishDeutsch
error: warning The content is protected!

Zum Artikel

Besser Arbeiten, Infos nach Wunsch: Wir geben Ihnen Informationen, die Sie wirklich brauchen und engagieren uns für eine bessere und ökologische Arbeitswelt. Als Verlag Best of HR – Berufebilder.de® mit einzigartigem Buchkonzept und eKursen bieten wir über 20 Jahre Erfahrung im Corporate Publishing – mit Kunden wie Samsung, Otto, staatlichen Institutionen. Verlegerin Simone Janson leitet auch das Institut Berufebilder Yourweb, das u.a. Stipendien vergibt, und gehört zu den 10 wichtigsten deutschen Bloggerinnen, referenziert in ARD, FAZ, ZEIT, WELT, Wikipedia.

Offenlegung & Bildrechte: Bildmaterial erstellt im Rahmen einer kostenlosen Kooperation mit Shutterstock. 

Hier schreibt für Sie:

58Reinhard Schinkel ist laut Handelsblatt einer von Deutschlands besten Steuerberatern und Fachautor für Steuerrecht.Reinhard Schinkel wurde 1970 in Berlin geboren. Zwei Tage nach der Bestellung zum Steuerberater gründete er 2007 seine eigene Kanzlei und stürzte sich in das Abenteuer Selbstständigkeit. Seit 2009 hat er als Fachbuchautor diverse Bücher veröffentlicht.Seit 2011 schreibt er im monatlichen Rhythmus für die renommierte Unternehmerzeitschrift Fuchsbriefe aus Berlin, seit 2016 erscheinen seine Urteilskommentierungen in der Zeitschrift Agrarbetrieb.Er ist geschäftsführender Gesellschafter in der Steuerberatungsgesellschaft HSP STEUER Berlin Südost ganz nach dem Credo “Steuerberater aus Leidenschaft” Mehr Informationen unter www.hsp-steuerberater-berlin-suedost.de/

Deutsche Stiftung gründen als steuergünstige Unternehmensform: Erste Schritte

Sinnsuche liegt im Trend. Kein Wunder, dass Stiftungen auch Otto-Normal-Bürger immer interessanter werden. Ein Grund dafür sind vor allem die Vorteile bei Vermögensübertragung und Steuern. Doch was muss bei der Gründung und beim laufenden Geschäftsbetrieb beachtet werden?

deutsche-stiftung-gruenden-6

Was ist eine Stiftung?

Zunächst müssen wir definieren, was überhaupt eine Stiftung ist: Eine Stiftung ist eine eigenständige Organisation, eine Körperschaft. Sie kennt keine Mitglieder oder Gesellschafter. Den gesetzlichen Grundrahmen bildet die Mutter aller Gesetze, das Bürgerliche Gesetzbuch. Dort sind ab dem Paragrafen 80 ff. die gesetzlichen Eckdaten zu finden. Weiterführende Regelungen haben die Bundesländer in den Stiftungsgesetzen (z.B. Stiftungsgesetz Berlin) erlassen.

Die Gründung einer Stiftung hat verschiedene Vorteile: Auf der einen Seite wären die immensen steuerlichen Vorteile für die Geldgeber gemeinnütziger Stiftungen zu nennen. Auf der anderen Seite können Stiftungen auch der Vermögenssicherung dienen. Das erfolgt im Bereich eher verwandtschaftlich orientierter Familienstiftungen.

Wie funktioniert eine Stiftung?

Wie aber fängt man eine Stiftungsgründung genau an? Zunächst muss man wissen: Stiftungen werden danach unterschieden, ob sie rechtsfähig oder nicht rechtsfähig sind. Ein Kernmerkmal der Stiftung ist es, das für den Geschäftsbetrieb ein Vermögensstock vorhanden sein muss, das sogenannte Stiftungsvermögen. Dieses Stiftungsvermögen darf in der Regel nicht “verzehrt” werden.

Für den Betrieb der Stiftung werden nur die Erträge aus dem Vermögensstock verwendet. Ein weiteres Kernmerkmal der Stiftung besteht darin, dass die Erträge nur für den Stiftungszweck verwendet werden darf.

Tipp: Text als PDF (bitte Anleitung lesen!) oder zu diesem Text kompletten eKurs bzw, Reihe herunterladen. Aktionen oder News per Newsletter!

Der Stiftungszweck

Mit Gründung der Stiftung wird ein Stiftungszweck festgelegt. In diesem wird von vornherein festgelegt wofür das Geld verwendet werden darf. Stiftungszwecke können im hoheitlichen Bereich liegen.

Dafür existieren öffentlich rechtliche Stiftungen privaten Bereich liegen. Das wären sogenannte Familienstiftungen oder Unternehmensstiftungen oder gemeinnützigen Bereich liegen. Dieser Bereich ist gerade steuerlich interessant, da die Zuwendungen in den Vermögensstock solch einer Stiftung sehr großzügig wie Spenden abgezogen werden können (dazu später mehr).

Stiftungen des öffentlichen Rechts

Stiftungen des öffentlichen Rechts werden durch einen hoheitlichen Verwaltungsakt gegründet. Sie dienen der Erledigung öffentlicher Aufgaben.

Beispiele für Stiftungen des öffentlichen Rechts sind:

  • die Stiftung Erinnerung, Verantwortung und Zukunft, ( dient der Entschädigung ehemaliger Zwangsarbeiter)
  • die Conterganstiftung für behinderte Menschen, (Unterstützung von Menschen die durch das Medikament Thalidomid (besser bekannt unter Contergan) bleibende Schäden davongetragen haben
  • die Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz, (verwaltet ehemals preußische Kulturgüter wie Bibliotheken oder Kunstsammlungen)
  • die Berliner Philharmoniker (Träger dieser Stiftung ist das Land Berlin)

Bundesunmittelbare Stiftungen

Bundesunmittelbare Stiftungen werden durch ein Bundesgesetz errichtet und dienen dem Andenken an herausragende Staatsmänner der deutschen Geschichte. Vorbild dafür sind die amerikanischen Präsidentenbibliotheken.

Beispiele für Bundesstiftungen sind:

  • die Stiftung Bundeskanzler-Adenauer-Haus in Rhöndorf
  • die Stiftung Reichspräsident-Friedrich-Ebert-Gedenkstätte in Heidelberg
  • die Bundeskanzler-Willy-Brandt-Stiftung in Berlin

Die nicht rechtsfähige Stiftung

Die nicht rechtsfähige Stiftung ist faktisch der kleine Bruder der rechtsfähigen Stiftung. Rechtsfähigkeit erlangen selbständige Stiftungen mit der Genehmigung durch die Stiftungsbehörde. Vor der Genehmigung, die rechtsbegründend wirkt, sind also alle Stiftungen nicht rechtsfähig.

Bei der nicht rechtsfähigen Stiftung wird das Vermögen per Treuhandvertrag (Stiftungsvertrag) auf einen Treuhänder (Fiduziar) übertragen. Dieser Treuhänder wird verpflichtet, das Geld nur für den vorher festgelegten Stiftungszweck zu verwenden.

Wie gründet man eine rechtsfähige Stiftung?

Die Errichtung einer nicht rechtsfähigen Stiftung ist im Gegensatz zur rechtsfähigen Stiftung recht einfach. Sie benötigen nur

  • einen Stiftungszweck – wer soll also das Vermögen erhalten?
  • einen Treuhandvertrag
  • eine Person/Organisation Ihres Vertrauens

Geringer Verwaltungsaufwand

Meist laufen diese Stiftungsformen unter dem Dach gemeinnütziger Organisationen (z.B. Caritas). Das bedeutet: Sie legen fest für welche Zwecke Ihr Stiftungsvermögen innerhalb des Wirkungsbereiches der gemeinnützigen Organisation verwendet werden sollte. Das kann bis auf einzelne Projekte “runtergebrochen” werden.

Ein immenser Vorteil ist der im Gegensatz zu den rechtsfähigen Stiftungen stark reduzierte Verwaltungsaufwand. Sie benötigen für die Stiftung keinen eigenen Vorstand. Die Gründungsunterlagen werden nicht noch einmal gesondert durch die Stiftungsbehörde geprüft und der Jahresabschluss muss nicht bei der Stiftungsaufsicht eingereicht werden.

Nur geringes Vermögen notwendig

Aus diesem Grunde ist die Errichtung einer nicht rechtsfähigen Stiftung auch schon mit einem eher geringen Vermögen praktikabel. Unter geringem Vermögen wird ein Vermögensstock verstanden der unter 100.000 € liegt. Wieso ist das so?

Der Stiftungszweck einer rechtsfähigen Stiftung darf nur durch die Erträge aus dem Vermögensstock verfolgt werden. Neben dem Stiftungszweck sind aber natürlich auch die laufenden Aufwendungen aus diesen Erträgen zu bezahlen.

Stiften bis zur Auflösung

Bei 100.000 € Vermögen und eine angenommene Verzinsung von 5% stehen also für den guten Zweck (vor Abzug der laufenden Aufwendungen) 5.000 € zur Verfügung. Das ist nicht besonders viel. Bei der nicht rechtsfähigen Stiftung kann jedoch auch der Vermögensstock für den Stiftungszweck verwendet werden.

Die Stiftung wird aufgelöst wenn kein Vermögen mehr vorhanden ist. Aus diesem Grunde sollte bei eher kleinem Vermögen immer eine nicht rechtsfähige Stiftung den Vorrang erhalten. Alternativ dazu könnte das Vermögen auch über eine Zustiftung übergehen.

Aufstockung des Vermögens

Von einer Zustiftung spricht man, wenn das Geld einer bereits vorhandenen Stiftung übertragen wird. Mit einer Zustiftung erhöhen Sie also den Vermögensstock einer bereits vorhandenen Stiftung.

Ein weiterer Vorteil liegt darin, dass Sie die einfache Stiftung zum “Üben” verwenden werden können. Es könnte ja sein, das der Stiftungsgedanke Ihnen gar nicht so liegt? Nach Gefallen kann die nicht rechtsfähige Stiftung in eine rechtsfähige Stiftung (mit entsprechender Vermögensaufstockung) umgewandelt werden.

Nachteile der nicht-rechtsfähigen Stiftung

Wie so oft im Leben existieren nicht nur Vor-, sondern auch Nachteile. Die Person/Organisation Ihres Vertrauens – der Treuhänder – unterliegt nicht staatlichen Beschränkungen (Kontrolle durch die Stiftungsaufsicht). Handelt er also wider Ihren guten Zweck haben Sie kaum eine Handhabe das Treiben zu unterbinden.

Zivilrechtlich geht das Vermögen sogar in das Eigentum des Fiduziars über. Sollte es ganz schlimm kommen, wird das treuhänderisch übertragene Vermögen für eher eigene als Stiftungszwecke verwendet. Handelt es sich bei den Treuhänder um eine natürliche Person und stirbt diese, wird die Stiftung zwangsaufgelöst.

Das Stiftungsgeschäft

Auf der ersten Etappe erfolgt das sogenannte Stiftungsgeschäft. Dabei handelt es sich um eine einseitige empfangsbedürftige schriftliche Willenserklärung. Hauptbestandteil des Stiftungsgeschäftes ist die Festlegung einer Satzung.

Absolute Mussbestandteile des Stiftungsgeschäfts sind:

  • Name
  • Sitz
  • Organe
  • Zusage der Vermögensübertragung durch den Stifter
  • Vermögensausstattung
  • Zweck der Stiftung

Mustersatzungen anfordern

Daneben haben die einzelnen Länder in ihren Stiftungsgesetzen weitere Vorschriften festgelegt. Spielen Sie mit den Gedanken eine Stiftung zu errichten können Sie bei den jeweiligen Landesbehörden Mustersatzungen anfordern bzw. downloaden.

Das ist sehr hilfreich, sind doch neben den Mussbestandteilen lt. BGB auch die landesspezifischen Regelungen eingearbeitet und eine eingearbeitet Mustersatzung kann somit die folgende Etappe Zwei verkürzen.

Name und Sitz der Stiftung

Doch zuvor ein paar Erläuterungen zu den aufgeführten Bestandteilen:  Stiftungen sollen ja oft ein Vermächtnis darstellen. Daher wird der Stiftungsname zumeist den Stifternamen enthalten, oder den Namen der Person an die mit der Stiftung erinnert werden soll (z.B. Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung).

Der Sitz der Stiftung ist frei wählbar, kann also unabhängig vom Wohnort des Stifters festgelegt werden. Gesetzliches Mindestorgan der Stiftung ist der Vorstand. Je nach Größe der Stiftung und des zu verwaltenden Vermögens können noch weitere Organe aufgestellt werden, wie ein Beirat, ein Kuratorium bzw. ein Aufsichtsrat.

Wurde die Stiftung zu Lebzeiten errichtet, kann sich der Stifter ein Benennungsrecht der Organe vorbehalten. Dabei kann er sich sogar selber als Organ berufen.

Das Stiftungs-Vermögen

Wie bereits erläutert, sollte das Stiftungsvermögen nicht zu knapp bemessen sein. Das Stiftungsvermögen muss mindestens so hoch abgemessen sein, dass der Stiftungszweck erfüllt und die laufenden Verwaltungsaufwendungen aus den Erträgen bestritten werden können.

Ist das aufgrund der geringen Vermögenshöhe nicht gewährleistet, zieht das die Ablehnung der Stiftungseintragung nach sich! Der Stiftungszweck sollte eindeutig dabei allerdings nicht zu eng festgelegt werden, damit die Stiftungsorgane noch Entscheidungsspielraum haben.

Der Stiftungs-Zweck

Sie haben eine Stiftung errichtet mit dem Stiftungszweck den Kinderspielplatz in der Schwabenallee in Berlin-Biesdorf zu unterhalten und zu warten. Das klappt einige Jahre wunderbar, doch dann wird die Fläche mit einer Schule neu bebaut. Der Spielplatz existiert nicht mehr.

Der Stiftungszweck kann nicht mehr erfüllt werden. Die Stiftung müsste aufgelöst werden. Es ist zwar möglich, dass die Stiftungsaufsichtsbehörde den Stiftungszweck anpasst, um eine Auflösung zu vermeiden. Dennoch ist es ratsam den Stiftungszweck allgemeiner zu fassen (z.B. Wartung und Unterhaltung eines Kinderspielplatzes in Berlin-Biesdorf).

Die Satzung einreichen

Ist das Stiftungsgeschäft nebst Satzung errichtet wird diese in Etappe Zwei bei der zuständigen Landesbehörde eingereicht (Berlin z.B. Senatsverwaltung für Justiz). Handelt es sich um eine gemeinnützige Stiftung (Beitrag folgt) ist darüber hinaus, die Anerkennung der Gemeinnützigkeit durch die Oberfinanzdirektion erforderlich.

Um das Anerkennungsverfahren zu beschleunigen empfiehlt es sich zudem im Vorfeld die Entwürfe einzureichen um informell gewünschten Änderungsbedarf abzufragen. Entspricht das Stiftungsgeschäft den gesetzlichen Vorgaben, wird die Stiftung anerkannt. Mit Anerkennung ist der Stifter verpflichtet das im Stiftungsgeschäft angegebene Vermögen zu übertragen. Das Stiftungsgeschäft kann starten!

Vorsicht vor der Besteuerung in der Gründungsphase

Wer eine Stiftung gründen will, muss aber noch mehr beachten – z.B. auch die Besteuerung während der Gründungsphase. Besteuerung in der Gründungsphase klingt erst einmal paradox. Denn in der Gründungsphase existiert die Stiftung ja noch nicht, also kann auch kein Einkommen erzielt sein. Das deutsche Steuerrecht ist jedoch darauf eingerichtet, das erzielte Einkommen vollumfassend zu besteuern (von einzelnen Ausnahmen abgesehen).

Womit hängt das zusammen? Im sogenannten Stiftungsgeschäft verpflichtet sich der Stifter Vermögen zu übertragen und an dieser Stelle setzt die Besteuerung ein. Dabei muss man auf der einen Seite zwischen gemeinnütziger und privatrechtlich organisierter (Familien-)Stiftung unterschieden und zum anderen ist die Besteuerung des Stifters im Gründungsakt zu beleuchten.

Vermögensübertragung an eine nicht gemeinnützige Stiftung

Auf Seiten des Stifters ist zu beachten, ob das Vermögen aus dem Privatvermögen oder aus einem Betriebsvermögen heraus übertragen wird. Erfolgt eine unentgeltliche Übertragung an die Stiftung ist das ertragssteuerfrei. Es wird ja kein Veräußerungsgewinn erzielt. Die Stiftung übernimmt das Wirtschaftsgut (zum Beispiel eine Immobilie) mit den fortgeführten Anschaffungskosten.

Erfolgt die Übertragung aus einem Betriebsvermögen heraus, zum Beispiel wird ein Teilbetrieb, oder ganzer Betrieb übertragen, wird unterschieden ob die Übertragung unter Aufdeckung der stillen Reserven erfolgt oder nicht.

Unter stillen Reserven wird der Differenzbetrag zwischen fortgeführten Anschaffungskosten (ursprüngliche Kaufpreis abzüglich Absetzung für Abnutzung kurz Afa) und dem tatsächlichen Wert zum Zeitpunkt der Übertragung verstanden.

Die Sache mit dem Buchwert

Sie kauften vor zehn Jahren ein Mehrfamilienhaus für 1 Mio. €. An Abschreibungen fielen 200.000 € an, so dass der Buchwert noch 800.000 € beträgt. Kurz vor der Übertragung erhielten Sie für diese Immobilie ein Kaufangebot von 1,5 Mio. €. In der Immobilie stecken also 700.000 € stille Reserven (tatsächlicher Wert 1,5 Mio. €./. 800.000 € Buchwert).

Es ist möglich diese Immobilie aus dem Betriebsvermögen direkt zu Buchwerten zu übertragen (§ 6 Abs. 3 EstG, als Teilbetrieb)-? 800.000 €, oder unter Aufdeckung der stillen Reserven mit einem tatsächlichen Wert von 1,5 Mio. €.

Gewinn aus der stillen Reserve

Erfolgt die Übertragung zu den Buchwerten ist kein Gewinn aus der Seite des Stifters zu verzeichnen. Übertragungswert (Entnahme) 800.000 €./. Buchwert 800.000 € = 0 € Veräußerungsgewinn.

Erfolgt die Übertragung unter Aufdeckung der stillen Reserven ergibt sich ein Entnahmegewinn im Betrieb von 700.000 € (siehe oben). Ertragsteuerlich hat der Stifter also 700.000 zu versteuern, ohne dass Ihm ein entsprechender Liquiditätsfluss gegenübersteht.

Sie haben die Wahl!

Daher sollte die Übertragung von ganzen Betrieben oder Teilbetrieben an eine nicht gemeinnützige Stiftung immer ohne Aufdeckung der stillen Reserven erfolgen.

Dieses Wahlrecht existiert allerdings bei der Übertragung einzelner Wirtschaftsgüter nicht (zum Beispiel ein betrieblicher LKW wird auf die Stiftung übertragen). Diese Übertragung muss zwingend unter Aufdeckung der stillen Reserven erfolgen (Entnahmegewinn) und auf den Entnahmegewinn fällt Umsatzsteuer (§3 Abs..1b UStG) an!

Die Schenkungssteuer

Für die Stiftung handelt es sich um einen Vermögenszuwachs. Dieser Vermögenszuwachs löst keine Besteuerung des Einkommens aus (private Vermögensphäre ertragsteuerlich unbeachtlich), sehr wohl aber eine Besteuerung entsprechend des Erbschaft-/Schenkungssteuergesetzes.

Die Besteuerung erfolgt nach Abzug geringer Freibeträge entsprechend der Steuerklasse III, da die Stiftung keine verwandtschaftlichen Beziehungen zum Stifter ausweist. Bei einer Vermögensübertragung von 600.000 € können somit für die Stiftung Schenkungssteuer von 30% x 600.000 € = 180.000 € anfallen!

Die Grunderwerbsteuer

Handelt es sich um Übertragung von Immobilien ist auch ein Auge auf die Grunderwerbsteuer zu werfen.

Grunderwerbsteuer ist die Steuer in Deutschland die Übertragungsvorgänge von Immobilien der Besteuerung unterwirft. Hier existiert kein einheitlicher Steuersatz. Dieser ist von Bundesland zu Bundesland verschieden und liegt bei ca. 4% des übertragenen Wertes.

Befreiung von der Grunderwerbssteuer

Unterliegen die Grundstücksübertragungen der Schenkungssteuer, sind diese jedoch gemäß §3 Nr. 2 GrEStG von der Grunderwerbsteuer befreit.

Das gilt jedoch nur für rein unentgeltliche Vermögensübertragungen. Wird mit der Immobilie auch die Grundschuld mit einer Belastung durch einen Immobilienkredit übertragen, fällt in Höhe der übertragenen Verbindlichkeit Grunderwerbsteuer an.

Beispiele für die Besteuerung

Sie übertragen eine Immobilie (Wert 1 Mio. €) und die dazugehörigen Kredite, das bedeutet, zukünftig muss die Stiftung aus den Erträgen auch die Kredite bedienen (z.B. 500.000 €). Auf 500.000 € wird Grunderwerbsteuer (4% 0 20.000 €) erhoben.

Das hängt damit zusammen, da im Rahmen der schenkungssteuerlichen Betrachtung ebenfalls nur 500.000 € der Besteuerung unterliegen (1 Mio. Wert./. 500.0000 € Verbindlichkeiten = 500.000 € Vermögenszuwachs).

Die Besteuerung der gemeinnützigen Stiftung im Gründungakt ist dagegen von vielen Erleichterungen gekennzeichnet, damit beschäftigt sich der folgende Artikel.

Bücher zum Thema

8 Antworten zu “Deutsche Stiftung gründen als steuergünstige Unternehmensform: Erste Schritte”

  1. Liane Wolfgang sagt:

    Eine Stiftung gr ünden in Deutschland: Die Besteuerung in der Gr ündungsphase #Business

  2. Holger Fröse sagt:

    Eine Stiftung gr ünden in Deutschland: Die Besteuerung in der Gr ündungsphase #Business

  3. Tracy Ilgner sagt:

    Eine Stiftung gr ünden in Deutschland: Die Besteuerung in der Gr ündungsphase #Business

  4. StifterTV sagt:

    Deutsche Stiftung gründen als Unternehmensform – 2/9: Erste Schritte – Empfehlenswerter Beitrag S0kv8YY130 via @berufebilder

  5. KompetenzPartner sagt:

    Deutsche Stiftung gründen als Unternehmensform – 2/9: Erste Schritte von Reinhard Schinkel: W… – Empfehlenswerter Beitrag JbEeKee7Ry #Beruf #Bildung

  6. Thomas Eggert sagt:

    Deutsche Stiftung gründen als Unternehmensform – 2/9: Erste Schritte von Reinhard… via B E R U F E B I L D E R – Empfehlenswerter Beitrag NtTEEyRYij

  7. BEGIS GmbH sagt:

    Deutsche Stiftung gründen als Unternehmensform – 2/9: Erste Schritte von Reinhard… via B E R U F E B I L D E R – Empfehlenswerter Beitrag S1BFOZo5xl

  8. KompetenzPartner sagt:

    Eine Stiftung gründen in Deutschland: Die Stiftung “zum Üben”: Stiftungen werden zudem danach un…

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Ja, ich möchte regelmäßig über die neusten Aktionen & Angebote per Newsletter informiert werden.

Hiermit akzeptiere ich die Debatten-Regeln und die Datenschutzbedingungen mit der Möglichkeit, der Verwendung meiner Daten jederzeit zu widersprechen.

EnglishDeutsch
error: Warnung Der Inhalt ist geschützt!