[Bio] Social science data analyst: From study directly to self-employment


We are moved by the idea to make the world of work more human - without constant pressure for efficiency, stress and fear. As Publisher Best of HR - Berufebilder.de® with podcast, eLearning-on-demand offers and news service we share 15 years of experience with our customers (Samsung, Otto, state institutions). By the Top20 female blogger and consultant Simone Janson, referenced in ARD, ZEIT, Wikipedia .
Copyright: Images from our interview partner.

[Bio] Social-scientific data analyst: From study directly to self-employment [Bio] Social-scientific data analyst: From studies directly to self-employment

During my study of sociology (focus on: methods of empirical social research, social policy and theory and theory history) with a minor in economics (focus macroeconomics), I would have no self-employment imagine can. I wanted a quiet, secure job with interesting responsibilities - without having any concrete ideas about which ones.


More knowledge - eCourses or personal advice


But first, it comes differently, and second, as you think ...

Overview

After graduating, I had a temporary job and applied for it in parallel - still thinking of finding a good job as a permanent employee. However, I got the prospect of an exciting entry-level job. After some bureaucracy (ESF funding application including business plan, a few weeks waiting period, business registration) it finally started. Follow-up orders resulted from the first assignment - since then I work as a social science data analyst.

One of the most important experiences: as a self-employed person, you could not plan, control and assess everything in advance. I was fortunate that the one who advised me on the business plan could also use me as a consultant for his business consultancy.

Contacts even before the foundation

Overview

The contact with the other principal client existed already before foundation. So I did not have to start with a nerve-racking acquisition phase, but had orders from the beginning. In general, I have also made few acquisitions because I receive many follow-up assignments.

Tip: Text as PDF or podcast (please read the instructions!) Download or for a little more Text in the complete book with discount or book an eCourse on the topic book. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!

If customers are satisfied and the quality is right, it is possible to have hourly rates or fixed prices that you can live with. Up to now, the volumes ranged from small amounts to approx. 5000 euros per order.

How far does the work spectrum go?

Overview

Whether I compete with orders always depends on how narrow or broad the range of products is. Had thought in the initial euphoria, even more towards programming. I focus mainly on the statistical analysis and stick to VBA stuff.

VBA stands for Visual Basic for Applications. This allows macros, which automate small tasks, to be written to complex programs, Eg preparing and analyzing data, or checking the plausibility of user input. VBA is embedded in Office programs. So you program within Excel or Access, do not have to develop completely new software, but can build on the existing functions of these office applications.

Statistics

Overview

Otherwise, I create statistical evaluations with the statistics package SPSS. Here, too, automation has proven itself. Example: an international company interviews doctors in several countries. The evaluation of the first country is being redesigned with some effort. Through the programming, the evaluations of the other country data are then much faster and possible inconsistencies in the data can be intercepted automatically.

In doing so, I enjoy the freedom of timing and varied assignments from different fields. I do not have to, like For example, many project managers in market research institutes coordinate entire projects and mainly carry out "administrative work". I can concentrate more on evaluations and thereby apply my expertise, which I have mostly acquired during my studies. But there are also downsides: There is no "real" end of work, you have to be careful to create space and then really shut down.

I wish all those who go a similar way, good luck, courage and good experiences!

Tip: Text as PDF or podcast (please read the instructions!) Download or for a little more Text in the complete book with discount or book an eCourse on the topic book. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!


More knowledge - eCourses or personal advice

Overview


Offline download: Download this text as PDF - Read usage rights, Because we do not automatically submit the title of this text for privacy reasons: When buying in "interests" the title register if support is needed. After buying text exclusively Download at this URL (please save).

3,35 Book now


Listen to Podcast & Download MP3: You can listen to this text for free, as member even without annoying popup, or download the MP3 for a fee - Read usage rights, After the purchase page refresh, then you will find the download link here. Because we do not automatically submit the title of this podcast for privacy reasons: When buying in "interests" the title register if support is needed.

3,35 Book now


Your eCourse on Demand: Choose your personal eCourse on this or another desired topic, As a PDF download. Up to 30 lessons with each 4 learning task + final lesson. Please enter the title under "interests". Alternatively, we are happy to put together your course for you or offer you a personal regular eMailCourse including supervision and certificate - all further information!

16,20 Book now


Consultant packages: You want to increase your reach or address applicants as an employer? For these and other topics we offer special Consultant packages (overview) - For example, a personal phone call (price is per hour).

149,99 Book now


occupations pictures

You want to comment here? Please the Debate Rules comply, contributions must be unlocked. Your eMailAddress remains secret. More information on the use of your data and how you can counter this can be found in our Privacy Policy.

  1. To follow debate on this post
  2. All debates follow
  3. Debates per eMail subscribe (add link here!)

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

JaI would like to be regularly informed about the latest promotions & offers Newsletter be informed.

I hereby accept the Debate Rules and the Privacy policy with the possibility to contradict the use of my data at any time.

[Bio] Sozialwissenschaftlicher Daten-Analytiker: Vom Studium direkt in die Selbständigkeit


Uns bewegt, die Arbeitswelt menschlicher zu gestalten – ohne ständigen Effizienzdruck, Stress und Angst. Als Verlag Best of HR – Berufebilder.de® mit Podcast, eLearning-on-Demand-Angebot und News-Dienst geben wir über 15 Jahre Erfahrung an unsere Kunden (u.a. Samsung, Otto, staatliche Institutionen) weiter. Von der Top20-Bloggerin und Beraterin Simone Janson, referenziert in ARD, ZEIT, Wikipedia.
Bildrechte: Bildmaterial von unserem Interviewpartner.

[Bio] Sozialwissenschaftlicher Daten-Analytiker: Vom Studium direkt in die Selbständigkeit [Bio] Sozialwissenschaftlicher Daten-Analytiker: Vom Studium direkt in die Selbständigkeit

Während meines Studiums der Soziologie (Schwerpunkte: Methoden empirischer Sozialforschung, Sozialpolitik sowie Theorie und Theoriegeschichte) mit Nebenfach Volkswirtschaftslehre (Schwerpunkt Makroökonomik) hätte ich mir keine Selbständigkeit vorstellen können. Ich wollte einen ruhigen, sicheren Job mit interessanten Aufgaben – ohne konkrete Vorstellungen zu haben, welchen.


Mehr Wissen - eKurse oder persönliche Beratung


Doch erstens kommt es anders, und zweitens als man denkt...

Zur Übersicht

Nach dem Studium hatte ich zwar kurz eine befristete Unistelle und habe mich parallel dazu beworben – immer noch mit der Vorstellung, eine gute Stelle als Festangestellter zu finden. Jedoch erhielt ich die Aussicht auf einen spannenden Einstiegs-Auftrag. Nach etwas Bürokratie (ESF-Förderantrag inklusive Businessplan, einige Wochen Wartezeit, Gewerbeanmeldung) ging es endlich los. Aus dem ersten Auftrag resultierten Folgeaufträge – seitdem arbeite ich als sozialwissenschaftlicher Daten-Analytiker.

Eine der wichtigsten Erfahrungen: als Selbständiger war, dass man nicht alles vorausplanen, kontrollieren und abschätzen kann. Ich hatte Glück, dass derjenige, der mich beim Businessplan beraten hat, mich auch gleich als Consultant für seine Unternehmensberatung gebrauchen konnte.

Kontakte schon vor der Gründung

Zur Übersicht

Der Kontakt zu dem anderen Haupt-Auftraggeber bestand schon vor Gründung. Ich musste also nicht mit einer nervenaufreibenden Akquisephase beginnen, sondern hatte von Anfang an Aufträge. Ich habe insgesamt auch wenig Akquise gemacht, weil ich viele Folgeaufträge erhalte.

Tipp: Text als PDF oder Podcast (bitte Anleitung lesen!) herunterladen oder für wenig mehr Text im kompletten Buch mit Rabatt bzw. eKurs zum Thema buchen. Regelmäßige Sonderaktionen oder News per Newsletter!

Wenn Kunden zufrieden sind und die Qualität stimmt, sind dabei auf jeden Fall Stundensätze oder Festpreise möglich, von denen man leben kann. Die Volumina reichten bis jetzt von Kleinstbeträgen bis ca. 5000 Euro pro Auftrag.

Wie weit reicht das Arbeitsspektrum

Zur Übersicht

Ob ich bei Aufträgen Konkurrenz habe, kommt immer drauf an, wie eng oder weit das Angebotsspektrum reicht. Hatte in der Anfangseuphorie überlegt, noch stärker Richtung Programmierung zu gehen. Ich konzentriere mich vor allem auf die statistische Auswertungen und bleibe bei VBA-Sachen.

VBA steht für Visual Basic for Applications. Damit können Makros, die kleine Aufgaben automatisieren, bis hin zu komplexen Programmen geschrieben werden, die z. B. Daten aufbereiten und analysieren oder die Plausibilität von Benutzereingaben überprüfen. VBA ist in Office-Programme eingebettet. Man programmiert also innerhalb von Excel oder Access, muss keine vollkommen neue Software entwickeln, sondern kann auf den vorhandenen Funktionen dieser Office-Anwendungen aufbauen.

Statistik

Zur Übersicht

Ansonsten erstelle ich statistische Auswertungen mit dem Statistik-Paket SPSS. Auch hier haben sich Automatisierungen bewährt. Beispiel: eine international arbeitende Firma befragt Ärzte in mehreren Ländern. Die Auswertung des ersten Landes wird mit einigem Aufwand neu konzipiert. Durch die Programmierung gehen die Auswertungen der weiteren Länderdaten anschließend wesentlich schneller und mögliche Inkonsistenzen in den Daten können automatisiert abgefangen werden.

Dabei genieße ich die Freiheit der Zeiteinteilung und abwechslungsreiche Aufträge aus verschiedenen Gebieten. Ich muss nicht, wie z. B. viele Projektleiter in Marktforschungs-Instituten, ganze Projekte koordinieren und hauptsächlich "Verwaltungsarbeit" ausführen. Ich kann mich mehr auf Auswertungen konzentrieren und dadurch mein Fachwissen anwenden, das ich zum größten Teil im Studium erworben habe. Doch es gibt auch Schattenseiten: Es gibt keinen "echten" Feierabend, man muss sorgfältig darauf achten, sich Freiräume zu schaffen und dann auch wirklich abzuschalten.

Ich Wünsche allen, die einen ähnlichen Weg gehen, viel Erfolg, Mut und gute Erfahrungen!

Tipp: Text als PDF oder Podcast (bitte Anleitung lesen!) herunterladen oder für wenig mehr Text im kompletten Buch mit Rabatt bzw. eKurs zum Thema buchen. Regelmäßige Sonderaktionen oder News per Newsletter!


Mehr Wissen - eKurse oder persönliche Beratung

Zur Übersicht


Offline-Download: Diesen Text als PDF herunterladen –  Nutzungsrechte nachlesen. Da wir den Titel dieses Textes aus Datenschutzgründen nicht automatisch übermitteln: Beim im Kauf unter "Interessen" den Titel eintragen, falls Support nötig ist. Nach dem Kauf Text ausschließlich unter dieser URL herunterladen (bitte abspeichern).

3,35 Jetzt buchen


Podcast hören & MP3 downloaden: Sie können diesen Text kostenlos anhören, als Mitglied auch ohne störendes Popup, oder das MP3 gegen Bezahlung herunterladen –  Nutzungsrechte nachlesen. Nach dem Kauf Seite aktualisieren, dann finden Sie hier den Downloadlink. Da wir den Titel dieses Podcast aus Datenschutzgründen nicht automatisch übermitteln: Beim im Kauf unter "Interessen" den Titel eintragen, falls Support nötig ist.

3,35 Jetzt buchen


Ihr eKurs on Demand: Wählen Sie Ihren persönlichen eKurs zu diesem oder einem anderen Wunschthema. Als PDF-Download. Bis zu 30 Lektionen mit je 4 Lernaufgaben + Abschlusslektion. Bitte unter "Interessen" den Titel eintragen. Alternativ stellen wir gerne Ihren Kurs für Sie zusammen oder bieten Ihnen einen persönlichen regelmäßigen eMail-Kurs inklusive Betreuung und Zertifikat – alle weiteren Informationen!

16,20 Jetzt buchen


Berater-Pakete: Sie wollen Ihre Reichweite erhöhen oder als Arbeitgeber Bewerber ansprechen? Für diese und weitere Themen bieten wir spezielle Berater-Pakete (Übersicht) – zum Beispiel ein persönliches Telefonat (Preis gilt pro Stunde).

149,99 Jetzt buchen


berufebilder

Sie wollen hier kommentieren? Bitte die Debatten-Regeln einhalten, Beiträge müssen freigeschaltet werden. Ihre eMail-Adresse bleibt geheim. Mehr Informationen zur Verwendung Ihrer Daten und wie Sie dieser widersprechen können, finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

  1. Debatte zu diesem Beitrag folgen
  2. Allen Debatten folgen
  3. Debatten per eMail abonnieren (Link hier eintragen!)

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Ja, ich möchte regelmäßig über die neusten Aktionen & Angebote per Newsletter informiert werden.

Hiermit akzeptiere ich die Debatten-Regeln und die Datenschutzbedingungen mit der Möglichkeit, der Verwendung meiner Daten jederzeit zu widersprechen.