Minimum wage for dummies: Quickly explains what is really important


We are moved by the idea to make the world of work more human - without constant pressure for efficiency, stress and fear. As Publisher Best of HR - Berufebilder.de® with podcast, eLearning-on-demand offers and news service we share 15 years of experience with our customers (Samsung, Otto, state institutions). By the Top20 female blogger and consultant Simone Janson, referenced in ARD, ZEIT, Wikipedia .
Copyright: Artwork created as part of a free collaboration with Shutterstock. ,

To the 1. August 2010 introduced the minimum wage in the nursing sector in Germany. What reads in the media, like a decree from above, that the Cabinet just decides, is actually a complicated process from below. An overview of the minimum wage.

Minimum wage for dummies: Quickly explains what is really important Minimum wage for dummies: Quickly explains what is really important

Tip: Text as PDF or podcast (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!


More knowledge - Podcast, PDF download, eCourse or personal advice

Here writes for you: Simone Janson is a publisher, German Top20 blogger and HR communication consultant. Profile

Important NOTE

This entry contains content and information that may be out of date, eg due to legal or statistical changes. Because it can still be helpful to get an overview of the topic, you can still find it here.

Minimum wage? Abroad already long valid!

Overview

There is already a statutory minimum wage in various EU countries such as the UK, Ireland, Bulgaria or Luxembourg.

Tip: Text as PDF or podcast (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!

In Germany, the unions have long been calling for it, but here the autonomy of collective bargaining is firmly anchored in the Basic Law: this means that only the collective bargaining parties - employee and employer representatives - of an industry are allowed to regulate the level of wages.

Emotions instead of facts

Overview

But whoever now reads the media report on the subject of minimum wages gains a different impression. In the ARD, on the side of Plusminus, one is limited to presenting the admitted really lousy situation of low-wage receivers as emotionally as possible. Apart from a few nice numbers, there are hardly any facts.

Apart from the fact that I would also have a good example on the subject, it brings the clicks, but is not factually correct: Here low wages and minimum wages are lumped, even the examples are poorly chosen. Because the Employee Posting Act regulates since 2009 that the collective bargaining parties in nine sectors can negotiate minimum wages for the entire industry - mushroom pickers and hairdressers are not covered by the law.

From above instead of from below?

Overview

And Spiegelonline is happy about the minimum wages, which are from 1. August 2010 in the Pflegebranche apply: The article however sounds as if the Cabinet had just shortly decided. That is really a relatively complex decision-making process, SPON simply conceals.

Tip: Text as PDF or podcast (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!

But this quickly gives the wrong impression, the minimum wages are set by the government - which is simply not the case in Germany. With all understanding of the working conditions of journalists, I sometimes wish for a little more reflection and relatively short research.

Funded information on the topic

Overview

Because information on the subject is available on the net, although not necessarily quickly available at the touch of a button, clear and easy to read: The page http://www.mindestlohn.de of the German Trade Union Federation, for example, contains all kinds of information and current news on the subject. The prerequisite is, however, that you have already dealt with the subject, otherwise you get so quickly no overview.

Similar to the website of the? Federal Ministry of Labor and Social Affairs: Numerous up-to-date news on the subject, but they lack a relationship. Only after a call at the press site I find some more substantiated documents, which illustrate the connections in more detail. Only Wikipedia gives an excellent overview, but is incredibly long-winded.

What is the current regulation?

Overview

In Germany alone, the collective bargaining parties can set minimum wages for the entire industry, which are then also binding for employers who are not subject to the collective agreement - eg because the head office is abroad. The legal framework since 2009 offers the new version of the Posted Workers Act (AEntG).

Tip: Text as PDF or podcast (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!

Nine industries have been included in the protection of the Employees' Posting Act, including the construction industry, the roofing trade or the building cleaning. A special case is the Pflegebranche, because church and non-church employers operate side by side.

The proposal of a commission replacing trade unions and non-ecclesiastical employers also includes representatives of ecclesiastical care providers and their employees.

Who decides what?

Overview

The Commission can decide within the framework of the AEntG whether it proposes a minimum wage and whether it differentiates according to the type of activity, qualification or regionally. The Federal Ministry of Labor and Social Affairs can make the decision taken by the Commission binding by means of a legal ordinance for the entire Pflegebranche. This is exactly what happened:

The Cabinet has recently approved a corresponding regulation. The fixed pay lower limit of 8,50 Euro in the West and 7.50 Euro in the East already applies from 1. August 2010. This applies to all employees who mainly provide "basic care services" such as washing, dressing or climbing stairs. Excluded from the regulation, however, are household helpers, apprentices and trainees. Until 2013, the minimum amount should continue to rise in two stages.

Tip: Text as PDF or podcast (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!

Missing controls

Overview

But despite the legal obligation minimum wages are not always paid. According to the Federal Ministry of Labor and Social Affairs, 2009 1500 fines were initiated in the construction industry for breach of the minimum wage.

Reason: Missing controls. For the responsible authority, the financial control of undeclared work (FKS), there is a striking lack of personnel and no improvement is in sight.

9 sectors for minimum wage at a glance

Overview

The breaking of social cold or just a drop in the ocean? The Posted Workers Act currently lists 9 sectors where a general minimum wage is possible. In some it has already been implemented, not in others. This overview shows how high is the minimum wage in which industry really is.

  1. Care sector: The fixed lower wage limit of 8,50 Euro in the West and 7.50 Euro in the East is currently valid from 1. August 2010
  2. Construction: Pay between 9,25 € and 12,90 € per hour
  3. Demolition and dismantling: Here was the 31. December 2008 a minimum wage from 9,10 € to 11,96 €
  4. Dachdeckerhandwerk: Here employees get nationwide 10,60, from 01. January 2011 even 10,80 € in the hour
  5. Painting and varnishing: 11.25 € per hour gets a journeyman in the old federal states and Berlin, 9,50 € get unskilled in all Germany
  6. Electrical trade: Here there are in the hour 8,05 € in the east and 9,55 € in the west
  7. Postal services: Minimum wages for the sector were declared binding under the terms of the collective agreement with the Postal Minimum Order. The Postmindestlohnverordnung was, however, regarded by the Federal Administrative Court as unlawful and invalid
  8. Building cleaning: In the interior cleaning workers get 8,40 Euro in the west and 6,83 Euro in the east, 11,13 Euro in the west and 8,66 Euro in the east. From 1. January 2011, these rates are increased to 8,55 Euro (indoor cleaning West) or 7,00 Euro (indoor cleaning East) as well as 11,33 Euro (glass and facade cleaning West) or 8,88 Euro (glass and facade cleaning East). All of course, per hour
  9. Mining work on hard coal mines: You will get 11,17 € as an engineer or a specialist, XnUMX € in the hour
  10. Training and further education services according to the Second and Third Books Social Code: The collective bargaining parties have agreed on minimum wages between 7,60 € and 12,28 €. The required legal regulation has not yet been adopted.
  11. Waste management including street cleaning and winter service: Employees receive 8,02 € nationwide
  12. Laundry services in the commercial property business: Employees receive 7,51 € per hour in the west and 6,36 € in the east
  13. Security services: Collective bargaining parties negotiated minimum wages between 6,00 € - 8,32 €. The required ordinance has not yet been issued

Tip: Text as PDF or podcast (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!


More knowledge - Podcast, PDF download, eCourse or personal advice

Overview


Offline download: Download this text as PDF - Read usage rights, Because we do not automatically submit the title of this text for privacy reasons: When buying in "interests" the title register if support is needed. After buying text exclusively Download at this URL (please save).

3,35 Book now


Listen to Podcast & Download MP3: You can listen to this text for free, as member even without annoying popup, or download the MP3 for a fee - Read usage rights, After the purchase page refresh, then you will find the download link here. Because we do not automatically submit the title of this podcast for privacy reasons: When buying in "interests" the title register if support is needed.

3,35 Book now


Your eCourse on Demand: Choose your personal eCourse on this or another desired topic, As a PDF download. Up to 30 lessons with each 4 learning task + final lesson. Please enter the title under "interests". Alternatively, we are happy to put together your course for you or offer you a personal regular eMailCourse including supervision and certificate - all further information!

16,20 Book now


Consultant packages: You want to increase your reach or address applicants as an employer? For these and other topics we offer special Consultant packages (overview) - For example, a personal phone call (price is per hour).

149,99 Book now


occupations pictures

You want to comment here? Please the Debate Rules comply, contributions must be unlocked. Your eMailAddress remains secret. More information on the use of your data and how you can counter this can be found in our Privacy Policy.

  1. To follow debate on this post
  2. All debates follow
  3. Debates per eMail subscribe (add link here!)
  1. Social Ice Age

    Series - Quickly explains what's really important: Minimum wage for dummies - Part 3 (Simone Janso ... #Social # Cold

  2. Simone Janson

    Frisch Blogs: Serie - Quickly explains what is really important: Minimum wage for dummies - part 3

  3. Competencepartner

    Series - Quickly Explains What's Really Important: Minimum Wage for Dummies - Part 3: Breaking Up ...

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

JaI would like to be regularly informed about the latest promotions & offers Newsletter be informed.

I hereby accept the Debate Rules and the Privacy policy with the possibility to contradict the use of my data at any time.

Zum Text

Besser Arbeiten, Infos nach Wunsch: Wir geben Ihnen Informationen, die Sie wirklich brauchen und engagieren uns für eine bessere und ökologische Arbeitswelt. Als Verlag Best of HR – Berufebilder.de® mit einem einzigartigen Buch-Konzept und eKursen bieten wir über 20 Jahre Erfahrung im Corporate Publishing – mit Kunden wie Samsung, Otto, staatlichen Institutionen. Verlegerin Simone Janson leitet auch das Institut Berufebilder Yourweb, das u.a. Stipendien vergibt, und gehört zu den 10 wichtigsten deutschen Bloggerinnen, referenziert in ARD, FAZ, ZEIT, WELT, Wikipedia.

Offenlegung & Bildrechte:  Bildmaterial erstellt im Rahmen einer kostenlosen Kooperation mit Shutterstock. 

Hier schreibt für Sie: Simone Janson ist Verlegerin, Beraterin und eine der 10 wichtigsten deutschen Bloggerinnen laut Blogger-Relevanz-Index. Sie ist außerdem Leiterin des Instituts Berufebilder Yourweb, mit dem sie Geld für nachhaltige Projekte stiftet. Laut ZEIT gehört ihr als Marke eingetragenes Blog Best of HR – Berufebilder.de® zu den wichtigsten Blogs für Karriere, Berufs- und Arbeitswelt. Mehr zu ihr im Werdegang. Alle Texte von Simone Janson.

Mindestlohn für Dummies: Schnell erklärt, was wirklich wichtig ist

  • Top-Arbeitgeber finden {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Challenge – mit Mut Herausforderungen meistern {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Perfekte Bewerbung {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Gemeinsam im Team erfolgreich {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Selbstliebe lernen {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Besser Führen Fördern Coachen {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Die Ananas-Strategie – Networking für jeden Typ {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • The Boss Factor! Manche Menschen gewinnen immer {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Erfolg – Sichern Sie Ihre Position im Unternehmen für mehr Macht {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Multitasking! Alles gleichzeitig stressfrei schaffen {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • eCommerce – Chance für Unternehmen {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Sich richtig gut Verkaufen statt nur Bewerben – Geheime Tricks für die Jobsuche {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Lust & Leiden im Büro {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Richtig Lernen {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Widerstandsfähig durch jede Herausforderung {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Führen ohne Hierarchie – das Ende eines Erfolgsrezepts {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Strategisch richtig gut entscheiden {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Umsatz steigern & mehr Geld im Verkauf {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Gewohnheiten ändern {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Comeback! Wieder voll durchstarten {+AddOn nach Wunsch}

Zum 1. August 2010 wird in Deutschland der Mindestlohn in der Pflegebranche eingeführt. Was sich in den Medien liest wie eine Verordnung von oben, die das Kabinett mal eben beschließt, ist in Wirklichkeit ein komplizierter Prozess von unten. Ein Überblick zum Mindestlohn.

Best of HR – Berufebilder.de®

Mindestlohn? Im Ausland schon längst gültig!

In diversen EU-Staaten wie Großbritanien, Irland, Bulgarien oder Luxemburg gibt es bereits einen gesetzlich vorgeschriebenen Mindestlohn.

In Deutschland fordern ihn die Gewerkschaften seit langem, allerdings ist hier die Tarifautonomie fest im Grundgesetz verankert: Das bedeutet, dass alleine die Tarifparteien – Arbeitnehmer- und Arbeitgebervetreter – einer Branche die Höhe der Löhne regeln dürfen.

Emotionen statt Fakten

Wer sich aber nun die Medienberichterstattung zum Thema Mindestlohn durchliest, gewinnt einen anderen Eindruck. In der ARD, auf der Seite von Plusminus, beschränkt man sich darauf, die zugegeben wirklich miese Situation von Niedriglohn-Empfängern möglichst emotional darzustellen. Abgesehen von ein paar netten Zahlen gibt es kaum Fakten.

Davon abgesehen dass ich zu dem Thema auch noch ein gutes Beispiel hätte, bringt das zwar Klicks, ist aber sachlich nicht ganz korrekt: Hier werden Niedriglöhne und Mindestlöhne in einen Topf geworfen, auch die Beispiele sind schlecht gewählt. Denn das Arbeitnehmer-Entsendegesetzes regelt seit 2009, dass die Tarifparteien in neun Branchen Mindestlöhne für die gesamte Branche aushandeln können – Pilzpflücker und Friseure fallen nicht unter das Gesetz.

Von oben statt von unten?

Und Spiegel Online freut sich zwar über die Mindestlöhne, die ab 1. August 2010 in der Pflegebranche gelten: Der Artikel dazu klingt aber so, als habe das Kabinett mal eben kurz beschlossen. Dass in Wahrheit ein relativ komplexer Entscheidungsprozess steht, verschweigt SPON mal eben.

Tipp: Text als PDF (bitte Anleitung lesen!) oder zu diesem Text kompletten eKurs bzw, Reihe herunterladen. Aktionen oder News per Newsletter!

Dadurch entsteht aber schnell der falsche Eindruck, die Mindestlöhne werden von der Regierung vorgegeben – was in Deutschland einfach nicht der Fall ist. Bei allem Verständnis für die Arbeitsbedingungen von Journalisten wünsche ich mir doch manchmal etwas mehr Nachdenken und relativ kurzes Recherchieren.

Fundierte Infos zum Thema

Denn Informationen zu dem Thema gibt es im Netz, wenn auch nicht unbedingt per Knopfdruck schnell verfügbar, übersichtliche und mundgerecht: Die Seite http://www.mindestlohn.de des Deutschen Gewerkschaftsbundes beispielsweise enthält allerlei Informationen und aktuelle News zum Thema. Voraussetzung ist aber, dass man sich bereits mit dem Thema beschäftigt hat, sonst bekommt man so schnell keinen Überblick.

Ähnlich sieht das mit der Website des? Bundsministeriums für Arbeit und Soziales aus: Zahlreiche aktuelle Meldungen zum Thema, die aber einen Bezug zueinander vermissen lassen. Erst nach Anruf bei der Pressestelle finde ich auch etwas fundiertere Dokumente, die die Zusammenhänge näher verdeutlichen. Einzig Wikipedia gibt einen hervorragenden Überblick, der aber unglaublich langatmig ist.

Wie sieht die bisherige Regelung aus?

In Deutschland können alleine die Tarifparteien auch Mindestlöhne für die gesamte Branche festlegen, die dann auch für Arbeitgeber verbindlich sind, die nicht dem Tarifvertrag unterliegen – z.B. weil der Firmensitz im Ausland ist. Den rechtlichen Rahmen bietet seit 2009 die Neufassung des Arbeitnehmer-Entsendegesetzes (AEntG).

Neun Branchen wurden in den Schutz des Arbeitnehmer-Entsendegesetzes aufgenommen, darunter das Bauhauptgewerbe, das Dachdeckerhandwerk oder die Gebäudereinigung. Ein Sonderfall ist die Pflegebranche, weil hier kirchliche und nichtkirchliche Arbeitgeber nebeneinander agieren.

Hier tritt an die Stelle eines Tarifvertrags der Vorschlag einer Kommission, der neben den Gewerkschaften und den nicht-kirchlichen Arbeitgebern auch Vertreter der kirchlichen Pflegearbeitgeber und der bei ihnen beschäftigten Arbeitnehmer angehören.

Wer entscheidet was?

Die Kommission kann im Rahmen des AEntG entscheiden, ob sie einen Mindestlohn vorschlägt und ob sie dabei nach der Art der Tätigkeit, Qualifikation oder auch regional differenziert. Das Bundesministerium für Arbeit und Soziales kann den von der Kommission gefassten Beschluss durch eine Rechtsverordnung für die gesamte Pflegebranche verbindlich machen.
Genau das ist nun geschehen:

Das Kabinett hat kürzlich eine entsprechende Verordnung gebilligt,. Die feste Lohn-Untergrenze von 8,50 Euro im Westen bzw. 7.50 Euro im Osten gilt bereits ab 1. August 2010. Und zwar für alle Arbeitnehmer, die überwiegend “Grundpflegeleistungen” wie Waschen, Anziehen oder Treppensteigen erbringen. Ausgenommen von der Verordnung sind hingegen reine Haushaltshilfen sowie Auszubildende und Praktikanten. Bis 2013 soll der Mindestbetrag in zwei Stufen weiter steigen.

Fehlende Kontrollen

Doch trotz der gesetzlichen Verpflichtung werden die Mindestlöhne längst nicht immer gezahlt. Allein in der Bauwirtschaft sind nach Angaben des Bundesministeriums für Arbeit und Soziales 2009 1500 Bußgeldverfahren wegen Verstoß gegen den Mindestlohn eingeleitet worden.

Grund: Fehlende Kontrollen. Denn bei der zuständigen Behörde, der Finanzkontrolle Schwarzarbeit (FKS), herrscht eklatanter Personalmangel und auch für die Zukunft ist keine Besserung in Sicht.

9 Branchen für Mindestlohn im Überblick

Das Aufbrechen sozialer Kälte oder nur ein Tropfen auf dem heißen Stein? Das Arbeitnehmer-Entsendegestz verzeichnet bislang 9 Branchen, in denen ein genereller Mindestlohn möglich ist. In einigen wurde das bereits umgesetzt, in anderen nicht. Diese Übersicht zeigt, wie hoch ist der Mindestlohn in welcher Branche wirklich ist.

  1. Pflegebranche: Die feste Lohn-Untergrenze von 8,50 Euro im Westen bzw. 7.50 Euro im Osten gilt ganz aktuell ab 1. August 2010
  2. Bauhauptgewerbe: Hier wird zwischen 9,25 € und 12,90 € pro Stunde gezahlt
  3. Abbruch- und Abwrackgewerbe: Hier galt bis zum 31. Dezember 2008 ein Mindestlohn von 9,10 € bis 11,96 €
  4. Dachdeckerhandwerk: Hier bekommen Arbeitnehmer bundesweit 10,60, ab 01. Januar 2011 sogar 10,80 € in der Stunde
  5. Maler- und Lackiererhandwerk: 11.25 € pro Stunde bekommt ein Geselle in den alten Bundesländern und Berlin, 9,50 € bekommen Ungelernte in ganz Deutschland
  6. Elektrohandwerk: Hier gibt es in der Stunde 8,05 € im Osten und 9,55 € im Westen
  7. Briefdienstleistungen: Mit der Postmindestlohnverordnung waren Mindestlöhne für die Branche nach Maßgabe des Tarifvertrages für verbindlich erklärt worden. Die Postmindestlohnverordnung wurde jedoch durch das Bundesverwaltungsgericht als rechtswidrig und ungültig angesehen
  8. Gebäudereinigung: In der Innenreinigung bekommen Arbeitnehmer 8,40 Euro im Westen und 6,83 Euro im Osten, in der Glas- und Fassadenreinigung 11,13 Euro im Westen und 8,66 Euro im Osten. Ab 1. Januar 2011 erhöhen sich diese Sätze auf 8,55 Euro (Innenreinigung West) bzw. 7,00 Euro (Innenreinigung Ost) sowie 11,33 Euro (Glas- und Fassadenreinigung West) bzw. 8,88 Euro (Glas- und Fassadenreinigung Ost). Alles natürlich pro Stunde
  9. Bergbauspezialarbeiten auf Steinkohlebergwerken: Sie bekommen als Werker oder Hauer 11,17 €, als Hauer und Facharbeiter mit Spezialkenntnissen 12,41 € in der Stunde
  10. Aus- und Weiterbildungsdienstleistungen nach dem Zweiten und Dritten Buch Sozialgesetzbuch: Die Tarifvertragsparteien haben sich auf Mindestlöhne zwischen 7,60 € und 12,28 € geeinigt. Die erforderliche Rechtsverordnung wurde noch nicht erlassen.
  11. Abfallwirtschaft einschließlich Straßenreinigung und Winterdienst: Arbeitnehmer erhalten hier 8,02 € bundesweit
  12. Wäschereidienstleistungen im Objektkundengeschäft: Arbeitnehmer erhalten hier stündlich 7,51 € im Westen, 6,36 € im Osten
  13. Sicherheitsdienstleistungen: Die Tarifvertragsparteien haben sich hier Mindestlöhne zwischen 6,00 € – 8,32 € ausgehandelt. Die erforderliche Rechtsverordnung wurde bisher nicht erlassen

Text als PDF kaufen

Diesen Text als PDF erwerben (nur zur eigenen Nutzung ohne Weitergabe gemäß AGB): Bitte schicken Sie uns eine eMail mit gewünschten Titel an support [at] berufebilder.de, wir schicken das PDF dann umgehend zu. Sie können auch Text-Reihen erwerben.

3,99 Jetzt buchen

Mehr erfahren – unsere Bücher zum Thema

Oder für wenig mehr direkt ganzes Buch oder eKurs zu diesem Thema kaufen, dazu weiterlesen. Hier finden Sie eine passende Auswahl.

eKurs on Demand kaufen

Bis zu 30 Lektionen mit je 4 Lernaufgaben + Abschlusslektion als PDF-Download. Bitte schicken Sie uns eine eMail mit gewünschten Titel an support [at] berufebilder.de. Alternativ stellen wir gerne Ihren Kurs für Sie zusammen oder bieten Ihnen einen persönlichen regelmäßigen eMail-Kurs – alle weiteren Informationen!

19,99 Jetzt buchen

  • buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review

  • buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review

  • buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review

  • buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review

3 Antworten zu “Mindestlohn für Dummies: Schnell erklärt, was wirklich wichtig ist”

  1. Serie – Schnell erklärt, was wirklich wichtig ist: Mindestlohn für Dummies – Teil 3 (Simone Janso… #Soziales #Kälte

  2. Frisch gebloggt: Serie – Schnell erklärt, was wirklich wichtig ist: Mindestlohn für Dummies – Teil 3

  3. Serie – Schnell erklärt, was wirklich wichtig ist: Mindestlohn für Dummies – Teil 3: Das Aufbrechen…

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.

Ja, ich möchte regelmäßig über die neusten Aktionen & Angebote per Newsletter informiert werden.

Hiermit akzeptiere ich die Debatten-Regeln und die Datenschutzbedingungen mit der Möglichkeit, der Verwendung meiner Daten jederzeit zu widersprechen.

EnglishDeutsch