Elon Musk and Tesla: the prototype



Previous PartNext part



We are moved by the idea to make the world of work more human - without constant pressure for efficiency, stress and fear. As Publisher Best of HR - Berufebilder.de® with podcast, eLearning-on-demand offers and news service we share 15 years of experience with our customers (Samsung, Otto, state institutions). By the Top20 female blogger and consultant Simone Janson, referenced in ARD, ZEIT, Wikipedia .
Reprint: This text is from the book "Elon Musk: Wie Elon Musk die Welt verändert – Die Biografie (2015)" by Ashlee Vance, published at Münchener Verlagsgruppe, and was left to us for reprint.
Copyright: Artwork created as part of a free collaboration with Shutterstock. , Picture also by VanderWolf Images.

Tesla introduced a handful of designers to deliver new designs for the roadster. Now the prototype was built.

Elon Musk and Tesla: the prototype Tesla Roadster

Tip: Text as PDF or podcast (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!


More knowledge - Podcast, PDF download, eCourse or personal advice

Here writes for you: Ashlee Vance is a journalist for New York Times and CNN. Profile

From the author:

Best of HR Berufebilder

Read


Best of HR Berufebilder

Read


Best of HR Berufebilder

Read


The Aerobuck

Overview

After agreeing on a favorite, that left Company in January 2005 build a model of it in scale 1: 4, in April then in original size. In this process, the Tesla leadership got another revelation of what to pay attention to when building a car.

Tip: Text as PDF or podcast (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!

"You wrap the model in this shiny Mylar sheeting and suck the air out of it so you can really see the contours, the sheen and the shadows," says Tarpenning. The silver model was then transformed into a digital image that engineers could manipulate on their computers. A British company made a plastic version of the car, called "Aero Buck", for testing aerodynamics based on the digital data.

"It was loaded onto a ship and brought to us and we took it to the Burning Man Festival," says Tarpenning.

An important stopover

Overview

About a year later, after many changes and plenty of work, Tesla felt that they had reached an important interim destination.

It was May 2006 and the company now employed 100 employees. The team had produced a black version of the roadster called EP1 (for Engineering Prototype 1).

Tip: Text as PDF or podcast (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!

The prototype is ready

Overview

"We showed that we now knew what we wanted to build," says Tarpenning. "You could touch it. It was a real car, and it was very exciting. "The completion of the EP1 was a great opportunity to show the old investors what had happened to their money and to raise even more capital in a larger circle.

The venture capitalists were impressed enough to ignore the fact that the engineers sometimes had to cool down the car with a fan between two test drives. They began to see the long-term potential of Tesla. Musk put another 12 million dollars in Tesla.

In total, the company received 40 million dollars from investors such as Draper Fisher Jurvetson, VantagePoint Capital Partners, JPMorgan, Compass Technology Partners, Nick Pritzker, Lary Page and Sergey Brin.

public relation

Overview

In July 2006, Tesla decided to tell the world what they had been working on. The engineers had built a red - the EP2 - in addition to the black prototype and both were demonstrated at an event in Santa Monica.

Tip: Text as PDF or podcast (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!

Plenty of media representatives came and were quite impressed with what they saw. The Roadsters were chic, two-seater convertibles that accelerated from 4 to 0 in about 100 seconds. "To this day," Musk said on the occasion, "all electric cars were crap."

With Schwarzenegger on test drive

Overview

Celebrities, such as then Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger and former Disney CEO Michael Eisner, came to the event and many of them went on test drives with one of the roadsters.

The vehicles were so sensitive that only Straubel and a few other trustworthy people knew how to drive them; they were changed every five minutes to prevent overheating.

Tesla announced that the cars cost about 90.000 dollars and would have a range of 400 kilometers per charge. 30 people, the company said, had already firmly appointed a roadster, including Google co-founders Brin and Page, and a number of other technology billionaires. In about three years, a cheaper four-door model will follow for under 50.000 dollars, Musk promised.

Tip: Text as PDF or podcast (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!

Premiere in the New York Times

Overview

Around this time, Tesla had its premiere in The New York Times, which featured a brief portrait of the company. Eberhard promised in it, quite optimistic that the first roadster center 2007 would be delivered instead of as initially planned beginning 2006. He explained the strategy of starting with a high-priced, low-volume product and then using technology and manufacturing technology advances to offer more affordable cars later on.

Musk and Eberhard firmly believed in this strategy, which had already worked on a number of electronic devices. "Mobile phones, refrigerators, color TVs - all this has not started with simple products for the masses. The first products of this kind were relatively expensive, for people who could afford it, "Eberhard told the newspaper.

The article was a success for Tesla, but Musk did not like the fact that he himself was never mentioned in it. "We tried to make him stand out and kept telling the reporter about him, but he was not interested in the company's board," says Tarpenning. "Elon was mad. He cooked."

Tip: Text as PDF or podcast (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!


More knowledge - Podcast, PDF download, eCourse or personal advice

Overview


Offline download: Download this text as PDF - Read usage rights, Because we do not automatically submit the title of this text for privacy reasons: When buying in "interests" the title register if support is needed. After buying text exclusively Download at this URL (please save).

3,35 Book now


Listen to Podcast & Download MP3: You can listen to this text for free, as member even without annoying popup, or download the MP3 for a fee - Read usage rights, After the purchase page refresh, then you will find the download link here. Because we do not automatically submit the title of this podcast for privacy reasons: When buying in "interests" the title register if support is needed.

3,35 Book now


Your eCourse on Demand: Choose your personal eCourse on this or another desired topic, As a PDF download. Up to 30 lessons with each 4 learning task + final lesson. Please enter the title under "interests". Alternatively, we are happy to put together your course for you or offer you a personal regular eMailCourse including supervision and certificate - all further information!

16,20 Book now


Consultant packages: You want to increase your reach or address applicants as an employer? For these and other topics we offer special Consultant packages (overview) - For example, a personal phone call (price is per hour).

149,99 Book now


occupations pictures

You want to comment here? Please the Debate Rules comply, contributions must be unlocked. Your eMailAddress remains secret. More information on the use of your data and how you can counter this can be found in our Privacy Policy.

  1. To follow debate on this post
  2. All debates follow
  3. Debates per eMail subscribe (add link here!)
  1. Competencepartner

    Elon Musk & Tesla - Part 5: The prototype: Tesla hired a handful of designers to create the new E ... - Exciting contribution02PmEVJEte #Professional # Education

  2. REGIS GMBH

    Elon Musk & Tesla - Part 5: The prototype via BERUFEBILDER - Exciting contributioneUNGiXF2Xd

  3. Thomas Eggert

    Elon Musk & Tesla - Part 5: The prototype via BERUFEBILDER - Exciting contributionzqQC3rJo3o

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

JaI would like to be regularly informed about the latest promotions & offers Newsletter be informed.

I hereby accept the Debate Rules and the Privacy policy with the possibility to contradict the use of my data at any time.

Zum Artikel

Besser Arbeiten, Infos nach Wunsch: Wir geben Ihnen Informationen, die Sie wirklich brauchen und engagieren uns für eine bessere und ökologische Arbeitswelt. Als Verlag Best of HR – Berufebilder.de® mit einzigartigem Buchkonzept und eKursen bieten wir über 20 Jahre Erfahrung im Corporate Publishing – mit Kunden wie Samsung, Otto, staatlichen Institutionen. Verlegerin Simone Janson leitet auch das Institut Berufebilder Yourweb, das u.a. Stipendien vergibt, und gehört zu den 10 wichtigsten deutschen Bloggerinnen, referenziert in ARD, FAZ, ZEIT, WELT, Wikipedia.

Offenlegung & Bildrechte:  Bildmaterial erstellt im Rahmen einer kostenlosen Kooperation mit Shutterstock. 

Außerdem weitere Bildrechte bei VanderWolf Images.

Text stammt aus dem Buch: “Elon Musk: Wie Elon Musk die Welt verändert – Die Biografie” (2015), erschienen bei Münchener Verlagsgruppe (MVG), Abdruck mit freundlicher Genehmigung des Verlags.

Hier schreibt für Sie:

vanceAshlee Vance ist Journalist u.a. für New York Times oder CNN.Vance, geboren in Südafrika, ist ein US-amerikanischer Wirtschaftsjournalist. Er schrieb u. a. für die New York Times, den Economist, die Chicago Tribune, CNN.com und die International Herald Tribune. Bei der Bloomberg BusinessWeek ist er einer der bekanntesten Journalisten und hat unzählige Titelgeschichten über Elon Musk, Mark Zuckerberg oder Steve Ballmer geschrieben.

Widerstandsfähig durch jede Herausforderung: Wie Elon Musk bei Tesla Prototypen entwickelte

Tesla stellte eine Handvoll Designer ein, die neue Entwürfe für den Roadster liefern sollten. Nun wurde der Prototyp gebaut.

Tesla-Roadster

Das Aero Buck

Nachdem man sich auf einen Favoriten geeinigt ­hatte, ließ das Unternehmen im Januar 2005 ein Modell davon im Maßstab 1:4 bauen, im April dann in Originalgröße. Bei diesem Prozess bekam die Tesla-Führung eine weitere Offenbarung über das, was beim Bau eines Autos alles zu beachten ist.

“Sie hüllen das Modell in diese glänzende Mylar-Folie und saugen die Luft daraus ab, sodass man die Konturen, den Glanz und die Schatten wirklich gut sehen kann”, sagt Tarpenning. Das silberne Modell wurde dann in ein digitales Abbild umgewandelt, das die Ingenieure an ihren Computern bearbeiten konnten. Ein britisches Unternehmen fertigte auf Grundlage der Digitaldaten eine Plastikversion des Autos, bezeichnet als “Aero Buck”, zum Testen der Aerodynamik.

“Es wurde auf ein Schiff geladen und zu uns gebracht und wir haben es dann zum Burning-Man-Festival mitgenommen”, sagt Tarpenning.

Ein wichtiges Zwischenziel

Ungefähr ein Jahr später, nach vielen Veränderungen und reichlich Arbeit, hatte man bei Tesla das Gefühl, ein wichtiges Zwischenziel erreicht zu haben.

Tipp: Text als PDF (bitte Anleitung lesen!) oder zu diesem Text kompletten eKurs bzw, Reihe herunterladen. Aktionen oder News per Newsletter!

Es war Mai 2006 und das Unternehmen beschäftigte inzwischen 100 Mitarbeiter. Das Team hatte eine schwarze Version des Roadster mit der Bezeichnung EP1 (für Engineering Prototype 1) produziert.

Der Prototyp ist fertig

“Wir zeigten damit, dass wir jetzt wussten, was wir bauen wollten”, sagt Tarpenning. “Man konnte es anfassen. Es war ein echtes Auto, und es war sehr aufregend.” Die Fertigstellung des EP1 war ein hervorragender Anlass, um den alten Investoren zu zeigen, was mit ihrem Geld passiert war, und um in einem größeren Kreis noch mehr Kapital aufzunehmen.

Die Wagniskapitalgeber waren beeindruckt genug, um darüber hinwegzusehen, dass die Ingenieure das Auto zwischen zwei Testfahrten manchmal mit einem Ventilator abkühlen mussten. Sie begannen, das langfristige Potenzial von Tesla zu sehen. Musk steckte weitere 12 Millionen Dollar in Tesla.

Insgesamt bekam das Unternehmen in dieser Runde 40 Millionen Dollar von Investoren wie Draper Fisher Jurvetson, VantagePoint Capital Partners, J. P. Morgan, Compass Technology Partners, Nick Pritzker, Lary Page und Sergey Brin.

Öffentlichkeitsarbeit

Im Juli 2006 beschloss Tesla, der Welt mitzuteilen, an was man gearbeitet hatte. Die Ingenieure hatten als Ergänzung zum schwarzen Prototypen einen roten – den EP2 – gebaut und beide wurden bei einer Veranstaltung in Santa Monica vorgeführt.

Reichlich Medienvertreter kamen und waren ziemlich beeindruckt von dem, was sie sahen. Die Roadster waren schicke, zweisitzige Cabrios, die in rund 4 Sekunden von 0 auf 100 beschleunigten. “Bis heute”, sagte Musk bei diesem Anlass, “waren alle Elektro- autos Mist.”

Mit Schwarzenegger auf Probefahrt

Prominente, wie der damalige Gouverneur Arnold Schwarzenegger und der frühere Disney-Chef Michael Eisner, kamen zu der Veranstaltung und viele von ihnen machten Testfahrten mit einem der Roadster.

Die Fahrzeuge waren so empfindlich, dass nur Straubel und ein paar andere vertrauenswürdige Personen wussten, wie man sie fährt; alle fünf Minuten wurden sie gewechselt, um eine Überhitzung zu vermeiden.

Tesla gab bekannt, dass die Autos ungefähr 90.000 Dollar kosten und eine Reichweite von 400 Kilometern pro Ladung haben würden. 30 Personen, so das Unternehmen, hätten bereits fest einen Roadster bestellt, darunter die Google-Mitgründer Brin und Page und eine Reihe weiterer Technologie-Milliardäre. In etwa drei Jahren werde ein billigeres Modell mit vier Türen für unter 50.000 Dollar folgen, versprach Musk.

Premiere in der New York Times

Ungefähr zu dieser Zeit hatte Tesla seine Premiere in der New York Times, in der ein kurzes Porträt über das Unternehmen erschien. Eberhard versprach darin, durchaus optimistisch, dass die ersten Roadster Mitte 2007 ausgeliefert würden statt wie zunächst geplant Anfang 2006. Er erklärte die Strategie, mit einem hochpreisigen Produkt mit niedrigen Stückzahlen zu beginnen und dann Fortschritte bei Technologie und Fertigungstechnik zu nutzen, um später bezahlbarere Autos anzubieten.

Musk und Eberhard glaubten fest an diese Strategie, die schon bei einer Reihe von elektronischen Geräten funktioniert hatte. “Mobiltelefone, Kühlschränke, Farbfernseher – all das hat nicht mit einfachen Produkten für die Massen begonnen. Die ersten Produkte dieser Art waren relativ teuer, für Men- schen, die es sich leisten konnten”, sagte Eberhard der Zeitung.

Der Artikel war ein Erfolg für Tesla, doch Musk gefiel nicht, dass er selbst darin kein einziges Mal erwähnt wurde. “Wir haben versucht, ihn hervorzuheben, und erzählten dem Reporter immer wieder von ihm, aber der hat sich nicht für das Board des Unternehmens interessiert”, sagt Tarpenning. “Elon war stinksauer. Er hat gekocht.”

Bücher zum Thema

3 Antworten zu “Widerstandsfähig durch jede Herausforderung: Wie Elon Musk bei Tesla Prototypen entwickelte”

  1. KompetenzPartner sagt:

    Elon Musk & Tesla – Teil 5: Der Prototyp: Tesla stellte eine Handvoll Designer ein, die neue E… – Spannender Beitrag02PmEVJEte #Beruf #Bildung

  2. BEGIS GmbH sagt:

    Elon Musk & Tesla – Teil 5: Der Prototyp via B E R U F E B I L D E R – Spannender BeitrageUNGiXF2Xd

  3. Thomas Eggert sagt:

    Elon Musk & Tesla – Teil 5: Der Prototyp via B E R U F E B I L D E R – Spannender BeitragzqQC3rJo3o

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Ja, ich möchte regelmäßig über die neusten Aktionen & Angebote per Newsletter informiert werden.

Hiermit akzeptiere ich die Debatten-Regeln und die Datenschutzbedingungen mit der Möglichkeit, der Verwendung meiner Daten jederzeit zu widersprechen.

EnglishDeutsch
error: Warnung Der Inhalt ist geschützt!