Selling success with networking and small talk: sympathy counts


Work well, plant 500 trees! We make the working world more humane and ecological, e.g. through our well documented Engagement for Climate Protection. As Book Publisher Best of HR – Berufebilder.de® with a unique Book Concept and eCourses we offer over 20 years of experience in Corporate Publishing - with Clients like Samsung, Otto, Governmental Institutions. From the Top 20-Blogger Simone Janson, referenced in ARD, ZEIT, WELT, Wikipedia .
Copyright:  Artwork created as part of a free collaboration with Shutterstock. ,

Regardless of the environment in which we operate or in which industry we operate: no success without a network - neither professional nor private. Skilled small talk helps to get in touch more easily and market yourself better. Best of HR – Berufebilder.de®

Here writes for you:

 

Oliver Schumacher Oliver SchumacherOliver Schumacher is sales trainer and speaker.

  Profile

From the author:

Read


Read


Read


Read


Sympathy for the think-tank

As soon as two strange people meet for the first time, a sympathy test is unconsciously carried out. Within a matter of seconds, thought-books are opened:

Either sympathetic or unsympathetic and thus automatically the generalization in competent or incompetent. This evaluation reflex is based on the human primal instincts that our early ancestors needed to survive.

Friend or foe?

When people who were fiercely at that time met, people had to decide immediately whether they were a friend or a foe - with the corresponding consequences such as attack or flight.

Tip: Text as PDF (please read the instructions!) Download or for a little more Book on the topic with discount or eCourse book. Actions or news via Newsletter!

If two strange people meet each other today, the first impression is very quickly shaped by the expression of the body (such as body posture, facial expression, gesture) and clothing. Or on the phone, for example, by the voice itself, as well as the first words.

The fear of rejection

The fear of rejection keeps many people from seeking contact with other people. For the following reasons:

  • What is to be said of cleverness?
  • How should we react if the person who is addressed reacts differently than desired?
  • What do the others think when they see that you are looking for a stranger?

Often something new

It is quite common for two colleagues to go to a congress or a seminar, sit side by side - and in the evening on the way home, they have not even met a new person, but actually have only remained together.

Some may object that they are not afraid to speak to strangers at events. Who likes to admit that they're scared? This inability to have inhibitions when speaking to people is often talked about nicely, for example with “I just don't like speaking to strangers!” or "I don't need to speak to anyone!".

Inhibitions are expensive!

In the business world, inhibitions are the most expensive thing there is. Because while one speaks unobtrusively with many people and “networks”, another, who is perhaps even more interesting, stays below his possibilities because he stays alone or always in the same circles.

Tip: Text as PDF (please read the instructions!) Download or for a little more Book on the topic with discount or eCourse book. Actions or news via Newsletter!

But people now buy from people. And customers can only buy from those who know them, or at least recommend them.

 People buy from people

As a rule, a person is very uncomfortable with strangers when, for example, they want to sell something to others immediately during the break discussions. That is why it is elementary, not with the attitude “I want to sell something - let’s see who I can sell to today!” going to events, but with the mindset “Let's see what 5 interesting people I’ll meet today.”

On the one hand, in the latter variant, the goal is towards strangers who are clearly appreciative, and on the other hand it is set at 5. If you make a few more contacts right away, you do not run the risk of sticking to the whole event at the first contact, but maybe after a few minutes or in the next break contact another stranger.

Find common ground

Addressing is very easy if you address similarities. For example, “How did you like the last lecture?” or “And, could you take something from the event with you?”.

It is also conceivable to go to a bar table, where only (still) strangers are romping, with the sentence "Hello, may I stand by?" But also addressing other people in the event rooms, for example in the canteen or on the way to or from the toilet or the parking lot, is also conceivable.

Tip: Text as PDF (please read the instructions!) Download or for a little more Book on the topic with discount or eCourse book. Actions or news via Newsletter!

Talking is silver, listening is gold!

It is important to let the conversation partner talk - and not to play too much into the foreground. People like to talk about themselves, or about others. The more you listen to your conversation partner seriously and interested, the more comfortable it will feel.

And as soon as the conversation comes to an end, the exchange of business cards can be addressed quite aggressively: If someone in the group says, "What do you think if we exchange business cards again briefly?" reaches into his inside pocket to take out his business cards, and all too often others do the same for him.

The aftermath

Later in the office, there is more to research about the person: Can you network with them, for example via XING or LinkedIn? Are there any professional links to discuss them in a telephone call?

If, therefore, the telephone conversation is made following the personal conversation, the conversation is significantly easier. For now there are first similarities, namely the entertainment at the event. This means that the person who is called is more likely to be much more interested and sympathetic.

Tip: Text as PDF (please read the instructions!) Download or for a little more Book on the topic with discount or eCourse book. Actions or news via Newsletter!


More knowledge - PDF download, eCourse on demand or personal advice


Offline download: Download this text as PDF -  Read usage rights, Because we do not automatically submit the title of this text for privacy reasons: When buying in "interests" the title register if support is needed. After buying text exclusively Download at this URL (please save). Or for a little more directly an entire book or eCourse with this text buy, read on.

3,99 Book now


Your eCourse on Demand: Choose your personal eCourse on this or another desired topic, As a PDF download. Up to 30 lessons with each 4 learning task + final lesson. Please enter the title under "interests". Alternatively, we are happy to put together your course for you or offer you a personal regular eMailCourse including supervision and certificate - all further information!

19,99 Book now


Consultant packages: You want to increase your reach or address applicants as an employer? For these and other topics we offer special Consultant packages (overview) - For example, a personal phone call (price is per hour).

179,99 Book now



You want to comment here? Please the Debate Rules comply, contributions must be unlocked. Your eMailAddress remains secret. More information on the use of your data and how you can counter this can be found in our Privacy Policy.

  1. To follow debate on this post
  2. All debates follow
  1. Heike Brinkmann

    RT @SiLoers: Better Selling: Success through Small Talk - Exciting contribution7rZr4GBMuE #Customer Recovery #Vertrieb

  2. Silke Loers

    Better Selling: Success through Small Talk - Exciting contribution7rZr4GBMuE #Customer Recovery #Vertrieb

  3. Competencepartner

    Sell ​​better through networking - 1/3: Success through small talk: Regardless of the ... - Exciting contributionkvEcejccRc #Profession # Education

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Ja, I would like to be informed about the latest promotions and offers via Newsletter be informed.

I hereby accept the Debate Rules and the Privacy policy with the possibility to contradict the use of my data at any time.

Unabhängig davon, in welchem Umfeld wir uns bewegen oder in welcher Branche wir tätig sind: Ohne Netzwerk kein Erfolg – weder beruflich noch privat. Ein gekonnter Smalltalk hilft dabei, leichter in Kontakt zu treten und sich selbst besser zu vermarkten.

Best of HR – Berufebilder.de®

Sympathietest für die Denkschublade

Sobald sich zwei fremde Menschen zum ersten Male begegnen, wird unbewusst ein Sympathietest vollzogen. Binnen Bruchteilen von Sekunden werden Denkschubladen geöffnet:

Entweder sympathisch oder unsympathisch und damit auch automatisch die Verallgemeinerung in kompetent oder inkompetent. Dieser Bewertungsreflex beruht auf die menschlichen Urinstinkte, die unsere frühen Vorfahren zum Überleben zwingend brauchten.

Freund oder Feind?

Tipp: Sie können diesen Text auch als PDF oder einen eKurs zum Thema herunterladen. Im Shop finden Sie zudem spannende Rabatt-Deals, mehr Angebote & News im Newsletter! (Werbung)

Wenn sich damals wildfremde Menschen begegneten, musste umgehend entschieden werden, ob es sich um einen Freund oder Feind handelte – mit den entsprechenden Konsequenzen wie Angriff oder Flucht.

Treffen heutzutage zwei fremde Menschen aufeinander, ist der erste Eindruck sehr schnell vom Körperausdruck (wie Körperhaltung, Mimik, Gestik) und der Kleidung geprägt. Oder auch am Telefon beispielsweise durch die Stimme selbst, sowie den ersten Worten.

Die Angst vor Ablehnung

Die Angst vor Ablehnung hält viele Menschen davon ab, Kontakt mit anderen Menschen zu suchen. Und zwar aus folgenden Gründen:

Öfter mal was Neues

Es ist durchaus üblich, dass zwei Kollegen zu einem Kongress oder einem Seminar gehen, sich nebeneinander setzen – und abends bei der Heimreise bemerken, dass sie gar keinen neuen Menschen kennen gelernt haben, sondern eigentlich nur untereinander geblieben sind.

Manch einer wird vielleicht einwenden, dass er doch keine Angst davor habe, auf Veranstaltungen fremde Menschen anzusprechen. Wer gibt auch schon gerne zu, dass er Angst hat? Häufig redet man sich dieses Unvermögen, Hemmungen bei der Ansprache zu haben, schön, beispielsweise mit “Das Ansprechen von Fremden liegt mir einfach nicht!” oder “Ich habe es doch gar nicht nötig, andere anzusprechen!”.

Hemmungen sind teuer!

Gerade in der Geschäftswelt sind Hemmungen das teuerste, was es gibt. Denn während der eine unaufdringlich mit vielen Menschen spricht und “netzwerkt”, bleibt ein anderer, der vielleicht sogar noch viel interessanter ist, unter seinen Möglichkeiten, weil er alleine bzw. immer in denselben Kreisen bleibt.

Doch Menschen kaufen nun mal von Menschen. Und Kunden können nur von denen kaufen, die sie kennen, bzw. diese zumindest empfehlen.

 Menschen kaufen von Menschen

In der Regel fällt ein Mensch sehr unangenehm bei Fremden auf, wenn dieser beispielsweise sofort in den Pausengesprächen anderen etwas verkaufen will. Darum ist es elementar, nicht mit der Einstellung “Ich will was verkaufen – mal sehen, wem ich heute was andrehen kann!” zu Veranstaltungen zu gehen, sondern mit der Denkhaltung “Mal sehen, welche 5 interessanten Menschen ich heute kennen lernen werde.”

Zum einen ist in der letztgenannten Variante das Ziel deutlich wertschätzender Fremden gegenüber, und zum anderen mit 5 festgelegt. Wer sich nämlich gleich ein paar mehr Kontakte vornimmt, läuft nicht der Gefahr, beim ersten Kontakt gleich die ganze Veranstaltung “kleben” zu bleiben, sondern vielleicht nach ein paar Minuten, oder in der nächsten Pause einen weiteren Fremden anzusprechen.

Gemeinsamkeiten finden

Sehr leicht gelingt die Ansprache, wenn man Gemeinsamkeiten thematisiert. Beispielsweise “Wie fanden sie den letzten Vortrag?” oder “Und, konnten Sie schon etwas von der Veranstaltung mitnehmen?”.

Denkbar ist auch der Gang an einen Stehtisch, an welchen sich ausschließlich (noch) fremde Menschen tummeln, mit dem Satz “Guten Tag, darf ich mich dazustellen?” Aber auch das Ansprechen von anderen Leuten in den Veranstaltungsräumen beispielsweise in der Kantine oder auf den Wegen von bzw. zur Toilette oder dem Parkplatz sind denkbar.

Reden ist Silber, zuhören ist Gold!

Wichtig ist es, den Gesprächspartner reden zu lassen – und sich nicht selbst zu sehr in den Vordergrund zu spielen. Menschen reden gerne von sich selbst, oder aber von anderen. Umso mehr Sie Ihrem Gesprächspartner ernsthaft und interessiert zuhören, umso wohler wird sich dieser fühlen.

Und sobald das Gespräch dem Ende zugeht, kann durchaus offensiv der Austausch von Visitenkarten angesprochen werden: Wenn einer in der Runde mit den Worten “Was halten Sie davon, wenn wir nochmal kurz Visitenkarten austauschen?” in seine Innentasche greift, um seine Visitenkarten hervorzuholen, dann machen ihm das auch nur allzu oft andere bestätigend nach.

Der Nachgang

Später im Büro ist dann mehr über die Person zu recherchieren: Kann man sich mit ihr vernetzen über beispielsweise XING oder LinkedIn? Gibt es vielleicht berufliche Anknüpfungspunkte, um in einem Telefonat diese zum thematisieren?

Wird nun also im Nachgang zu dem persönlichen Gespräch zum Telefon gegriffen, fällt der Gesprächseinstieg deutlich leichter. Denn nun liegen erste Gemeinsamkeiten vor, nämlich die Unterhaltung auf der Veranstaltung. Dadurch wird der Angerufene mit hoher Wahrscheinlichkeit deutlich interessierter und wohlwollender zuhören.


Top Bücher zum Thema

Text als PDF lesen

Diesen Text als PDF erwerben (nur zur eigenen Nutzung ohne Weitergabe gemäß AGB): Bitte schicken Sie uns nach dem Kauf eine eMail mit gewünschten Titel an support@berufebilder.de, wir schicken das PDF dann umgehend zu. Sie können auch Text-Reihen erwerben.

4,99Kaufen

eKurs on Demand buchen

Bis zu 30 Lektionen mit je 4 Lernaufgaben + Abschlusslektion als PDF-Download. Bitte schicken Sie uns nach dem Kauf eine eMail mit gewünschten Titel an support@berufebilder.de. Alternativ stellen wir gerne Ihren Kurs für Sie zusammen oder bieten Ihnen einen persönlichen regelmäßigen eMail-Kurs – alle weiteren Informationen!

29,99Kaufen

Individuelles eBook nach Wunsch

Falls unser Shop Ihnen nicht Ihr Wunschthema bietet: Wir stellen gerne ein Buch nach Ihren Wünschen zusammen und liefern in einem Format Ihrer Wahl. Bitte schreiben Sie uns nach dem Kauf unter support@berufebilder.de

79,99Kaufen

Corporate Publishing und Beratung

Sie wollen publizieren, Ihre Reichweite erhöhen oder als Arbeitgeber Bewerber ansprechen? Für diese und weitere Themen bieten wir spezielle Berater-Pakete (Übersicht) – zum Beispiel ein persönliches Telefonat (Preis gilt pro Stunde).

299,00Kaufen