Pay Transparency Act in reality check


We are moved by the idea to make the world of work more human - without constant pressure for efficiency, stress and fear. As Publisher Best of HR - Berufebilder.de® with podcast, eLearning-on-demand offers and news service we share 15 years of experience with our customers (Samsung, Otto, state institutions). By the Top20 female blogger and consultant Simone Janson, referenced in ARD, ZEIT, Wikipedia .
Copyright: Artwork created as part of a free collaboration with Shutterstock. ,

"Equal money for equal work - independent of gender": This is how the goal of the Entgeld Transparency Act (EntgTranspG) can be summarized. Above all, this law is intended to help women to better assert their entitlement to equal pay for equal work or work of equal value. So the will of the legislature - but what about the lived reality?

Fee Transparency Act in reality check Fee Transparency Act in reality check

Tip: Text as PDF or podcast (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!


More knowledge - Podcast, PDF download, eCourse or personal advice

Here writes for you: Jasmin Martensmeier is Head of Recruiting DACH, Italy and Nordics at Publicis.Sapient. Profile

Our books

Read


Read


The status quo

Overview

The Federal Statistical Office recently found a pay gap between women and men of about 22 percent. Other surveys also look at factors such as frequent part-time work, maternity leave, and family work, as well as the fact that women are less likely to work in leadership positions and significantly more often in lower-paid occupations than men.

Tip: Text as PDF or podcast (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!

If one excludes these effects from the statistics, there is still a pay gap of about seven percent for comparable work and qualifications - that is bad enough and needs to be corrected as quickly as possible.

How effective is the law?

Overview

Barely a year after the decision, the law is still much debated and commented and actually it remains questionable how effective the EntgTranspG is in terms of actual pay equity really.

  • Certainly Company The law has been used as an opportunity to prepare for possible inquiries, but how many inquiries did you actually receive last year?
  • And is not every case ultimately a matter of interpretation if one looks closely at the criteria?
  • Is it ultimately ('only') a bureaucratic process step that is well-intentioned at heart but lived past reality?

Awareness raising as a first step

Overview

The only real value I see personally in the awareness of equal pay, which is required by the newly defined transparency in the EntgTranspG. This forces companies to really engage with the topic. They must finally question their own structures, recognize the potential for disadvantage and identify discrepancies. Companies therefore have to be able to arm themselves for internal demands and be able to answer them reasonably well.

Nevertheless, proving real discrimination remains difficult - there is no absolute comparability. For part-time workers, for example, certain step increases such as frequent travel or job requirements such as changing job sites do not apply. However, these comparison factors are necessary to establish a general equivalency in the pay. Only then can it be clarified in which cases a particular salary is unjustifiably lower and if there is a gender trend.

Tip: Text as PDF or podcast (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!

Companies can no longer afford differences

Overview

No company, whether medium-sized companies, consultancy or large corporation, can afford more today to prove that the salary is demonstrably strong between the sexes. But the current job market is far too much driven by workers and candidates. And these are increasingly calling for legally guaranteed wage transparency. However, this transparency also benefits employers: it creates trust and shows that companies are oriented towards requirements and qualifications, not gender.

In my view, transparency is also a reflection of corporate culture - and not an end in itself. Is openness lived or only written in goodwill? A fair, competitive salary, whether for a man or a woman, is just as important as work-life balance models. These have been an integral part of any employee satisfaction survey for years, such as the Great Place to Work Institute.

Transparency is not an end in itself

Overview

In addition, alternative family structures are no longer an exception. Men not only take parental leave, but families are increasingly consciously choosing to work alternately and to master family life alternately - or to work completely uniformly in part-time or full-time work. These changed role models no longer make salary equality and transparency a mere "women's topic".

Despite all these changes, I still wait for the applicant, who courageously asks: "Ms. Martensmeier, what on average do the men earn in this position?" Do not the candidates dare or is this question frowned upon in times of equality? or totally overhauled? My appeal goes especially to the women: Do not be fooled, you would have bargained badly. Find out, read market comparative studies, catch up on comparative data from your networks and work your way up the pole. Having this information gives cross-company insights into salary structures and courage to negotiate offensively.

Tip: Text as PDF or podcast (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!

A first step towards raising awareness, but still a long way to real pay equity

Overview

Despite these improvements, the question arises as to whether the Payments Transparency Act is the right way to establish equal pay between men and women. Because the introduction has not changed much at first. A new law alone does not lead to a fundamental rethinking of companies or other realities of life for people.

Rather, it is important to stimulate an overall social discussion in order to establish equal pay. In short, the EntgTranspG is a first, but by no means the last, necessary step on the path to equal pay.


More knowledge - Podcast, PDF download, eCourse or personal advice

Overview


Offline download: Download this text as PDF - Read usage rights, Because we do not automatically submit the title of this text for privacy reasons: When buying in "interests" the title register if support is needed. After buying text exclusively Download at this URL (please save).

3,35 Book now


Listen to Podcast & Download MP3: You can listen to this text for free, as member even without annoying popup, or download the MP3 for a fee - Read usage rights, After the purchase page refresh, then you will find the download link here. Because we do not automatically submit the title of this podcast for privacy reasons: When buying in "interests" the title register if support is needed.

3,35 Book now


Your eCourse on Demand: Choose your personal eCourse on this or another desired topic, As a PDF download. Up to 30 lessons with each 4 learning task + final lesson. Please enter the title under "interests". Alternatively, we are happy to put together your course for you or offer you a personal regular eMailCourse including supervision and certificate - all further information!

16,20 Book now


Consultant packages: You want to increase your reach or address applicants as an employer? For these and other topics we offer special Consultant packages (overview) - For example, a personal phone call (price is per hour).

149,99 Book now


occupations pictures

You want to comment here? Please the Debate Rules comply, contributions must be unlocked. Your eMailAddress remains secret. More information on the use of your data and how you can counter this can be found in our Privacy Policy.

  1. To follow debate on this post
  2. All debates follow
  3. Debates per eMail subscribe (add link here!)
  1. Rosalia

    Salary transparency is such an important issue. And I'm pretty excited about your blog and just had to get rid of it.

  2. Alex Hurban

    Wow, a really good site, keep it up!

  3. Harlald

    This law is total nonsense, sorry. Only because everyone knows what one earns wages are not the same!

  4. Wanda

    The fee transparency law is just as important as women's issues such an important issue! I was pleased to read this post with you!

  5. John

    Really a fabulous contribution!

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

JaI would like to be regularly informed about the latest promotions & offers Newsletter be informed.

I hereby accept the Debate Rules and the Privacy policy with the possibility to contradict the use of my data at any time.

Zum Text

Besser Arbeiten, Infos nach Wunsch: Wir geben Ihnen Informationen, die Sie wirklich brauchen und engagieren uns für eine bessere und ökologische Arbeitswelt. Als Verlag Best of HR – Berufebilder.de® mit einem einzigartigen Buch-Konzept und eKursen bieten wir über 20 Jahre Erfahrung im Corporate Publishing – mit Kunden wie Samsung, Otto, staatlichen Institutionen. Verlegerin Simone Janson leitet auch das Institut Berufebilder Yourweb, das u.a. Stipendien vergibt, und gehört zu den 10 wichtigsten deutschen Bloggerinnen, referenziert in ARD, FAZ, ZEIT, WELT, Wikipedia.

Offenlegung & Bildrechte: Bildmaterial erstellt im Rahmen einer kostenlosen Kooperation mit Shutterstock. 

Portrait Jasmin Martensmeier Hier schreibt für Sie: Jasmin Martensmeier ist Head of Recruiting DACH, Italy und Nordics bei Publicis.Sapient.Martensmeier studiert Organisationspsychologie an der LMU München und arbeitet seit über 15 Jahren im internationalen Consulting- und Agenturumfeld. Seit 2007 für Sapient der Publicis Group tätig und mit ihrem Team für die Einstellungen in den Ländern der DACH-Region, Italien sowie Skandinavien zuständig. Mehr Informationen unter publicis.sapient.com Alle Texte von Jasmin Martensmeier.

  • Wertschätzung {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Gelassen Ziele erreichen & gewinnen {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Erziehungsratgeber für Chefs & Kollegen {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Lernen aber besser! Digitale Bildung statt Gedächtnistraining {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Power of Relax. Neu durchstarten dank Stresskiller Schlaf {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Prinzip Hoffnung. Hochsensibel Introvertiert Emotional {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Produktivität planen & steigern {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Die Macht der Wünsche nutzen {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • RedLine! Selbstdisziplin als Erfolgsschlüssel {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Profiling & Körpersprache im Beruf {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Richtig Lernen {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Wiedereinstieg im Beruf {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Besser Führen Fördern Coachen {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Zeitdiebe Effizient Bekämpfen {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Ziele richtig setzen & erreichen {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Erfolg per Empfehlung {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Tiny Changes! Kleine Schritte Großer Erfolg {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Comeback! Wieder voll durchstarten {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Green Management {+AddOn nach Wunsch}
  • Digital sichtbar werden & überzeugen {+AddOn nach Wunsch}

{Replik} Entgelttransparenzgesetz im Realitätscheck

Bisher 7395 Leser, 1907 Social-Media-Shares Likes & Reviews (5/5) • Kommentare lesen & schreiben

“Gleiches Geld für gleiche Arbeit – geschlechtsunabhängig”: So lässt sich das Ziel des Entgeldtransparenzgesetztes (EntgTranspG) zusammenfassen. Dieses Gesetz soll vor allem Frauen dabei unterstützen, ihren Anspruch auf gleiches Entgelt bei gleicher oder gleichwertiger Arbeit besser durchzusetzen. So der Wille des Gesetzgebers – aber wie steht es mit der gelebten Realität?

Best of HR – Berufebilder.de®

Der Status Quo

Das statistische Bundesamt stellte kürzlich eine Lohnlücke zwischen Frauen und Männern von ca. 22 Prozent fest. Andere Erhebungen betrachten zudem Faktoren wie häufige Teilzeitarbeit, Pausen durch Schwangerschaft und Familienarbeit sowie die Tatsache, dass Frauen seltener in Führungspositionen und wesentlich häufiger in schlechter bezahlten Berufen arbeiten als Männer.

Rechnet man diese Effekte aus der Statistik heraus, verbleibt immer noch eine Lohndiskrepanz von ca. sieben Prozent für vergleichbare Arbeit und Qualifikation – das ist schlimm genug und muss schnellstmöglich korrigiert werden.

Wie zielführend ist das Gesetz?

Knapp ein Jahr nach Beschluss, ist das Gesetz nach wie vor viel diskutiert und kommentiert und tatsächlich bleibt es fraglich wie zielführend das EntgTranspG im Hinblick auf tatsächliche Lohngerechtigkeit wirklich ist.

  • Sicher haben Unternehmen das Gesetz zum Anlass genommen, sich auf mögliche Anfragen vorzubereiten, aber wieviele Anfragen hat es tatsächlich im letzten Jahr gegeben?
  • Und ist nicht jeder Fall am Ende doch Auslegungssache, wenn man sich die Kriterien genau anschaut?
  • Handelt es sich letztlich doch (‚nur‘) um einen bürokratischen Prozesschritt, der im Kern gut gemeint aber an der Realität vorbei gelebt ist?

Bewusstseinschärfung als erster Schritt

Den einzigen reellen Wert sehe ich persönlich in der Bewusstmachung für Lohngerechtigkeit, die durch die neu festgelegte Transparenzpflicht im EntgTranspG eingefordert wird. So werden Unternehmen gezwungen, sich wirklich mit dem Thema zu beschäftigen. Sie müssen endlich eigene Strukturen hinterfragen, Benachteiligungspotenziale erkennen und Diskrepanzen identifizieren. Unternehmen müssen sich also für interne Nachfragen wappnen und diese auch begründet beantworten können.

Dennoch: Wirkliche Diskriminierung nachzuweisen bleibt schwierig – es gibt keine absolute Vergleichbarkeit. Bei Teilzeitbeschäftigten beispielsweise treffen gewisse Stufensteigerungen wie häufiges Reisen oder Stellenanforderungen wie wechselnde Einsatzorte nicht zu. Diese Vergleichsfaktoren sind aber nötig, um eine allgemeine Gleichwertigkeit in der Bezahlung herzustellen. Nur so kann geklärt werden, in welchen Fällen ein bestimmtes Gehalt ungerechtfertigt geringer ist und ob ein Geschlechtertrend vorliegt.

Tipp: Text als PDF (bitte Anleitung lesen!) oder zu diesem Text kompletten eKurs bzw, Reihe herunterladen. Aktionen oder News per Newsletter!

Unternehmen können sich Unterschiede nicht mehr leisten

Kein Unternehmen, gleich ob Mittelständler, Beratung oder Großkonzern, kann es sich heute mehr leisten, beim Gehalt nachweislich starke Unterschiede zwischen den Geschlechtern zu machen. Dafür ist der aktuelle Arbeitsmarkt viel zu stark von den Arbeitnehmern und Kandidaten getriebenen. Und diese fordern die gesetzlich zugesicherte Lohntransparenz auch zunehmend ein. Diese Transparenz nützt aber auch den Arbeitgebern: Sie schafft Vertrauen und zeigt, dass sich Unternehmen an Anforderungen und Qualifikationen orientieren und nicht am Geschlecht.

Aus meiner Sicht ist Transparenz aber auch ein Spiegel der Unternehmenskultur – und kein Selbstzweck. Wird Offenheit gelebt oder nur in die Firmenwerte geschrieben? Ein faires, kompetitives Gehalt, ob für Mann oder Frau, gehört genauso dazu, wie Work-Life-Balance-Modelle. Diese sind bereits seit Jahren fester Bestandteil einer jeden Mitarbeiterzufriedenheitsbefragung, wie sie etwa das Great Place to Work-Institut durchführt.

Transparenz ist kein Selbstzweck

Zudem sind alternative Familienstrukturen längst keine Ausnahme mehr. Männer nehmen nicht nur Elternzeit, sondern Familien entscheiden sich immer öfter bewusst dafür, abwechselnd im Beruf zu stehen und den Familienalltag wechselweise zu meistern – oder eben komplett gleichverteilt in Teil- oder Vollzeit zu arbeiten. Diese veränderten Rollenmodelle machen Gehaltsgleichheit und -transparenz nicht mehr zu einem reinen “Frauen-Thema”.

Trotz all dieser Veränderungen warte ich noch immer auf die Bewerberin, die mutig fragt: “Frau Martensmeier, was verdienen denn im Schnitt die Männer in dieser Position?” Trauen sich die Bewerber(innen) nicht oder ist diese Frage in Zeiten der Gleichstellung bereits verpönt bzw. total überholt? Mein Appell gilt insbesondere den Frauen: Lasst euch nicht nachsagen, ihr hättet einfach schlecht verhandelt. Informiert euch, lest marktvergleichende Studien, holt Vergleichsdaten aus euren Netzwerken ein und erarbeitet euch die Pole-Position. Diese Informationen zu haben, gibt firmenübergreifende Einblicke in Gehälterstrukturen und Mut offensiv zu verhandeln.

Ein erster Schritt zur Bewusstseinsschärfung, aber noch ein langer Weg zur wirklichen Lohngerechtigkeit

Trotz dieser Verbesserungen stellt sich die Frage, ob das Entgelttransparenzgesetz das richtige Mittel dafür ist, Lohngerechtigkeit zwischen Männern und Frauen herzustellen. Denn durch die Einführung hat sich im ersten Moment nicht viel geändert. Ein neues Gesetz alleine führt nicht zu einem grundsätzlichen Umdenken bei den Unternehmen oder zu anderen Lebenswirklichkeiten für die Menschen.

Es gilt vielmehr eine gesamtgesellschaftliche Diskussion anzuregen, um Lohngerechtigkeit herzustellen. Kurz: Das EntgTranspG ist einer erster, aber bei weitem nicht der letzte notwendige Schritt auf dem Weg zur Lohngleichheit.

Text als PDF kaufen

Diesen Text als PDF erwerben (nur zur eigenen Nutzung ohne Weitergabe gemäß AGB): Bitte schicken Sie uns eine eMail mit gewünschten Titel an support [at] berufebilder.de, wir schicken das PDF dann umgehend zu. Sie können auch Text-Reihen erwerben.

3,99 Jetzt buchen

Mehr erfahren – unsere Bücher zum Thema

Oder für wenig mehr direkt ganzes Buch oder eKurs zu diesem Thema kaufen, dazu weiterlesen. Hier finden Sie eine passende Auswahl.

eKurs on Demand kaufen

Bis zu 30 Lektionen mit je 4 Lernaufgaben + Abschlusslektion als PDF-Download. Bitte schicken Sie uns eine eMail mit gewünschten Titel an support [at] berufebilder.de. Alternativ stellen wir gerne Ihren Kurs für Sie zusammen oder bieten Ihnen einen persönlichen regelmäßigen eMail-Kurs – alle weiteren Informationen!

19,99 Jetzt buchen

  • buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review

  • buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review

  • buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review

  • buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review

5 Antworten zu „{Replik} Entgelttransparenzgesetz im Realitätscheck“

  1. Die Gehaltstransparenz ist so ein wichtiges Thema. Und ich bin schlicht ziemlich begeistert von Ihrem Blog und musste das jetzt einfach mal loswerden.

  2. Wow, eine richtig gute Seite, weiter so damit!

  3. Dieses Gesetz ist totaler Schwachsinn, sorry. Nur weil alle wissen, was man verdient werden die Löhne nicht gleicher!

  4. Das Entgelttransparenz gesetz ist gerade was Frauenfragen angeht so ein wichtiges Thema! Ich habe mich gefreut, diesen Beitrag bei Ihnen lesen zu können!

  5. Wirklich ein fabelhafter Beitrag!

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.

Ja, ich möchte regelmäßig über die neusten Aktionen & Angebote per Newsletter informiert werden.

Hiermit akzeptiere ich die Debatten-Regeln und die Datenschutzbedingungen mit der Möglichkeit, der Verwendung meiner Daten jederzeit zu widersprechen.

EnglishDeutsch