Celebrity chef in New Zealand: multicultural in the kitchen


Work well, plant 500 trees! We make the Working World more Human and Ecological, so we donate Revenue for Certified Afforestation. As Publisher Best of HR - Berufebilder .de® with an unique Book Concept, on Demand eCourses and News Service we share 15 years of Experience with our Customers (Samsung, Otto, State Institutions). By the Top 20-Blogger Simone Janson, referenced in ARD, ZEIT, WELT, Wikipedia .
Disclosure & Image Rights: Picture material created with a free provided camera of our sponsor Olympus. The Dutch tourism company TravelEssence took over our costs for flights, domestic flights and food for a research trip to New Zealand. Image location: 2 High Street, Auckland, 1010, New Zealand.

Mark Sycamore has won several awards as one of New Zealand's best chefs. How did he do it? In the first part of the conversation he tells about his career, his travels and the international cooking culture at the other end of the world.

Celebrity chef in New Zealand: multicultural in the kitchen mark-sycamore2


Text as PDF, book or eCourse on the topic or personal advice

Here writes for you:

Simone Janson Simone JansonSimone Janson is publisher, German Top20 blogger and Consultant for HR communication.

Profile

Excursed from the island to the island

He looks calm and friendly, almost shy, when I meet him for an interview in his Kitchen Restaurant at the Hotel de Brett in Auckland's city center. In the library next door has just started the pre-dinner drink, in which the guests can get to know each other better, while Mark tells me his life story.

Originally from Halstead in Essex, England. Even with 10, it was clear for Mark that he wanted to become a cook: his big sister, 7, older than him, had made it his own. With 15 he had his first part-time job in gastronomy. With 18, he finished school and emigrated to New Zealand with his family.

Chef in the world's second-best hotel restaurant

There he completed a cooking lesson and worked in different places. Soon he began to take part in cooking contests and to gain a good reputation. 2004 he began at the Blanket Bay Lodge, which Condé Nast was the second-best hotel restaurant in the world. 2006 became Mark Cook of the Year in New Zealand.

Tip: Text as PDF (please read the instructions!) Download or for a little more Book on the topic with discount or eCourse book. Actions or news via Newsletter!

2008 was marketed as Chef's Chef. 2010, he spent several months in a hotel in Honkong during an exchange program. He then traveled through Vietnam, Cambodia, Thailand, Malaisia ​​for four months before joining the Hotel de Brett. His Kitchen Restaurant was 2011 among the finalists for New Zealand's Restaurant of the Year.

Sponsor: The research on this article was supported by TravelEssence, who paid the travel expenses to and in New Zealand as well as accommodation.

Celebrity chef in New Zealand: multicultural in the kitchen hotel-de-board

Multicultural in the kitchen

He always loved Asian cuisine, he says, and tried very hard on his travels. However, Asian cooking does not play a role in his own creations. Rather, Mark describes his cuisine as classical English with French influence. Very traditional. But, he adds mischievously, that is the good thing about New Zealand:

"The country does not actually have its own food culture, it brings together influences from all over the world. And so we can experiment freely with the different tastes - what luck! "

Tip: Text as PDF (please read the instructions!) Download or for a little more Book on the topic with discount or eCourse book. Actions or news via Newsletter!

Endure pressure and stress in the kitchen

For example, those who go to Europe for Italian food expect classic Italian cuisine, says Mark. In New Zealand, however, it is by no means uncommon for French, Thai and Vietnamese influences to join the Italian meal. "That's just really multiculturalism," laughs the likeable chef.

The multi-award winning New Zealand Spitzkoch Mark Sycamore, currently working at the Hotel de Brett, Auckland, reveals his secret in the interview: a conversation about his own quality requirements, the love of good food and how to reduce stress and stress in the kitchen withstand.

Celebrity chef in New Zealand: multicultural in the kitchen mark-sycamore1

Quality and healthy food: Love your Food!

Not only international influences and playing with different tastes are a feature of Marks Essen. Quality, naturalness and healthy food are one aspect that plays an important role in Mark's kitchen:

He works only with fresh seasonal ingredients. "Many people spend 20 dollars for a large portion of bad food. For the same money, you can also get less, but high-quality food, "is his motto and puts it in a nutshell:" Love your food! "

Tip: Text as PDF (please read the instructions!) Download or for a little more Book on the topic with discount or eCourse book. Actions or news via Newsletter!

Gluten free instead of rolls

This is something that I especially notice at breakfast: at first glance it seems a bit inconspicuous, it is missing, for example, rolls, sausage and eggs. But on closer inspection, Mark deliberately omitted these unhealthy ingredients:

Instead there is gluten-free bread, low-fat milk, muesli and jam, both homemade, sugar-poor muffins, only fresh fruit and freshly squeezed orange juice.

Celebrity chef in New Zealand: multicultural in the kitchen kitchen-restaurant-auckland

Stress because he loves what he does!

That sounds like a great job and Mark is really satisfied. Yes, he says slowly, he loves what he does - and you can tell that, "I work 12 hours a day, 60 hours a week, most of the time I stand - you can not do that, if you do do not like!"

Nevertheless, the kitchen is not a relaxed place, rather a "Crazy Place", a crazy place where you are constantly under pressure. "Our Team consists of only four people, a small kitchen so, but on some evenings we cook for up to 70 people. There has to be every move, "he says.

Tip: Text as PDF (please read the instructions!) Download or for a little more Book on the topic with discount or eCourse book. Actions or news via Newsletter!

Mark over his shoulder

However, it does not bother him that the kitchen is integrated into the restaurant so people can watch it while eating. "I cook for myself first, so that it meets my quality standards, and then for the guests. If they are happy, I am satisfied. "

If you want to watch Mark cooking while cooking, watch this video:


Video Note: If you don't see a video here, you have to activate the option "Watch videos" under "Privacy and Cookies" at the end of the page!


Text as PDF, book or eCourse on the topic or personal advice


Offline download: Download this text as PDF - Read usage rights, Because we do not automatically submit the title of this text for privacy reasons: When buying in "interests" the title register if support is needed. After buying text exclusively Download at this URL (please save). Or for a little more directly an entire book or eCourse with this text buy, read on.

3,99 Book now



Your eCourse on Demand: Choose your personal eCourse on this or another desired topic, As a PDF download. Up to 30 lessons with each 4 learning task + final lesson. Please enter the title under "interests". Alternatively, we are happy to put together your course for you or offer you a personal regular eMailCourse including supervision and certificate - all further information!

19,99 Book now


Consultant packages: You want to increase your reach or address applicants as an employer? For these and other topics we offer special Consultant packages (overview) - For example, a personal phone call (price is per hour).

179,99 Book now


occupations pictures

You want to comment here? Please the Debate Rules comply, contributions must be unlocked. Your eMailAddress remains secret. More information on the use of your data and how you can counter this can be found in our Privacy Policy.

  1. To follow debate on this post
  2. All debates follow
  1. Holger Froese

    Series - Professional & Life Pictures Worldwide: Celebrity Chef in New Zealand Tl. 1 - Multicultural in the Kitchen #Business

  2. Liane Wolffgang

    Series - Professional & Life Pictures Worldwide: Celebrity chef in New Zealand Tl. 1 - Multicultural in the kitchen: Mark Sycamore w ...

  3. Simone Janson

    Series - Professional & Life Pictures Worldwide: Celebrity chef in New Zealand Tl. 1 - Multicultural in the kitchen

Post a Comment

Your eMail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

JaI would like to be regularly informed about the latest promotions & offers Newsletter be informed.

I hereby accept the Debate Rules and the Privacy policy with the possibility to contradict the use of my data at any time.

Starkoch in Neuseeland: Multikulti in der Küche



Voriger TeilNächster Teil



Uns bewegt, die Arbeitswelt menschlicher zu gestalten – ohne ständigen Effizienzdruck, Stress und Angst. Als Verlag Best of HR – Berufebilder.de® mit Podcast, eLearning-on-Demand-Angebot und News-Dienst geben wir über 15 Jahre Erfahrung an unsere Kunden (u.a. Samsung, Otto, staatliche Institutionen) weiter. Von der Top20-Bloggerin und Beraterin Simone Janson, referenziert in ARD, ZEIT, Wikipedia.
Offenlegung & Bildrechte:  Bildmaterial erstellt mit einer kostenlos zur Verfügung gestellten Kamera unseres Sponsors Olympus. Das holländische Tourismus-Unternehmen TravelEssence unsere Kosten für Flug, Inlandsflüge und Verpflegung für eine Recherche-Reise nach Neuseeland übernommen. Bildmaterial erstellt mit einer kostenlos zur Verfügung gestellten Kamera unseres Sponsors Olympus. . Bild-Location: 2 High Street, Auckland, 1010, Neuseeland.

Mark Sycamore wurde als einer von Neuseelands besten Köchen mehrfach ausgezeichnet. Wie hat er das geschafft? Im ersten Teil des Gesprächs erzählt er von seinem Werdegang, seinen Reisen und die internationale Kochkultur am anderen Ende der Welt.

Starkoch in Neuseeland: Multikulti in der Küche mark-sycamore2

Tipp: Text als PDF oder Podcast (bitte Anleitung lesen!) oder zu diesem Text kompletten eKurs herunterladen. Regelmäßige Sonderaktionen oder News per Newsletter!


Mehr Wissen - Podcast, PDF-Download, eKurse oder persönliche Beratung

Hier schreibt für Sie: Simone Janson ist Verlegerin, deutsche Top20 Bloggerin und Beraterin für HR-Kommunikation. Profil

Ausgewandert von der Insel auf die Insel

Zur Übersicht

Er wirkt ruhig und freundlich, fast schon schüchtern, als ich mich mit ihm zum Interview in seinem Kitchen Restaurant im Hotel de Brett in Aucklands Innenstadt treffe. In der Bibliothek nebenan hat gerade der Pre-Dinner-Umtrunk begonnen, bei dem sich die Gäste besser kennenlernen können, während mir Mark seine Lebensgeschichte erzählt.

Tipp: Text als PDF oder Podcast (bitte Anleitung lesen!) oder zu diesem Text kompletten eKurs herunterladen. Regelmäßige Sonderaktionen oder News per Newsletter!

Ursprünglich stammt er aus Halstead im englischen Essex. Schon mit 10 stand für Mark fest, dass er Koch werden will: Die große Schwester, 7 Jahre älter als er, hatte es ihm vorgemacht. Mit 15 hatte er seinen ersten Teilzeitjob in der Gastronomie. Mit 18 beendete er die Schule und wanderte mit seiner Familie nach Neuseeland aus.

Koch im zweitbesten Hotelrestaurant der Welt

Zur Übersicht

Dort absolvierte er eine Kochlehre und arbeitete an verschiedenen Orten. Bald fing er an, an Kochwettbewerben teilzunehmen und sich dadurch einen guten Ruf zu erarbeiten. 2004 begann er in der Blanket Bay Lodge, das von Condé Nast als zweitbestes Hotelrestaurant der Welt ausgezeichnet wurde. 2006 wurde Mark Koch des Jahres in Neuseeland.

2008 wurde Mark zum Chefkoch befördert. 2010 verbrachte er im Rahmen eines Austauschprogamms einige Monate in einem Hotel in Honkong. Danach reiste er vier Monate lang durch Vietnam, Cambodia, Thailand, Malaisia, bevor er ins Hotel de Brett wechselte. Sein Kitchen Restaurant war 2011 unter den Finalisten für Neuseelands Restaurant of the Year.

Sponsor: Die Recherche zu diesem Beitrag wurde unterstützt durch TravelEssence, die die Reisekosten nach und in Neuseeland sowie die Unterbringung bezahlt haben.

Tipp: Text als PDF oder Podcast (bitte Anleitung lesen!) oder zu diesem Text kompletten eKurs herunterladen. Regelmäßige Sonderaktionen oder News per Newsletter!

Starkoch in Neuseeland: Multikulti in der Küche hotel-de-brett

Multikulti in der Küche

Zur Übersicht

Die asiatische Küche habe er immer geliebt, sagt er, und auf seinen Reisen sehr viel ausprobiert. In seine eigenen Kreationen spielt asiatische Kochkunst jedoch kaum eine Rolle. Vielmehr bezeichnet Mark seine Küche als klassisch englisch mit französischen Einfluss. Sehr tradtionell eben. Aber, fügt er verschmitzt hinzu, das sei ja das Gute an Neuseeland:

„Das Land hat eigentlich keine eigene Esskultur, hier kommen Einflüsse aus der ganzen Welt zusammen. Und daher können wir mit den verschiedenen Geschmäckern völlig frei experimentieren – was für ein Glück!“

Druck und Stress in der Küche aushalten

Zur Übersicht

Wer in Europa zum Beispiel italienisch Essen gehe, erwarte auch klassische italienische Küche, sagt Mark. In Neuseeland aber sei es keinesfalls unüblich, dass sich zu dem italienischen Essen auch französische, thailändische und vietnamesische Einflüsse gesellen. „Das ist eben echtes Multikulti,“ lacht der sympathische Koch.

Tipp: Text als PDF oder Podcast (bitte Anleitung lesen!) oder zu diesem Text kompletten eKurs herunterladen. Regelmäßige Sonderaktionen oder News per Newsletter!

Der mehrfach ausgezeichnete neuseeländische Spitzenkoch Mark Sycamore, der zur Zeit im Hotel de Brett, Auckland, arbeitet verrät im Interview sein Erfolgsgeheimnis: Ein Gespräch über die eigenen Qualitätsansprüche, die Liebe zu gutem Essen und darüber, wie man dem Druck und dem Stress in der Küche standhält.

Starkoch in Neuseeland: Multikulti in der Küche mark-sycamore1

Qualität und gesundes Essen: Love your Food!

Zur Übersicht

Nicht nur internationale Einflüsse und das Spielen mit unterschiedlichen Geschmacksrichtungen sind ein Merkmal von Marks Essen. Auch Qualität, Natürlichkeit und gesundes Essen ist ein Aspekt, der in Marks Küche eine große Rolle spielt:

Er arbeitet nur mit frischen Zutaten der Saison. „Viele Leute geben 20 Dollar aus für eine große Portion schlechtes Essen. Für das gleiche Geld kann man aber auch weniger, dafür aber qualitativ hochwertiges Essen bekommen“, lautet seine Devise und bringt es auf den Punkt: „Love your food!“

Tipp: Text als PDF oder Podcast (bitte Anleitung lesen!) oder zu diesem Text kompletten eKurs herunterladen. Regelmäßige Sonderaktionen oder News per Newsletter!

Glutenfrei statt Brötchen

Zur Übersicht

Das ist etwas, das mir besonders beim Frühstück auffällt: Auf den ersten Blick wirkt es etwas unscheinbar, es fehlen beispielsweise Brötchen, Wurst und Eier. Aber bei näherem Hinsehen hat Mark ganz bewusst auf diese ungesunden Zutaten verzichtet:

Stattdessen gibt es glutenfreies Brot, fettarme Milch, Müsli und Marmelade, beides selbstgemacht, zuckerarme Muffins, nur frisches Obst und frisch gepressten Orangen-Saft.

Starkoch in Neuseeland: Multikulti in der Küche kitchen-restaurant-auckland

Stress aushalten, weil er liebt was er tut!

Zur Übersicht

Das klingt nach einem tollen Job und tatsächlich wirkt Mark ausgesprochen zufrieden. Ja, sagt er gemählich, er liebe was er tut – und das merke man ihm wohl auch an: „Ich arbeite 12 Stunden am Tag, 60 Stunden in der Woche, die meiste Zeit stehe ich – das kann man nicht machen, wenn man es nicht mag!“

Tipp: Text als PDF oder Podcast (bitte Anleitung lesen!) oder zu diesem Text kompletten eKurs herunterladen. Regelmäßige Sonderaktionen oder News per Newsletter!

Dennoch sei die Küche kein entspannter Ort, ehr ein „Crazy Place“, ein verrückter Ort, an dem man ständig unter Druck stehe. „Unser Team besteht nur aus vier Leuten, eine kleine Küche also, aber an manchen Abenden kochen wir für bis zu 70 Leuten. Da muss jeder Handgriff sitzen“, berichtet er.

Mark über die Schulter schauen

Zur Übersicht

Dass die Küche offen in das Restaurant integriert ist, die Leute ihm also beim Essen zusehen können, stört ihn hingegen nicht. „Ich koche zuerst für mich selbst, so dass es meinen Qualitätsansprüchen genügt, und dann für die Gäste. Wenn die Glücklich sind, bin ich zufrieden.“

Wer Mark beim Kochen über die Schulter schauen will, kann sich dieses Video anschauen:


Tipp: Text als PDF oder Podcast (bitte Anleitung lesen!) oder zu diesem Text kompletten eKurs herunterladen. Regelmäßige Sonderaktionen oder News per Newsletter!


Mehr Wissen - Podcast, PDF-Download, eKurse oder persönliche Beratung

Zur Übersicht


Offline-Download: Diesen Text als PDF herunterladen –  Nutzungsrechte nachlesen. Da wir den Titel dieses Textes aus Datenschutzgründen nicht automatisch übermitteln: Beim im Kauf unter "Interessen" den Titel eintragen, falls Support nötig ist. Nach dem Kauf Text ausschließlich unter dieser URL herunterladen (bitte abspeichern).

3,35 Jetzt buchen


Podcast hören & MP3 downloaden: Sie können diesen Text kostenlos anhören, als Mitglied auch ohne störendes Popup, oder das MP3 gegen Bezahlung herunterladen –  Nutzungsrechte nachlesen. Nach dem Kauf Seite aktualisieren, dann finden Sie hier den Downloadlink. Da wir den Titel dieses Podcast aus Datenschutzgründen nicht automatisch übermitteln: Beim im Kauf unter "Interessen" den Titel eintragen, falls Support nötig ist.

3,35 Jetzt buchen


Ihr eKurs on Demand: Wählen Sie Ihren persönlichen eKurs zu diesem oder einem anderen Wunschthema. Als PDF-Download. Bis zu 30 Lektionen mit je 4 Lernaufgaben + Abschlusslektion. Bitte unter "Interessen" den Titel eintragen. Alternativ stellen wir gerne Ihren Kurs für Sie zusammen oder bieten Ihnen einen persönlichen regelmäßigen eMail-Kurs inklusive Betreuung und Zertifikat – alle weiteren Informationen!

16,20 Jetzt buchen


Berater-Pakete: Sie wollen Ihre Reichweite erhöhen oder als Arbeitgeber Bewerber ansprechen? Für diese und weitere Themen bieten wir spezielle Berater-Pakete (Übersicht) – zum Beispiel ein persönliches Telefonat (Preis gilt pro Stunde).

149,99 Jetzt buchen


berufebilder

Sie wollen hier kommentieren? Bitte die Debatten-Regeln einhalten, Beiträge müssen freigeschaltet werden. Ihre eMail-Adresse bleibt geheim. Mehr Informationen zur Verwendung Ihrer Daten und wie Sie dieser widersprechen können, finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

  1. Debatte zu diesem Beitrag folgen
  2. Allen Debatten folgen
  3. Debatten per eMail abonnieren (Link hier eintragen!)
  1. Holger Froese

    Serie – Berufs- & Lebensbilder weltweit: Starkoch in Neuseeland Tl. 1 – Multikulti in der K üche #Business

  2. Liane Wolffgang

    Serie – Berufs- & Lebensbilder weltweit: Starkoch in Neuseeland Tl. 1 – Multikulti in der Küche: Mark Sycamore w…

  3. Simone Janson

    Serie – Berufs- & Lebensbilder weltweit: Starkoch in Neuseeland Tl. 1 – Multikulti in der Küche

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Ja, ich möchte regelmäßig über die neusten Aktionen & Angebote per Newsletter informiert werden.

Hiermit akzeptiere ich die Debatten-Regeln und die Datenschutzbedingungen mit der Möglichkeit, der Verwendung meiner Daten jederzeit zu widersprechen.