A Maasai tells of life between tradition and modernity: education as the key to success


We want to make work more humane and ecological, therefore we donate - documented - revenue for afforestation. When Publisher Best of HR - Berufebilder.de® with books, on-demand eCourses and a news service we share 15 years of experience with our customers (Samsung, Otto, state institutions). By the Top20 -Blogger Simone Janson, referenced in ARD, ZEIT, Wikipedia .
Disclosure & Image Rights: The Kenyan Tourist Board has taken over the cost of accommodation and food on a search to Kenya. Picture material created with a free provided camera of our sponsor Olympus. Picture material created with a free provided camera of our sponsor Olympus. , Picture Location: Mbirikani, Makutano, Kenya.

Edwin Kisuto is Masai. He lived a life as shepherd and nomad and in simple, windowless huts. The fact that he was forced by the police to go to school changed his life. A report on the dichotomy between Traditon and modernity.

A Massai tells of life between tradition and modernity: education as the key to success OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Tip: Text as PDF (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!


More knowledge - PDF download, eCourses or personal advice

Here writes for you: Simone Janson is a publisher, German Top20 blogger and HR communication consultant. Profile

From the straw hut to the eMail

Overview

The Masai huts are simple: two beds of straw and skins and a fire pit. A small hole as a window and the entrance resembles a small labyrinth to ward off enemies.

Tip: Text as PDF (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!

Edwin Kisuto is 28 and grew up like that. Because Edwin is Maasai. Today he owns a cell phone, one eMailAddress and a driver's license. He transfers his money with the mobile payment system MPESA. And he would like to travel to America.

Not much thought of education

Overview

His life has changed radically by the fact that one day men came to his village and determined that every family has to send a child to school.

For the Masai did not think much of schooling. They lived from cattle-raising and moved about. To send a child to school was therefore a punishment for her: "When a child left, it might never come back," says Edwin.

A Maasai tells of life between tradition and modernity: education as the key to Maasai's success

Tip: Text as PDF (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!

School as punishment?

Overview

Therefore, they had to force the Maasai. Edwin remembers well that the men came with policemen to his village to pick him up. Edwin had been selected by his father: "I thought they wanted to punish me," he says. He had to walk five kilometers every morning and five kilometers in the evening: "I was away all day."

Edwin resisted his punishment for a long time: "At some point, however, I understand that school is a good thing, that I'm really learning something here - and then I was really good because I wanted to achieve something."

Scholarship for high school

Overview

So good that he was chosen to go to High School after primary school: "My parents could only have afforded that if they had sold a bull or a sheep," says Edwin. But Edwin was lucky: he got a scholarship for gifted students.

And even more: Scholarship provider Richard Bonham hired him even as a driver and financed him the necessary driving license. For that he had to go to Nairobi for a few weeks - the first time in a big city: "I had a constant cough because the air was so bad," he says.

Tip: Text as PDF (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!

Mattresses are way too soft

Overview

Also with a different normality our everyday life Edwin has problems - for example with mattresses: "At the beginning I was completely shocked, how soft they are," he reports. And even today, he prefers sleeping in the village on fur beds.

In general, he avoids trying to tell his parents what the modern world looks like: "They should not think they are in a bad way," he says.

Life between tradition and modernity

Overview

At such moments, the young Masai is reminded of how torn between his original, traditional way of life and modernity, he has also chased lions as an initiation deity, and the pride of his roots and traditions is clearly pointed out to him.

On the other hand, he also does not want to go back to the traditional way of life and he is not married yet: "I'm late for a Maasai," he comments with a grin.

Tip: Text as PDF (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!

A Massai tells of life between tradition and modernity: education as the key to success M-PESA009

"My children should decide for themselves how they want to live"

Overview

Perhaps this contradiction is not unusual for his generation. As you can see in the area around Mbirikani, more and more Masai are starting from the traditional way of life, settling, planting plants and opening shops.

His children, says Edwin, are said to be at home in both worlds: in any case, he wants to educate them in a traditional way, but they should also go to school. "My children should be able to decide for themselves how they want to live."

A Maasai tells of life between tradition and modernity: education as the key to Maasai's success

Tip: Text as PDF (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!


More knowledge - PDF download, eCourses or personal advice

Overview


Offline download: Download this text as PDF - Read usage rights, Because we do not automatically submit the title of this text for privacy reasons: When buying in "interests" the title register if support is needed. After buying text exclusively Download at this URL (please save).

3,35 Book now


Your eCourse on Demand: Choose your personal eCourse on this or another desired topic, As a PDF download. Up to 30 lessons with each 4 learning task + final lesson. Please enter the title under "interests". Alternatively, we are happy to put together your course for you or offer you a personal regular eMailCourse including supervision and certificate - all further information!

16,20 Book now


Consultant packages: You want to increase your reach or address applicants as an employer? For these and other topics we offer special Consultant packages (overview) - For example, a personal phone call (price is per hour).

149,99 Book now


occupations pictures

You want to comment here? Please the Debate Rules comply, contributions must be unlocked. Your eMailAddress remains secret. More information on the use of your data and how you can counter this can be found in our Privacy Policy.

  1. To follow debate on this post
  2. All debates follow
  3. Debates per eMail subscribe (add link here!)
  1. Jerome

    Courage, courage, courage - and this is exactly what this blog helps. Thanks for that!

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

JaI would like to be regularly informed about the latest promotions & offers Newsletter be informed.

I hereby accept the Debate Rules and the Privacy policy with the possibility to contradict the use of my data at any time.

Zum Text

Besser Arbeiten, Infos nach Wunsch: Wir geben Ihnen Informationen, die Sie wirklich brauchen und engagieren uns für eine bessere und ökologische Arbeitswelt. Als Verlag Best of HR – Berufebilder.de® mit einem einzigartigen Buch-Konzept und eKursen bieten wir über 20 Jahre Erfahrung im Corporate Publishing – mit Kunden wie Samsung, Otto, staatlichen Institutionen. Verlegerin Simone Janson leitet auch das Institut Berufebilder Yourweb, das u.a. Stipendien vergibt, und gehört zu den 10 wichtigsten deutschen Bloggerinnen, referenziert in ARD, FAZ, ZEIT, WELT, Wikipedia.

Offenlegung & Bildrechte: Bildmaterial selbst erstellt von Verlag Best of HR – Berufebilder.de​®. Das Kenian Tourist Board hat die Kosten für Unterkunft und Verpflegung bei einer Recherchereise nach Kenia übernommen. 

Hier schreibt für Sie: Simone Janson ist Verlegerin, Beraterin und eine der 10 wichtigsten deutschen Bloggerinnen laut Blogger-Relevanz-Index. Sie ist außerdem Leiterin des Instituts Berufebilder Yourweb, mit dem sie Geld für nachhaltige Projekte stiftet. Laut ZEIT gehört ihr als Marke eingetragenes Blog Best of HR – Berufebilder.de® zu den wichtigsten Blogs für Karriere, Berufs- und Arbeitswelt. Mehr zu ihr im Werdegang. Alle Texte von Simone Janson.

  • Raus aus dem Hamsterrad {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Neue Gesetze für Gewinner {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • 20 Strategien für kreatives Problemlösen {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Gut Angezogen Unterwegs {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Weg mit dem Stress {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Mehr Geld sofort {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Sicher! So behalten Sie den Job {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • StartUp Exit vom Gründen zum Verkauf {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Die 20%-Methode mit der Sie alle Ziele erreichen {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Karriere im Umbruch {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Outplacement {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Konzentration steigern fokussieren & gewinnen {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Erfolg – Sichern Sie Ihre Position im Unternehmen für mehr Macht {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Wertschätzung {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Umgang mit Kritik {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Richtig geben statt nehmen {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Best Practice: Erfolgreich Managen {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Prinzip Hoffnung. Hochsensibel Introvertiert Emotional {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Achtsamkeit & Team-Konflikte lösen {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Rede Laut {+AddOn nach Wunsch}

Ein Massai erzählt vom Leben zwische Tradition & Moderne: Bildung als Schlüssel zum Erfolg

Bisher 5856 Leser, 1475 Social-Media-Shares Likes & Reviews (5/5) • Kommentare lesen & schreiben

Edwin Kisuto ist Massai. Er lebte ein Leben als Hirte und Nomade und in einfachen, fensterlosen Hütten. Dass er von der Polizei gezwungen wurde, zur Schule zu gehen, veränderte sein Leben. Ein Bericht über den Zwiespalt zwischen Traditon und Moderne.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Von der Stroh-Hütte zur eMail

Die Hütten der Massai sind einfach: Zwei Betten aus Stroh und Fellen und eine Feuerstelle. Ein kleines Loch als Fenster und der Eingang gleicht einem kleinen Labyrinth zur Abwehr von Feinden.

Edwin Kisuto ist 28 und so aufgewachsen. Denn Edwin ist Massai. Heute besitzt er ein Handy, eine eMail-Adresse und einen Führerschein. Er transferiert sein Geld mit dem Mobile-Payment-System MPESA. Und er würde gerne mal nach Amerika reisen.

Von Schulbildung nicht viel gehalten

Verändert hat sich sein Leben radikal dadurch, dass eines Tages Männer in sein Dorf kamen und bestimmten, dass jede Familie ein Kind zur Schule zu schicken hat.

Dennn die Massai hielten von Schulbildung nicht viel. Sie lebten von Viehzucht und zogen umher. Ein Kind zur Schule schicken zu müssen, war daher für sie eine Strafe: “Wenn ein Kind erstmal wegging, kam es vielleicht nie mehr zurück”, erzählt Edwin.

Schule als Strafe?

Daher mussten sie die Massai zwingen. Edwin erinnert sich nocht gut daran, dass die Männer mit Polizisten in sein Dorf kamen, um ihn abzuholen. Edwin war von seinem Vater ausgewählt worden: “Ich glaubte, die wollten mich bestrafen”, erzählt er. Fünf Kilometer musste er jeden Morgen laufen und Fünf Kilometer am abend: “Ich war den ganzen Tag weg.”

Tipp: Text als PDF (bitte Anleitung lesen!) oder zu diesem Text kompletten eKurs bzw, Reihe herunterladen. Aktionen oder News per Newsletter!

Lange wehrte sich Edwin gegen seine Strafe: “Irgendwann jedoch jabe ich verstanden, dass Schule etwas gutes ist, dass ich hier wirklich etwas lerne – und dann war ich auch richtig gut, weil ich etwas erreichen wollte.”

Stipendium für die High School

So gut, dass er ausgewählt wurde, um nach der Grundschule zur High Shool zu gehen: “Das hätten sich meine Eltern nur leisten können, wenn sie einen Bullen oder Schafe verkauft hätten”, berichtet Edwin. Aber Edwin hatte Glück: Er bekam ein Stipendium für besonders begabte Schüler.

Und mehr noch: Stipendiengeber Richard Bonham stellte ihn sogar als Fahrer ein und finanzierte ihm den dazu nötigen Führerschein. Dafür musste er für einige Wochen nach Nairobi – das erste mal in eine große Stadt: “Ich hatte ständig Husten, weil die Luft so schlecht wahr”, erzählt er.

Best of HR – Berufebilder.de®

Matratzen sind viel zu weich

Auch mit einer anderen Normaliät unsere täglichen Alltags hat Edwin Probleme – zum Beispiel mit Matratzen: “Anfang war ich völlig erschrocken, wie weich die sind”, berichtet er. Und auch heute noch schläft er im Dorf lieber auf denn Fellbetten.

Überhaupt vermeidet er strickt, seinen Eltern zu erzählen, wie die moderne Welt aussieht: “Sie sollen nicht denken, dass es ihnen schlecht geht”, sagt er.

Leben zwischen Tradition und Moderne

In solchen Momenten merkt man dem jungen Massai an, wie zerissen er zwischen seiner ursprünglichen, traditionellen Lebensweise und der Moderne ist: Einerseits hat er noch Löwen als Inititationsritus gejagt und man merk ihm den Stolz auf seine Wurzeln und Traditionen deutlich an.

Andererseits möchte er auch nicht zur traditionellen Lebensweise zurück und auch verheiratet ist er bislang nicht: “Ich bin für einen Massai spät dran”, kommentiert er mit einem Grinsen.

Massai
M-PESA009

“Meine Kinder sollen selbst entscheiden, wie sie leben wollen”

Vielleicht ist dieser Widerspruch für seine Generation aber auch nichts Ungewöhnliches. Wie man in der Gegend um Mbirikani sehen kann, kehren sich immer mehr Massai ab von der traditionellen Lebensweise, werden Sesshaft, bauen Pflanzen an und eröffnenen Läden.

Seine Kinder, sagt Edwin, sollen einmal in beiden Welten zu Hause sein: Auf jeden Fall möchte er sie auf tradionelle Weise erziehen, aber sie sollen auch zur Schule gehen. “Meine Kinder sollen einmal selbst entscheiden können, wie sie leben wollen.”

Massai

Text als PDF kaufen

Diesen Text als PDF erwerben (nur zur eigenen Nutzung ohne Weitergabe gemäß AGB): Bitte schicken Sie uns eine eMail mit gewünschten Titel an support [at] berufebilder.de, wir schicken das PDF dann umgehend zu. Sie können auch Text-Reihen erwerben.

3,99 Jetzt buchen

Mehr erfahren – unsere Bücher zum Thema

Oder für wenig mehr direkt ganzes Buch oder eKurs zu diesem Thema kaufen, dazu weiterlesen. Hier finden Sie eine passende Auswahl.

eKurs on Demand kaufen

Bis zu 30 Lektionen mit je 4 Lernaufgaben + Abschlusslektion als PDF-Download. Bitte schicken Sie uns eine eMail mit gewünschten Titel an support [at] berufebilder.de. Alternativ stellen wir gerne Ihren Kurs für Sie zusammen oder bieten Ihnen einen persönlichen regelmäßigen eMail-Kurs – alle weiteren Informationen!

19,99 Jetzt buchen

  • buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review

  • buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review

  • buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review

  • buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review

Eine Antwort zu „Ein Massai erzählt vom Leben zwische Tradition & Moderne: Bildung als Schlüssel zum Erfolg“

  1. Mut, Mut, Mut – und genau dabei hilft dieses Blog. Danke dafür!

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.

Ja, ich möchte regelmäßig über die neusten Aktionen & Angebote per Newsletter informiert werden.

Hiermit akzeptiere ich die Debatten-Regeln und die Datenschutzbedingungen mit der Möglichkeit, der Verwendung meiner Daten jederzeit zu widersprechen.

EnglishDeutsch