BAföG: Grant period and update request



Previous PartNext part



We are moved by the idea to make the world of work more human - without constant pressure for efficiency, stress and fear. As Publisher Best of HR - Berufebilder.de® with podcast, eLearning-on-demand offers and news service we share 15 years of experience with our customers (Samsung, Otto, state institutions). By the Top20 female blogger and consultant Simone Janson, referenced in ARD, ZEIT, Wikipedia .
Copyright: Artwork created as part of a free collaboration with Shutterstock. ,

Grant period is the period in which you receive BAföG. Because the BAföG is granted only for a limited period - just the approval period. Two months before the expiry of the period of authorization, a follow-up application must be made if interruption of payments is to be prevented. BAföG: Grant period and update request bafög

Tip: Text as PDF or podcast (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!


More knowledge - Podcast, PDF download, eCourse or personal advice

Here writes for you: Simone Janson is a publisher, German Top20 blogger and HR communication consultant. Profile

Important NOTE

This entry contains content and information that may be out of date, eg due to legal or statistical changes. Because it can still be helpful to get an overview of the topic, you can still find it here.

How is the authorization period set?

Overview

The authorization period is usually set by the Office to 12 months. This is always the case when the application has been submitted in time for the start of the study (or training).

Tip: Text as PDF or podcast (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!

Otherwise, the period of authorization is chosen to end with one semester or one semester.

When does the authorization period begin?

Overview

The period of approval is also shortened if the type of funding changes after a shorter period than 12 months. This is mainly the case with the end of the promotion period. After that, you can only get a interest-bearing bank loan.

The starting date of the authorization period is the month of the application. This means that you have an influence on the beginning of the period of approval by submitting the application at a specific time.

Later date of the authorization period

Overview

In addition, it is possible that you yourself determine a later start of the approval period in the application.

Tip: Text as PDF or podcast (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!

However, the approval period must begin "promptly" to the month of application. However, a shift of two (maximum three) months should be possible. You can not, however, influence the end of the period of approval, which is determined by the BAföG Office in accordance with the law.

Which income is calculated?

Overview

To calculate the BAföG, your income from the period of approval is used. The income of parents is calculated differently.

In this calculation is not the approval period, but the penultimate calendar year prevail!

Why an update application?

Overview

When calculating the BAföG benefit, the income of your parents or spouse can also be included - the income earned in the penultimate calendar year prior to the application.

Tip: Text as PDF or podcast (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!

Since this is unfair, if they have suddenly changed the income of the person concerned (something by pension, sickness, unemployment), you have the option to request an update.

However, consider this well: If the BAföG Office has approved the application once, you can not undo it!

What happens during the update application?

Overview

In the update application, the expected income is now included in the invoice during the period of approval. This, in turn, can only be appreciated, so you will get your BAföG then only under reservation.

When it finally becomes clear how much your parent / spouse has earned, it will finally be calculated how much BAföG you should have received - and it may be that you still have to receive back payments or have to pay back your overpaid BAföG yourself. For cheating this application is therefore in no case!

Tip: Text as PDF or podcast (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!

Caution in the case of incorrect data

Overview

Caution, however, is required for false information: A BAföG application is not uncomplicated and Nobody is perfect - mistakes happen. But beware: that can be expensive! If you have received too much BAföG on the basis of false statements (whether they were intentionally or unintentionally made), you should repay this and hope that the BAföG office will not impose a fine.

In recent years numerous cases of BAföG fraud have been detected throughout Germany, as the BAföG office compares its data with the tax office. It is therefore strongly advised against deliberately making false statements in order to fraudulently commit to a higher BAföG.

Legal aid makes sense

Overview

Similarly, in such cases legal remedies, that is, a contradiction or a complaint against the BAföG Office, are not very meaningful: they represent themselves as insane and can certainly count on a fine.

Anyone who bows, especially with minor offenses, and admits his "guilt" can rather have the hope to hope for pity on the part of BAföG-Office - but this is certainly also dependent on the clerk. In addition, the BAföG office must be notified of a change in the income situation immediately. This does not only apply if the corresponding upper limits are exceeded.

Tip: Text as PDF or podcast (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!


More knowledge - Podcast, PDF download, eCourse or personal advice

Overview


Offline download: Download this text as PDF - Read usage rights, Because we do not automatically submit the title of this text for privacy reasons: When buying in "interests" the title register if support is needed. After buying text exclusively Download at this URL (please save).

3,35 Book now


Listen to Podcast & Download MP3: You can listen to this text for free, as member even without annoying popup, or download the MP3 for a fee - Read usage rights, After the purchase page refresh, then you will find the download link here. Because we do not automatically submit the title of this podcast for privacy reasons: When buying in "interests" the title register if support is needed.

3,35 Book now


Your eCourse on Demand: Choose your personal eCourse on this or another desired topic, As a PDF download. Up to 30 lessons with each 4 learning task + final lesson. Please enter the title under "interests". Alternatively, we are happy to put together your course for you or offer you a personal regular eMailCourse including supervision and certificate - all further information!

16,20 Book now


Consultant packages: You want to increase your reach or address applicants as an employer? For these and other topics we offer special Consultant packages (overview) - For example, a personal phone call (price is per hour).

149,99 Book now


occupations pictures

You want to comment here? Please the Debate Rules comply, contributions must be unlocked. Your eMailAddress remains secret. More information on the use of your data and how you can counter this can be found in our Privacy Policy.

  1. To follow debate on this post
  2. All debates follow
  3. Debates per eMail subscribe (add link here!)
  1. Joan

    Hallo,
    I have a question.
    If Bafög is rejected for a grant period 09 / 15-08 / 16 and one in two months decides to move out of the parental home eg 01 / 16 is then the fact that one moves out no longer relevant for the grant period? only for the next?
    LG Joana

  2. amy

    Hello

    I have an urgent question. and I would like to apply for a bafög now. When completing the form you have to fill in the period of application yourself (from ... to ...). So theoretically, can I directly enter the 3 years (from 8 / 2013 to 6 / 2016) in which I am doing the training? or is it possible to write only one year?

    • Simone Janson

      Hello Amy,
      the grant period always includes 12 months. Then a new application is made.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

JaI would like to be regularly informed about the latest promotions & offers Newsletter be informed.

I hereby accept the Debate Rules and the Privacy policy with the possibility to contradict the use of my data at any time.

Zum Artikel

Besser Arbeiten, Infos nach Wunsch: Wir geben Ihnen Informationen, die Sie wirklich brauchen und engagieren uns für eine bessere und ökologische Arbeitswelt. Als Verlag Best of HR – Berufebilder.de® mit einzigartigem Buchkonzept und eKursen bieten wir über 20 Jahre Erfahrung im Corporate Publishing – mit Kunden wie Samsung, Otto, staatlichen Institutionen. Verlegerin Simone Janson leitet auch das Institut Berufebilder Yourweb, das u.a. Stipendien vergibt, und gehört zu den 10 wichtigsten deutschen Bloggerinnen, referenziert in ARD, FAZ, ZEIT, WELT, Wikipedia.

Offenlegung & Bildrechte: Bildmaterial erstellt im Rahmen einer kostenlosen Kooperation mit Shutterstock. 

Hier schreibt für Sie:

Simone Janson ist VerlegerinBeraterin und eine der 10 wichtigsten deutschen Bloggerinnen laut Blogger-Relevanz-Index. Sie ist außerdem Leiterin des Instituts Berufebilder Yourweb, mit dem sie Geld für nachhaltige Projekte stiftet. Laut ZEIT gehört ihr als Marke eingetragenes Blog Best of HR – Berufebilder.de® zu den wichtigsten Blogs für Karriere, Berufs- und Arbeitswelt. Mehr zu ihr im Werdegang.

BAföG: Bewilligungszeitraum und Aktualisierungsantrag

Bewilligungszeitraum ist der Zeitraum, in dem Sie BAföG bekommen. Denn das BAföG wird immer nur für einen begrenzten Zeitraum gewährt – eben den Bewilligungszeitraum. Zwei Monate vor Ablauf des Bewilligungszeitraums ist ein Folgeantrag zu stellen, wenn eine Unterbrechung der Zahlungen verhindert werden soll.

bafög

Wie wird der Bewilligungszeitraum festgesetzt?

Üblicherweise wird der Bewilligungszeitraum vom Amt auf 12 Monate festgesetzt. Das ist immer dann der Fall, wenn man den Antrag rechtzeitig zu Beginn des Studiums (oder der Ausbildung) gestellt hat.

Sonst wird der Bewilligungszeitraum so gewählt, dass er mit einem Semester bzw. Schulhalbjahr endet.

Wann beginnt der Bewilligungszeitraum?

Der Bewilligungszeitraum wird auch dann verkürzt, wenn sich die Förderungsart nach kürzerer Zeit als 12 Monaten ändert: Das ist vor allem mit Ablauf der Förderungshöchstdauer der Fall. Danach kann man nur noch ein verzinstes Bankdarlehen erhalten.

Der Beginn des Bewilligungszeitraum ist der Antragsmonat. Damit haben Sie selbst Einfluss auf den Beginn des Bewilligungszeitraum dadurch dass Sie den Antrag zu einem bestimmten Zeitpunkt stellen.

Späterer Zeitpunkt des Bewilligungszeitraums

Darüber hinaus ist es möglich, dass Sie selbst einen späteren Beginn des Bewilligungszeitraum im Antrag bestimmen.

Tipp: Text als PDF (bitte Anleitung lesen!) oder zu diesem Text kompletten eKurs bzw, Reihe herunterladen. Aktionen oder News per Newsletter!

Allerdings muss der Bewilligungszeitraum “zeitnah” zum Antragsmonat beginnen. Eine Verschiebung um zwei (höchstens drei) Monate dürfte aber möglich sein. Auf das Ende des Bewilligungszeitraums können Sie dagegen keinen Einfluss nehmen, diesen legt das BAföG-Amt nach Maßgabe des Gesetzes fest.

Welches Einkommen wird angerechnet?

Zur Berechnung des BAföG wird Ihr Einkommen aus dem Bewilligungszeitraum herangezogen. Das Einkommen der Eltern wird anders angerechnet.

Bei dieser Berechnung ist nicht der Bewilligungszeitraum, sondern das vorletzte Kalenderjahr maßgebend!

Warum ein Aktualisierungsantrag?

Bei der Berechnung der BAföG-Leistung kann auch das Einkommen Ihrer Eltern bzw. Ihres Ehepartners miteinbezogen werden- und zwar das Einkommen, das im vorletzten Kalenderjahr vor der Antragstellung verdient wurde.

Da dies ungerecht ist, wenn sie die Einkommensverhältnisse der betreffenden Person plötzlich geändert haben (etwas durch Rente, Krankheit, Arbeitslosigkeit), haben Sie die Möglichkeit, einen Aktualisierungsantrag zu stellen.

Überlegen Sie sich das aber gut: Wenn das BAföG-Amt den Antrag einmal bewilligt hat, können Sie Ihn nicht wieder rückgängig machen!

Was passiert beim Aktualisierungsantrag?

Beim Aktualisierungsantrag wird nun das voraussichtliche Einkommen während des Bewilligungszeitraum in die Rechnung miteinbezogen. Dieses wiederum können Sie nur schätzen, daher bekommen Sie Ihr BAföG dann auch nur unter Vorbehalt.

Wenn dann endgültig feststeht, wie viel Ihre Eltern/Ihr Ehepartner verdient haben, wird endgültig berechnet, wie viel BAföG Sie hätten bekommen dürfen – und es kann sein, dass Sie noch Nachzahlungen bekommen oder aber zu viel gezahltes BAföG selbst zurückzahlen müssen. Für Schummeleien eignet sich dieser Antrag also auf keinen Fall!

Vorsicht bei falschen Angaben

Vorsicht ist hingegen bei falschen Angaben geboten: Ein BAföG-Antrag ist nicht unkompliziert und Nobody is perfect – Fehler passieren. Aber Achtung: Das kann teuer werden! Wenn Sie aufgrund falscher Angaben (ob diese beabsichtigt oder unbeabsichtigt gemacht wurden, kann hinterher keiner mehr nachvollziehen) zuviel BAföG bekommen haben, sollten Sie dies zurückzahlen und hoffen dass das BAföG-Amt kein Bußgeld verhängt.

In den vergangenen Jahren wurden – und es werden immer noch – zahlreiche Fälle von BAföG-Betrug im ganzen Bundesgebiet aufgedeckt, da das BAföG-Amt seine Daten mit dem Finanzamt abgleicht. Es ist daher dringend davon abzuraten, absichtlich falsche Angaben zu machen, um sich so ein höheres BAföG zu erschwindeln.

Rechtsbeihilfe sinnvoll

Ebenfalls wenig sinnvoll sind in solchen Fällen Rechtsbehelfe, also ein Widerspruch oder eine Klage, gegen das BAföG-Amt: Damit stellt man sich selbst als uneinsichtig dar und kann mit Sicherheit mit einem Bußgeld rechnen.

Wer sich, gerade bei kleineren Vergehen, beugt und seine “Schuld” eingesteht, kann da eher die Hoffnung haben, auf Mitleid von Seiten des BAföG-Amtes zu hoffen – dies ist aber sicher auch vom Sachbearbeiter abhängig. Außerdem ist dem BAföG-Amt eine Änderung der Einkommensverhältnisse sofort mitzuteilen. Das gilt nicht nur beim Überschreiten der entsprechenden Höchstgrenzen.

Text als PDF kaufen

Diesen Text als PDF erwerben: Bitte schicken Sie uns eine eMail mit gewünschten Titel an support [at] berufebilder.de, wir schicken das PDF dann umgehend zu.

3,99 Jetzt buchen

Bücher zum Thema

Oder für wenig mehr direkt ganzes Buch oder eKurs zu diesem Thema kaufen, dazu weiterlesen. Hier finden Sie eine passende Auswahl.

eKurs on Demand kaufen

Bis zu 30 Lektionen mit je 4 Lernaufgaben + Abschlusslektion als PDF-Download. Bitte schicken Sie uns eine eMail mit gewünschten Titel an support [at] berufebilder.de. Alternativ stellen wir gerne Ihren Kurs für Sie zusammen oder bieten Ihnen einen persönlichen regelmäßigen eMail-Kurs – alle weiteren Informationen!

19,99 Jetzt buchen

3 Antworten zu “BAföG: Bewilligungszeitraum und Aktualisierungsantrag”

  1. Joana sagt:

    Hallo,
    ich habe eine Frage.
    Wenn Bafög für einen Bewilligungszektraum abgelehnt wird 09/15-08/16 und man aber in zwei monaten entscheidet aus dem Elternhaus auszuziehen z.B. 01/16 ist dann die Tatsache das man auszieht nicht mehr für den Bewilligungszektraum relevant? erst für den nächsten?
    LG Joana

  2. amy sagt:

    hallo

    ich habe eine dringende frage. und zwar möchte ich jetzt gerne bafög beantragen. beim ausfüllen des formulars muss man an einer stelle selber den bewilligungszeitraum ausfüllen (vom … bis …). kann ich also theoretisch direkt die 3 jahre (vom 8/2013 bis 6/2016) eintragen in der ich die ausbildung mache? oder kann man da nur ein jahr hinschreiben?

    • Simone Janson sagt:

      Hallo Amy,
      der Bewilligungszeitraum umfasst immer 12 Monate. Dannach wird ein neuer Antrag gestellt.

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Ja, ich möchte regelmäßig über die neusten Aktionen & Angebote per Newsletter informiert werden.

Hiermit akzeptiere ich die Debatten-Regeln und die Datenschutzbedingungen mit der Möglichkeit, der Verwendung meiner Daten jederzeit zu widersprechen.

EnglishDeutsch
error: Warnung Der Inhalt ist geschützt!