Digital manipulation through quantified self: It starts with the children


Work well, plant 500 trees! We make the working world more humane and ecological, e.g. through our well documented Engagement for Climate Protection. As Book Publisher Best of HR – Berufebilder.de® with unique Book Concept and eCourses we offer over 20 years of experience in Corporate Publishing - with Clients like Samsung, Otto, Governmental Institutions. From the Top 20-Blogger Simone Janson, referenced in ARD, ZEIT, WELT, Wikipedia .
Copyright:  Artwork created as part of a free collaboration with Shutterstock. ,

The quantified self movement is gaining more and more supporters worldwide. No wonder if children are already enthusiastic about this trend. I found a glaring example of this in Estonia.

Digital manipulation through quantified self: It starts with the children

Here writes for you:

 

Simone Janson Simone JansonSimone Janson is publisherGerman Top20 blogger and Consultant for HR communication.

  Profile

Main argument: self-optimization

I admit it: The enthusiasm for measuring yourself in all details and for self-improvement is just a little scary to me - even if the self-trackers certainly gain results in this way that help them to self-optimize and increase efficiency .

That is the main argument of the self-trackers to do this stress to themselves - as I personally think. Now every adult can do it as he wants. When I recently visited the ICT demo center on a press trip to Estonia, where the functioning and organization of the electronic state was explained to us, I noticed that the children are already being brought up to a kind of “quantified self” - and that's true very, very thoughtful.

e-School for the self-trackers of tomorrow

E-School is the name of the tool that the majority of Estonians use and that initially appears to be nothing more than a kind of class register - but in electronic form. The teachers can enter here, for example, what was done in class, what homework they gave, but also the grades. What is new is the speed at which the data is transmitted to the parents: namely immediately. Among other things, also by SMS.

Tip: Text as PDF (please read the instructions!) Download or for a little more Book on the topic with discount or eCourse book. Actions or news via Newsletter!

On the website, the PR reads as follows - including a nice video on the subject:

  • "Teachers enter grades and attendance information in the system, post homework assignments, and evaluate students' behavior. They also use it to send messages to parents, students or entire classes. "
  • “Parents use it to stay closely involved in their children's education. With the help of round-the-clock access via the internet, they can see their children's homework assignments, grades, attendance information and teacher's notes, as well as communicate directly with teachers via the system. "
  • "Students can read their own grades and keep track of what homework has been assigned each day. They also have an option to save their best work in their own, personal e-portfolios. "
  • "District administrators have access to the latest statistical reports on demand, making it easy to consolidate data across the district's schools."

Time-saving or dangerous?

Now one or the other will say: “How practical. There are no annoying parenting discussions. And you can take countermeasures immediately if something is not going well. " Right. And those were the arguments that the enthusiastic Estonians gave us for the fact that almost everyone in Estonia uses this tool - provided that the school that pays for this service offers it.

"If the child does not arrive at school, the parents get a text message," it said. That may still make sense. But what about when the child chatted with the person sitting next to him and received an entry in the “class register”? Does it really make sense for parents to be informed about every step their children take at all times? How do you see it?

One father told us that he was initially worried that his daughter might feel that she was being watched. But she asked her father on her own initiative to check again what homework she had. Apparently she has not seen a Big Brother situation at all - rather the supervisor has been made secretary.

Four considerations to make

The child clearly sees his practical, personal gain in efficiency in the situation. Is everything okay then? I think one should still make a few considerations:

Tip: Text as PDF (please read the instructions!) Download or for a little more Book on the topic with discount or eCourse book. Actions or news via Newsletter!

  1. More communication effort.  I imagine it to be a bit like changing from a letter to eMail vor: In the past everything went slower, so less was written. The constant availability of the communication tool means that it is used more than it might sometimes be necessary. Here, the teachers' sense of responsibility is required to only notify parents when it is really necessary.
  2. Constant need for action.  What does it do to parents who always want the best for their child when they are informed about every little misstep? They constantly feel like they have to react somehow. I try to imagine the pressure that parents put under.
  3. Over-optimization.  Even without this tool, some parents simply overdo it with their desire to only want the best for their child. What happens when parents are not only constantly reminded of this, but also have to fear that their child could be “left behind” if you do not act - because everyone else is also using this tool? Ultimately, they not only put themselves under constant pressure, but also their child.
  4. Social differences.  Finally, one must not forget that e-school is a private sector Company is that schools have to pay for. What happens to those who can't pay for it? In this way, the tool helps to cement social differences.

Great tool or latent danger?

However, you have to say: Those Estonians I spoke to all thought the tool was great - and said that at least the majority of Estonians use it. So maybe my prophecies of doom are completely wrong?

I do not think so. Because: Here, children are made familiar very early on that constant (self) monitoring is normal and should not be questioned. But what does that do to a society in which this topic is handled completely uncritically?


More knowledge - PDF download, eCourse on demand or personal advice


Offline download: Download this text as PDF -  Read usage rights, Because we do not automatically submit the title of this text for privacy reasons: When buying in "interests" the title register if support is needed. After buying text exclusively Download at this URL (please save). Or for a little more directly an entire book or eCourse with this text buy, read on.

3,99 Book now


Your eCourse on Demand: Choose your personal eCourse on this or another desired topic, As a PDF download. Up to 30 lessons with each 4 learning task + final lesson. Please enter the title under "interests". Alternatively, we are happy to put together your course for you or offer you a personal regular eMailCourse including supervision and certificate - all further information!

19,99 Book now


Consultant packages: You want to increase your reach or address applicants as an employer? For these and other topics we offer special Consultant packages (overview) - For example, a personal phone call (price is per hour).

179,99 Book now



You want to comment here? Please the Debate Rules comply, contributions must be unlocked. Your eMailAddress remains secret. More information on the use of your data and how you can counter this can be found in our Privacy Policy.

  1. To follow debate on this post
  2. All debates follow

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Ja, I would like to be informed about the latest promotions and offers via Newsletter be informed.

I hereby accept the Debate Rules and the Privacy policy with the possibility to contradict the use of my data at any time.

Digitale Manipulation durch Quantified Self: Es fängt schon bei den Kindern an


Besser arbeiten, Infos nach Wunsch! Wir geben Ihnen Informationen, die Sie wirklich brauchen und engagieren uns für eine bessere und ökologische Arbeitswelt. Als Verlag Best of HR – Berufebilder.de® mit einzigartigem Buchkonzept und eKursen bieten wir über 20 Jahre Erfahrung im Corporate Publishing – mit Kunden wie Samsung, Otto, staatlichen Institutionen. Verlegerin Simone Janson leitet auch das Institut Berufebilder Yourweb, das z.B. Stipendien vergibt, und gehörte zu den 20 wichtigsten deutschen Bloggerinnen, referenziert in ARD, ZEIT, WELT, Wikipedia.
Bildrechte:  Bildmaterial erstellt im Rahmen einer kostenlosen Kooperation mit Shutterstock. .

Die Quantified-Self-Bewegung findet weltweit immer mehr Anhänger. Kein Wunder, wenn bereits Kinder für diesen Trend begeistert werden. Ein krasses Beispiel dafür habe ich Estland gefunden.

Digitale Manipulation durch Quantified Self: Es fängt schon bei den Kindern an

Hier schreibt für Sie:

 

Simone Janson Simone JansonSimone Janson ist VerlegerinBeraterin und Leiterin des Instituts Berufebilder Yourweb.

  Profil

Hauptargument: Selbstoptimierung

Ich gebe es zu: Die Begeisterung dafür, sich selbst in allen Details zu vermessen und Selbstverbesserung zu betreiben, ist mir schlicht ein wenig unheimlich – auch wenn die Self-Tracker auf diese Weise sicherlich Ergebnisse gewinnen, die ihnen bei der Selbstoptimierung und Effizienzsteigerung behilflich sind.

Das ist denn auch das Hauptargument der Self-Tracker, sich diesen Stress – wie ich persönlich finde – anzutun. Nun kann das jeder Erwachsene halten, wie er will. Als ich nun kürzlich auf einer Pressereise in Estland das ICT-Democenter besuchte, in dem uns Funktionsweise und Organisation des elektronischen Staates erklärt wurde, stellte ich fest, dass hier bereits die Kinder zu einer Art “Quantified Self” erzogen werden – und das stimmt mich sehr, sehr nachdenklich.

e-School für die Self-Tracker von morgen

E-School heißt das Tool, das ein Großteil der Esten nutzt, und das zunächst einmal nichts anderes als eine Art Klassenbuch zu sein scheint – aber in elektronischer Form. Die Lehrer können hier z.B. eintragen, was im Unterricht durchgenommen wurde, welche Hausaufgaben sie aufgegeben haben, aber auch die Noten. Neu ist, mit welcher Geschwindigkeit die Daten an die Eltern übermittelt werden: nämlich sofort. Unter anderem auch per SMS.

Tipp: Text als PDF (bitte Anleitung lesen!) herunterladen oder für wenig mehr Buch zum Thema mit Rabatt bzw. eKurs buchen. Aktionen oder News per Newsletter!

Auf der Website dazu liest sich die PR folgendermaßen – samt einem netten Video zum Thema:

  • “Teachers enter grades and attendance information in the system, post homework assignments, and evaluate students’ behavior. They also use it to send messages to parents, students or entire classes.”
  • “Parents use it to stay closely involved in their children’s education. With the help of round-the-clock access via the internet, they can see their children’s homework assignments, grades, attendance information and teacher’s notes, as well as communicate directly with teachers via the system.”
  • “Students can read their own grades and keep track of what homework has been assigned each day. They also have an option to save their best work in their own, personal e-portfolios.”
  • “District administrators have access the latest statistical reports on demand, making it easy to consolidate data across the district’s schools.”

Zeitsparend oder gefährlich?

Nun wird der eine oder andere sagen: “Wie praktisch. Es entfallen nervige Elterngespräche. Und man kann sofort gegensteuern, wenn etwas nicht rund läuft.” Stimmt. Und das waren auch die Argumente, die uns die begeisterten Esten dafür genannt haben, dass nahezu jeder in Estland dieses Tool nutzt – sofern die Schule, die für diesen Service bezahlt, es anbietet.

“Wenn das Kind nicht in der Schule ankommt, bekommen die Eltern eine SMS” hieß es. Das mag noch sinnvoll sein. Wie sieht es aber aus, wenn das Kind mit dem Tischnachbarn geschwatzt und einen Eintrag ins “Klassenbuch” erhalten hat? Ist es wirklich sinnvoll, wenn Eltern jederzeit über jeden Schritt ihrer Kinder informiert werden? Wie seht Ihr das?

Ein Vater erzählte uns, dass er sich zunächst auch Sorgen gemacht habe, seine Tochter könne sich überwacht fühlen. Die aber habe ihren Vater von sich aus gebeten, noch einmal zu überprüfen, welche Hausaufgaben sie aufhat. Eine Big-Brother-Situation hat sie offenbar gar nicht gesehen – vielmehr wurde der Überwacher zum Sekretär gemacht.

Vier Überlegungen, die man machen sollte

Das Kind sieht offenbar vor allem seinen praktischen, persönlichen Effizienz-Gewinn in der Situation. Alles gut also? Ich finde, man sollte dennoch ein paar Überlegungen machen:

Tipp: Text als PDF (bitte Anleitung lesen!) herunterladen oder für wenig mehr Buch zum Thema mit Rabatt bzw. eKurs buchen. Aktionen oder News per Newsletter!

  1. Mehr Kommunikationsaufwand.  Ich stelle mir das ein wenig wie beim Wandel vom Brief zur eMail vor: Früher ging alles langsamer, daher wurde weniger geschrieben. Die ständige Verfügbarkeit des Kommunikationstools führt dazu, dass man es auch mehr nutzt, als es vielleicht manchmal nötig wäre. Hier ist vor allem das Verantwortungsbewusstsein der Lehrer gefragt, Eltern nur dann zu benachrichtigen, wenn es wirklich Not tut.
  2. Ständiger Handlungsbedarf.  Was macht das mit Eltern, die ja ständig das Beste für ihr Kind wollen, wenn sie über jeden noch so kleinen Fehltritt informiert werden? Sie haben ständig das Gefühl, sie müssten irgendwie reagieren. Ich versuche mir vorzustellen, unter welchen Druck das Eltern setzt.
  3. Über-Optimierung.  Bereits ohne dieses Tool übertreiben es manche Eltern schlicht mit ihrem Wunsch, nur das Beste für ihr Kind zu wollen. Was passiert nun, wenn Eltern nicht nur ständig daran erinnert werden, sondern zudem befürchten müssen, ihr Kind könnte “abgehängt” werden, wenn man nicht agiert – weil eben alle anderen auch dieses Tool benutzen? Schlussendlich setzen sie nicht nur sich selbst, sondern auch ihr Kind permanent unter Druck.
  4. Soziale Unterschiede.  Und schließlich darf man nicht vergessen, dass e-School ein privatwirtschaftliches Unternehmen ist, für das Schulen bezahlen müssen. Was passiert mit denen, die es nicht bezahlen können? Das Tool hilft auf diese Weise, soziale Unterschiede zu zementieren.

Super Tool oder latente Gefahr?

Man muss allerdings sagen: Diejenigen Esten, mit denen ich gesprochen habe, fanden das Tool alle super – und meinten, es werde zumindest von einem Großteil der Esten genutzt. Vielleicht sind meine Unkenrufe also völlig daneben?

Ich denke nicht. Denn: Kinder werden hier sehr früh damit vertraut gemacht, dass eine ständige (Selbst)Überwachung normal und nicht zu hinterfragen ist. Was aber macht das mit einer Gesellschaft, in der völlig kritiklos mit diesem Thema umgegangen wird?


Mehr Wissen - PDF-Download, eKurs on Demand oder persönliche Beratung


Offline-Download: Diesen Text als PDF herunterladen –  Nutzungsrechte nachlesen. Da wir den Titel dieses Textes aus Datenschutzgründen nicht automatisch übermitteln: Beim im Kauf unter "Interessen" den Titel eintragen, falls Support nötig ist. Nach dem Kauf Text ausschließlich unter dieser URL herunterladen (bitte abspeichern). Oder für wenig mehr direkt ganzes Buch oder eKurs mit diesem Text kaufen, dazu weiterlesen.

3,99 Jetzt buchen


Kundenmeinungen lesen und Buch zu diesem Thema mit Rabatt kaufen: Ihnen gefällt dieser Text und Sie wollen mehr Informationen dazu lesen? Kaufen Sie das passende Buch inklusive diesem Text, direkt hier in zwei Sprachen erwerben, als Mitglied sogar mit 20 Prozent Rabatt. Sie wollen zuerst einen Blick in das Buch werfen? Dazu können Sie das Buch in der Vorschau ansehen und dann auf der Buchseite erwerben.

Deutsche Ausgabe: ISBN 9783965963542

7,99  Direkt kaufen

Englische Ausgabe: ISBN 9783965963559 (Hinweis zur Übersetzung)

7,99  Direkt kaufen


Ihr eKurs on Demand: Wählen Sie Ihren persönlichen eKurs zu diesem oder einem anderen Wunschthema. Als PDF-Download. Bis zu 30 Lektionen mit je 4 Lernaufgaben + Abschlusslektion. Bitte unter "Interessen" den Titel eintragen. Alternativ stellen wir gerne Ihren Kurs für Sie zusammen oder bieten Ihnen einen persönlichen regelmäßigen eMail-Kurs inklusive Betreuung und Zertifikat – alle weiteren Informationen!

19,99 Jetzt buchen


Berater-Pakete: Sie wollen Ihre Reichweite erhöhen oder als Arbeitgeber Bewerber ansprechen? Für diese und weitere Themen bieten wir spezielle Berater-Pakete (Übersicht) – zum Beispiel ein persönliches Telefonat (Preis gilt pro Stunde).

179,99 Jetzt buchen



Sie wollen hier kommentieren? Bitte die Debatten-Regeln einhalten, Beiträge müssen freigeschaltet werden. Ihre eMail-Adresse bleibt geheim. Mehr Informationen zur Verwendung Ihrer Daten und wie Sie dieser widersprechen können, finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

  1. Debatte zu diesem Beitrag folgen
  2. Allen Debatten folgen

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Ja, ich möchte regelmäßig über die neusten Aktionen & Angebote per Newsletter informiert werden.

Hiermit akzeptiere ich die Debatten-Regeln und die Datenschutzbedingungen mit der Möglichkeit, der Verwendung meiner Daten jederzeit zu widersprechen.