Wrong role models Clichés and compatibility family - job: Men are also affected


Work well, plant 500 trees! About us make the Working World more Human and Ecological, so we donate Revenue for Certified Afforestation. As Publisher Best of HR - Berufebilder .de® you can unique Book Concept, on Demand eCourses and News Service we share 15 years of Experience with our Customers (Samsung, Otto, State Institutions). By the Top 20-Blogger Simone Janson, referenced in ARD, ZEIT, WELT, Wikipedia .
Copyright: Artwork created as part of a free collaboration with Shutterstock. ,

How important is it for success in the job that current role models are used? And should we finally move away from clichés in the course of the discussion about the compatibility between work and family?

Best of HR – Berufebilder.de®

Here writes for you:

Simone Janson Simone JansonSimone Janson is publisher, German Top20 blogger and Consultant for HR communication.

Profile

Sexism can also be very subtle

The topic of sexism is on everyone's lips: the incidents in Cologne at the turn of the year, MeeToo, outcry - and also the high-heels petition in Great Britain. Because sexism and discrimination against women are unfortunately not always very obvious and have many faces, especially at work.

It also shows, for example, antiquated clothing regulations. In the UK, there was a recent petition against high-heel force. This case will hopefully make school.

Petition with more than 100.000 signatures against PricewaterhouseCoopers

Nicola Thorp, who had been mediated by a temporary agency company at PricewaterhouseCoopers, had filed a petition against regulations that obligated her to wear high heels - more than 100.000 British signed.

Tip: Text as PDF (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Actions or news via Newsletter!

A proof that many women are at least under the prevailing notions of female clothing. Because high, pointed shoes can lead to defects and affect the entire body.

High heels are less stable

And: Whoever is uncomfortable at the office or at trade fairs on high heels, is proverbially less stable than standing colleagues. Or do men complain about uncomfortable shoes?

The fact that high heels nevertheless so incredibly great popularity, should also be because they are considered a typical feminine attribute.

High heels are historically men's shoes

And especially women who are successful in their profession want to counter the feeble accusation of acting too masculine.

In the process, these roller-skates are paradoxical, since paragraphs were reserved for men in the historical origins. Apparently firmly grounded visual habits can change!

Tip: Text as PDF (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Actions or news via Newsletter!

Sexism in Marketing

In the end, many people earn good money: Style consultants, for example, talk to women about what is typically female. And manufacturers want to sell a new shoe collection every year.

It does not fit into the concept that women could also wear more comfortable men's shoes. There are also shoes that look unisex chic and match the foot shape, from the Austrian manufacturer think. Unfortunately, such innovative approaches have so far been the exception.

More courage, women!

Let us hope that more women will have the courage to go against such and similar sexism and, for example, to use comfortable shoes - that would be a simple but effective step towards equality in the word.

In light of this discussion, I was concerned with the question of whether it wasn't time to start rethinking certain clichés - such as those of particularly male or female behavior at work. And to make it clear how absurd these are sometimes, I chose a particularly stark contrast: cowboys and high heels.

Pure sexism: bosses should be strong and masculine?

A study by the Technical University of Munich has shown that cheerful women are not believed to have the will to lead. It has to do with the stereotypes in our heads, the scientists say. Because superiors should be confident and dominant, then they appear to be strong leaders.

Tip: Text as PDF (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Actions or news via Newsletter!

Typically female behavior patterns, on the other hand, tend to hinder progress in the job. Women who are willing to pursue a career are therefore advised to look as feminine as possible in order to be taken more seriously: tie the hair together, look older with glasses and best wear dark pantsuits.

Media cement the images in the heads

Just recently, a top manager reported in her highly regarded book about how she made it to the top with such inconspicuous behavior.

In this way, however, the stereotypes cared for by men and women are still cemented. A disadvantage, because in reality, the stereotypes of society have long since set out - more than many are dear.

Cowboys in high heels

This shows, for example, an exciting discussion that came up recently in my blog: Not a few men want to wear high heels in public and in the job - and take this request for granted.

And in the rather conservative Banff, deep in western Canada in the Rocky Mountains, I came across the “Walk a Mile in her Shoes” campaign a while ago - in which men pursue this very pleasure. Seasoned cowboys in high heels? Or your own boss?

Tip: Text as PDF (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Actions or news via Newsletter!

We do well to question role stereotypes

Difficult to imagine - but why not? Why should only women be allowed to take on the role of the opposite sex? This shows how absurd the role stereotypes in our heads really are. And that, given the social developments, we would do well to rethink them thoroughly. Also and especially when it comes to our everyday work.

Then we would no longer have the stupid discussion about how women manage to combine children and careers. Because that's not always easy - not even for men, as a recent case shows. Some time ago the story of a man went through the press, who was given notice on the first working day after six months of parental leave.

This shows two things: Such discrimination now also affects men who are affected by role stereotypes in exactly the same way. And the compatibility of child and career is still a big problem.

What to do specifically against discrimination?

But what do employees do about discrimination in such cases? 2 concrete steps help:

Step 1: Clarify your own goals

Communication is therefore important for the entrepreneur Sophia von Rundstedt: “An employee should carefully consider what their personal goals look like:

Tip: Text as PDF (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Actions or news via Newsletter!

  • How do I work, where can I cut back? Can be there around the clock for the child, with perhaps negative consequences for the career?
  • Or a career with management responsibility, less time for the child?

Step 2: Talk to the boss in good time

“Then you should talk to the boss about what this decision is for the career and that Company means ”, says von Rundstedt, herself the boss of 300 employees, 70 percent of whom are women.

A lot could happen during parental leave. “It means weighing things up together and finding suitable models,” explains the mother of two children. Unfortunately, flexible regulations often conflict with rigid laws.

Women fail at their bosses: how the quota can help

Communicating is not always the right solution: A recent US study by management consultants Bain and Company shows that women often fail at work because of male-dominated roles and a lack of female role models. Above all, women feel that their direct bosses do not support them enough.

Sophia von Rundstedt also knows such prejudices. The women's quota could help clean up the roll-up, but she did not go far enough.

The right company and the right partner

"We need the quota not only on supervisory boards, but also on the executive boards," she says. What can women do themselves? “Networking,” advises von Rundstedt, who is involved in the Working Moms association. "Women in particular often underestimate how important this is for their own progress."

Tip: Text as PDF (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Actions or news via Newsletter!

What if the boss or your own partner are not willing to compromise? "Then," says von Rundstedt, "you should think about whether the company is still the right one, or to what extent the relationship with the partner is good."


More knowledge - PDF download, eCourse on demand or personal advice


Offline download: Download this text as PDF - Read usage rights, Because we do not automatically submit the title of this text for privacy reasons: When buying in "interests" the title register if support is needed. After buying text exclusively Download at this URL (please save).

3,99 Book now


Your eCourse on Demand: Choose your personal eCourse on this or another desired topic, As a PDF download. Up to 30 lessons with each 4 learning task + final lesson. Please enter the title under "interests". Alternatively, we are happy to put together your course for you or offer you a personal regular eMailCourse including supervision and certificate - all further information!

19,99 Book now


Consultant packages: You want to increase your reach or address applicants as an employer? For these and other topics we offer special Consultant packages (overview) - For example, a personal phone call (price is per hour).

179,99 Book now



You want to comment here? Please the Debate Rules comply, contributions must be unlocked. Your eMailAddress remains secret. More information on the use of your data and how you can counter this can be found in our Data protection declaration / Privacy Policy.

  1. To follow debate on this post
  2. All debates follow
  1. Lan Anh Tran

    RT @SimoneJanson: My current column in DIE WELT about child and career: Just talk to each other? - - Exciting contributionfPLKiK9yg9

  2. Cornelia Kirschner

    Dear Mrs. Janson,
    It would be nice if problem-solving approaches could be so easily defined - you look for a new job as a mother or - if I understand you correctly - think longer about whether you should not change the partner, it does not work with the compromises. In reality, even as a traditionally married woman with KInd, they are a problem in the world of work - as a single person, I can not even imagine it. You are right, you must not only moan, you must try something new, so that at least our daughters can benefit from this fight and one day can actually have both. But right now that's as far as settling Greece's debts ......

    Best regards
    C.Kirschner

    • Simone Janson

      Hello Mrs. Kirschner,
      there is a question mark in the title, and a male example is quoted, in the text a study is cited that confirms your opinion - and otherwise I quote Sophia von Rundstedt in direct or indirect speech. From where do you assume that I wrote that one could simply solve his problems in this way? Please read the somewhat more detailed interview with Sophia von Rundstedt, in which she addresses much more in detail, which was not possible in the 2000 characters of the column.
      On the basis we can then continue to discuss.

  3. Competencepartner

    My current column in DIE WELT about children & career: Just talk to each other ?: Children and ... - Exciting contributionIRQgwk24SI #Create #Production

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

JaI would like to be regularly informed about the latest promotions & offers Newsletter be informed.

I hereby accept the Debate Rules and the Privacy policy with the possibility to contradict the use of my data at any time.

Falsche Rollenvorbilder Klischees und Vereinbarkeit Familie – Job: Auch Männer sind betroffen


Gut arbeiten, 500 Bäume pflanzen! Wir machen die Arbeitswelt menschlicher wie ökologischer und spenden – urkundlich belegt – Einnahmen für Aufforstung. Als Verlag Best of HR – Berufebilder.de® mit einzigartigem Buchkonzept, on-Demand eKursen und News-Dienst geben wir über 15 Jahre Erfahrung an unsere Kunden (u.a. Samsung, Otto, staatliche Institutionen) weiter. Von der Top20-Bloggerin Simone Janson, referenziert in ARD, ZEIT, WELT, Wikipedia.
Bildrechte:  Bildmaterial erstellt im Rahmen einer kostenlosen Kooperation mit Shutterstock. .

Wie wichtig ist es für den Erfolg im Job eigentlich, dass gängige Rollenvorbilder bedient werden? Und sollten wir gerade im Zuge der Diskussion zum die Vereinbarkeit zwischen Beruf und Familie endlich von Klischees abrücken?

Best of HR – Berufebilder.de®

Hier schreibt für Sie:

 

Simone Janson Simone JansonSimone Janson ist Verlegerindeutsche Top20 Bloggerin und Beraterin für HR-Kommunikation.

  Profil

Sexismus kann auch sehr subtil sein

Das Thema Sexismus ist in aller Munde: Die Vorfälle in Köln zur Jahreswende, MeeToo, Aufschrei – und auch die High-Heels-Petition in Großbritanien. Denn Sexismus und Diskriminierung von Frauen sind leider nicht immer ganz offensichtlich und hat gerade im Job viele Gesichter.

Sie zeigt sich zum Beispiel auch antiquierte Bekleidungsvorschriften. In Großbritannien gab es kürzlich eine Petition gegen High-Heels-Zwang. Dieser Fall wird hoffentlich Schule machen.

Petition mit mehr als 100.000 Unterschriften gegen PricewaterhouseCoopers

Nicola Thorp, die von einer Leiharbeitsfirma an PricewaterhouseCoopers vermittelt worden war, hatte eine Petition gegen Vorschriften eingereicht, die sie zum Tragen hoher Absätze verpflichteten – mehr als 100.000 Briten unterschrieben.

Tipp: Text als PDF (bitte Anleitung lesen!) oder zu diesem Text kompletten eKurs herunterladen. Aktionen oder News per Newsletter!

Ein Beleg dafür, dass viele Frauen zumindest unter den gängigen Vorstellungen weiblicher Kleidung leiden. Denn hohe, spitze Schuhe können zu Fehlstellungen führen und den gesamten Körper beeinträchtigen.

Hohe Hacken sind weniger standfest

Und: Wer auf hohen Hacken unbequem durchs Büro oder über Messen stelzt, ist sprichwörtlich auch weniger standfest als bequem stehende Kollegen. Oder klagen etwa Männer über unbequeme Schuhe?

Dass sich High Heels dennoch so unbeirrt großer Beliebtheit erfreuen, dürfte auch daran liegen, dass sie als typisch weibliches Attribut gelten.

High Heels sind historisch gesehen Männerschuhe

Und gerade beruflich erfolgreiche Frauen wollen so dem schwachsinnigen Vorwurf begegnen, zu männlich zu wirken.

Dabei sind diese Rollenklischees paradox, denn Absätze waren im historischen Ursprung Männern vorbehalten. Scheinbar fest eingeschliffene Sehgewohnheiten können sich also ändern!

Tipp: Text als PDF (bitte Anleitung lesen!) oder zu diesem Text kompletten eKurs herunterladen. Aktionen oder News per Newsletter!

Sexismus im Marketing

Am Ende verdienen auch viele Leute gutes Geld daran: Styleberater etwa reden Frauen ein, was typisch weiblich zu sein hat. Und Hersteller wollen jedes Jahr eine neue Schuhkollektion verkaufen.

Dass Frauen auch bequemere Herrenschuhe tragen könnten, passt da nicht ins Konzept. Dabei gibt es auch Schuhe, die unisex schick aussehen und der Fußform entsprechen, vom österreichischen Hersteller think etwa. Allerdings bilden solch innovative Ansätze bisher leider die Ausnahme.

Mehr Mut, Frauen!

Bleibt zu hoffen, dass mehr Frauen den Mut finden, gegen solchen und ähnlichen Sexismus vorzugehen und zum Beispiel zu bequemen Schuhen greifen – das wäre ein einfacher, aber wirkungsvoller Schritt zur Gleichstellung im Wortsinn.

Ich habe mich eingedenk dieser Diskussion mit der Frage beschäftigt, ob es nicht allmählich Zeit wäre, bestimmte Klischees zu überdenken – wie z.B. die von besonders männlichem oder weiblichem Verhalten im Job. Und um deutlich zu machen, wie absurd diese manchmal sind, habe ich einen besonders krassen Kontrast gewählt: Cowboys und High Heels.

Sexismus pur: Chefs sollen bitte männlich und stark sein?

Eine Studie der Technischen Universität München hat gezeigt: Fröhlichen Frauen wird weniger Führungswille zugetraut. Das hängt mit den Stereotypen in unseren Köpfen zusammen, sagen die Wissenschaftler. Denn Vorgesetzte sollen bitteschön selbstbewusst und dominant sein, dann wirken sie führungsstark.

Tipp: Text als PDF (bitte Anleitung lesen!) oder zu diesem Text kompletten eKurs herunterladen. Aktionen oder News per Newsletter!

Typisch weibliche Verhaltensmuster sind beim Vorankommen im Job hingegen eher hinderlich. Karrierewilligen Frauen wird daher gerne geraten, möglichst unweiblich zu wirken, um ernster genommen zu werden: Die Haare zusammenbinden, sich mit Brille älter machen und am besten dunkle Hosenanzüge tragen.

Medien zementieren die Bilder in den Köpfen

Erst kürzlich berichtete eine Top-Managerin in ihrem vielbeachteten Buch darüber, wie sie es mit solcherart unauffälligem Verhalten nach “ganz oben” geschafft habe.

Auf diese Weise werden allerdings die von Männern wie Frauen gern gepflegten Klischees in den Köpfen noch zementiert. Ein Nachteil, denn in Wirklichkeit sind die gesellschaftlich tradierten Stereotypen längst dabei, aufzubrechen – mehr als vielen lieb ist.

Cowboys in High Heels

Das zeigt zum Beispiel eine spannende Diskussion, die kürzlich in meinem Blog aufkam: Nicht wenige Männer wollen in der Öffentlichkeit und auch im Beruf High Heels tragen – und halten dieses Anliegen für selbstverständlich.

Und im eher konservativen Banff, tief im Westen Kanadas in den Rocky Mountains, stieß ich vor einiger Zeit auf die Aktion “Walk a Mile in her Shoes” – bei der Männer eben genau diesem Vergnügen nachgehen. Gestandene Cowboys in High Heels? Oder der eigene Chef?

Tipp: Text als PDF (bitte Anleitung lesen!) oder zu diesem Text kompletten eKurs herunterladen. Aktionen oder News per Newsletter!

Wir tun gut daran, Rollenklischees zu hinterfragen

Schwer vorstellbar – aber warum eigentlich nicht? Warum soll es nur Frauen gestattet sein, in die Rolle des anderen Geschlechts zu schlüpfen? Das zeigt, wie absurd die Rollenklischees in unseren Köpfen tatsächlich sind. Und dass wir in Anbetracht der gesellschaftlichen Entwicklungen gut daran tun, sie einmal gründlich zu überdenken. Auch und gerade was unseren Berufsalltag angeht.

Dann hätten wir auch die dämliche Diskussion nicht mehr, wie Frauen es schaffen, Kinder und Karriere zu vereinbaren. Denn das ist nicht immer einfach – auch für Männer nicht, wie eine aktueller Fall zeigt.  Denn vor einiger Zeit ging die Geschichte eines Mannes durch die Presse, dem nach sechs Monaten Elternzeit am ersten Arbeitstag gekündigt wurde.

Das zeigt zweierlei: Solche Diskriminierungen treffen mittlerweile auch Männer, die damit genau so von Rollenschklischees betroffen sind. Und die Vereinbarkeit von Kind und Karriere ist noch immer ein großes Problem.

Was konkret tun gegen Diskriminierung?

Was aber tun Mitarbeiter in solchen Fällen gegen Diskriminierung? 2 konkrete Schritte helfen:

Schritt 1: Eigene Ziele klären

Für die Unternehmerin Sophia von Rundstedt ist daher Kommunikation wichtig: “Ein Mitarbeiter sollte sich genau überlegen, wie die persönlichen Ziele aussehen:

Tipp: Text als PDF (bitte Anleitung lesen!) oder zu diesem Text kompletten eKurs herunterladen. Aktionen oder News per Newsletter!

  • Wie will ich arbeiten, wo kann ich Abstriche machen? Rund um die Uhr für das Kind da sein, mit vielleicht negativen Konsequenzen für die Karriere?
  • Oder eine Karriere mit Führungsverantwortung, dafür weniger Zeit für das Kind?

Schritt 2: Rechtzeitig mit dem Chef sprechen

“Dann sollte man mit dem Chef darüber sprechen, was diese Entscheidung für die Karriere und das Unternehmen bedeutet”, so von Rundstedt, selbst Chefin von 300 Mitarbeitern, davon 70 Prozent Frauen.

Während der Elternzeit könne schließlich viel passieren. “Da heißt es, gemeinsam abzuwägen und geeignete Modelle zu finden”, erläutert die Mutter von zwei Kindern. Flexiblen Regelungen stünden leider oft starre Gesetze entgegen.

Frauen Scheitern an ihren Chefs: Wie die Quote helfen kann

Nicht immer ist Kommunizieren die richtige Lösung: Eine aktuelle US-Studie der Unternehmensberatung Bain und Company zeigt, dass Frauen im Job häufig an männlich geprägten Rollenvorstellungen und fehlenden weiblichen Vorbildern scheitern. Die Frauen fühlen sich vor allem von ihren direkten Chefs zu wenig unterstützt.

Auch Sophia von Rundstedt kennt solche Vorurteile. Die Frauenquote könne helfen, mit den Rollenklischees aufzuräumen, aber sie geht der Unternehmerin nicht weit genug.

Das richtige Unternehmen und der richtige Partner

“Wir brauchen die Quote nicht nur in Aufsichtsräten, sondern auch in den Vorständen”, sagt sie. Was können Frauen selbst tun? “Netzwerken”, rät von Rundstedt, die sich im Verein Working Moms engagiert. “Gerade Frauen unterschätzen oft, wie wichtig das für das eigene Vorankommen ist.”

Tipp: Text als PDF (bitte Anleitung lesen!) oder zu diesem Text kompletten eKurs herunterladen. Aktionen oder News per Newsletter!

Und wenn der Chef oder auch der eigene Partner so gar nicht zu Kompromissen bereit sind? “Dann”, so sagt von Rundstedt, “sollte man ruhig überlegen, ob das Unternehmen noch das richtige ist, beziehungsweise inwieweit die Beziehung zum Partner trägt.”


Mehr Wissen - PDF-Download, eKurs on Demand oder persönliche Beratung


Offline-Download: Diesen Text als PDF herunterladen –  Nutzungsrechte nachlesen. Da wir den Titel dieses Textes aus Datenschutzgründen nicht automatisch übermitteln: Beim im Kauf unter "Interessen" den Titel eintragen, falls Support nötig ist. Nach dem Kauf Text ausschließlich unter dieser URL herunterladen (bitte abspeichern).

3,99 Jetzt buchen


Ihr eKurs on Demand: Wählen Sie Ihren persönlichen eKurs zu diesem oder einem anderen Wunschthema. Als PDF-Download. Bis zu 30 Lektionen mit je 4 Lernaufgaben + Abschlusslektion. Bitte unter "Interessen" den Titel eintragen. Alternativ stellen wir gerne Ihren Kurs für Sie zusammen oder bieten Ihnen einen persönlichen regelmäßigen eMail-Kurs inklusive Betreuung und Zertifikat – alle weiteren Informationen!

19,99 Jetzt buchen


Berater-Pakete: Sie wollen Ihre Reichweite erhöhen oder als Arbeitgeber Bewerber ansprechen? Für diese und weitere Themen bieten wir spezielle Berater-Pakete (Übersicht) – zum Beispiel ein persönliches Telefonat (Preis gilt pro Stunde).

179,99 Jetzt buchen



Sie wollen hier kommentieren? Bitte die Debatten-Regeln einhalten, Beiträge müssen freigeschaltet werden. Ihre eMail-Adresse bleibt geheim. Mehr Informationen zur Verwendung Ihrer Daten und wie Sie dieser widersprechen können, finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

  1. Debatte zu diesem Beitrag folgen
  2. Allen Debatten folgen

    Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar

    Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

    Ja, ich möchte regelmäßig über die neusten Aktionen & Angebote per Newsletter informiert werden.

    Hiermit akzeptiere ich die Debatten-Regeln und die Datenschutzbedingungen mit der Möglichkeit, der Verwendung meiner Daten jederzeit zu widersprechen.