To the text

Better work, information as desired: We give you the information you really need and are committed to a better and more ecological working environment. When Book Publisher Best of HR – Berufebilder.de® with Unique Book Concept and eCourses we offer over 20 years of experience in Corporate Publishing - with Clients like Samsung, Otto, Governmental Institutions. Publisher Simone Janson also heads the Institute Berufebilder Yourweb, which awards scholarships and belongs to one of the top 10 female German bloggers, referenced in ARD, FAZ, ZEIT, WELT, Wikipedia .

Disclosure & Image Rights: Image material created by Verlag Best of HR - Berufebilder.de®. The Department of Tourism for the Province of Quebec, Canada, helped us research articles and create images for the blog by covering all travel expenses. In addition, further image rights are held by the Le Massif Group.

Here writes for you:

Simone Janson is publisherConsultant and one of the 10 most important German bloggers Blogger Relevance Index. She is also head of the Institute's job pictures Yourweb, with which she donates money for sustainable projects. According to ZEIT owns her trademarked blog Best of HR – Berufebilder.de® to the most important blogs for careers, professions and the world of work. More about her im Career. All texts by Simone Janson.

Job profile! Cirque Du Soleil Founder: The Man Who Bought a Mountain

A man buys a mountain, installs a luxury train, and builds a modern luxury eco hotel out of the ground. And invested 150.000 million Canadian dollars in the process.

Best of HR – Berufebilder.de®

From street artist to billionaire

In the case, the man is Cirque-du-Soleil co-founder Daniel Gauthier. And while his business partner Guy Laliberté is flying into space as a space tourist, Gauthier has just bought a mountain called Le Massif. When I first heard about the story, I spontaneously thought: I have to go there.

And exactly in the region from which the two come: Charlevoix. In 1983, Laliberté received $ 1,5 million from the provincial government to organize a street show in several cities for the 450th anniversary of Quebec. The Cirque Du Soleil, now worth billions, was born. It seems as if the two of them had the big picture in mind even then.

The big picture in view

Today, Gauthier has said goodbye to Cirque Du Soleil and is just going back to his Mamut project: he reactivated the already existing train line from Quebec City to Baie-Saint-Paul or La Malbaie and built old train carriages from the 30ers into luxurious companions with technical equipment refined interior trim around.

In the next few years he wants to transform the area between Le Massif and Baie-Saint-Paul into a four-season resort: new hotels, spas, renovated ski slopes and outdoor activities - but all as green as possible. Accordingly, he also wants his Hotel la ferme, in English “the farm”, to be understood as a replica of the farm that originally stood at this point: It consists of the main house and four pavilions, each of which is assigned a different farm theme: There is one Mill, a sheepfold, a chicken yard, a barn - and even a herb garden in the inner courtyard.

Tip: Text as PDF (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse or series Download. Actions or news via Newsletter!

As green as possible

All buildings are operated with geothermal energy. The solar cells, which, as can be read in the star, were originally planned, have been omitted in the final version. "We have decided to only rely on geothermal energy," says the press office of Gauthiers Le Massif Group.

I found the generally prevailing, hyped mood a little annoying: It seemed as if the employees were supposed to present not only the hotel, but also a message sell. It remains to be hoped that both will subside a little over time.

Best of HR – Berufebilder.de®

Exchange with the inhabitants

In general, the term get-together in the la ferme is to be taken literally: the hotel is not a demarcated building reserved for the guests, but also a meeting place for the inhabitants of Baie-Saint-Paul.

Including them and creating a place for exchange was part of the process from the start Concept ABC School Joke Oud besides, it was practically a condition for construction. The buildings of the hotel are therefore laid out around an inner courtyard, which on Sundays mutates into a small marketplace for local products and a concert stage.

Richard Lambert, who works at Laiterie Charlevoix in Baie-Saint-Paul, remembers how the two started over 30 years ago: “They were street artists who wanted to entertain people. But nobody took them seriously, people just laughed at the crazy ideas. Today they have to prove them wrong. "

Best of HR – Berufebilder.de®

How much has been invested?

Charlevoix was previously a very touristy region, by the way one of the oldest tourism regions in North America, predestined with its location only an hour's drive from Quebec City for the summer visitors from the capital. But with this investment, it is hoped that the region will become more important on the international market.

In general, the investment: Gauthier invested $ 150.000 of his money, and another 60.000, it is said, came from the Quebec region. However, the exact investment amount is not quite clear: No further details were given when asked. Somebody on site told me that the entire project has now far exceeded the original $ 200.000 and has reached 300.000 - and that further payments are now being negotiated with the region.

the farm

Criticism of the project

The size is also what is disturbing so many on the spot - only admit it would really not want anyone, because most also profit financially somehow from the project. The one complain that it is now over with the rest and the region is now too much change.

The others speak contemptuously of a hotel "for rich people" that has nothing to do with the people here. And quite practically, some restaurant owners are annoyed that the hotel poached all the good employees when it opened. But the success seems to prove Gauthier right: The hotel is fully booked well into next year.

Buy text as PDF

Acquire this text as a PDF (only for own use without passing it on according to TERMS & CONDITIONS): Please send us an eMail with the desired title to support [at] berufebilder.de, we will then send the PDF to you immediately. You can also purchase text series.

3,99 Book now

Find out more - our books on the subject

Or for a little more directly buy a whole book or eCourse on this topic, read on. Here you will find a suitable selection.

Buy eCourse on Demand

Up to 30 lessons with 4 learning tasks each + final lesson as a PDF download. Please send us an eMail with the desired title to support [at] berufebilder.de. Alternatively, we would be happy to put your course together for you or offer you a personal, regular one eMail-Course - all further information!

19,99 Book now

  • book review




    book review




    book review




    book review




    book review

  • book review




    book review




    book review




    book review




    book review

  • book review




    book review




    book review




    book review




    book review

  • book review




    book review




    book review




    book review




    book review

One answer to “job description! Cirque Du Soleil Founder: The Man Who Bought a Mountain ”

  1. Joesph M. says:

    Cirque de Soleil is probably very big crap and for the employees just lethal. Incidentally bad page, bad menu, bad spelling and this dull popup. That's it, you've lost me as a reader.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Ja, I would like to be informed about the latest promotions and offers via Newsletter be informed.

I hereby accept the Debate Rules and the Privacy policy with the possibility to contradict the use of my data at any time.

EnglishDeutsch

Zum Artikel

Besser Arbeiten, Infos nach Wunsch: Wir geben Ihnen Informationen, die Sie wirklich brauchen und engagieren uns für eine bessere und ökologische Arbeitswelt. Als Verlag Best of HR – Berufebilder.de® mit einzigartigem Buchkonzept und eKursen bieten wir über 20 Jahre Erfahrung im Corporate Publishing – mit Kunden wie Samsung, Otto, staatlichen Institutionen. Verlegerin Simone Janson leitet auch das Institut Berufebilder Yourweb, das u.a. Stipendien vergibt, und gehört zu den 10 wichtigsten deutschen Bloggerinnen, referenziert in ARD, FAZ, ZEIT, WELT, Wikipedia.

Offenlegung & Bildrechte: Bildmaterial erstellt mit einer kostenlos zur Verfügung gestellten Kamera unseres Sponsors Olympus, die wir im Rahmen des Tests bis zur Unbrauchbarkeit geprüft haben. Das Tourismusministerium der kanadischen Provinz Quebec hat uns bei der Recherche von Artikeln und der Erstellung von Bildmaterial für das Blog durch Übernahme aller Reisekosten unterstützt. 

Außerdem weitere Bildrechte bei Le-Massif-Gruppe.

Hier schreibt für Sie:

Simone Janson ist VerlegerinBeraterin und eine der 10 wichtigsten deutschen Bloggerinnen laut Blogger-Relevanz-Index. Sie ist außerdem Leiterin des Instituts Berufebilder Yourweb, mit dem sie Geld für nachhaltige Projekte stiftet. Laut ZEIT gehört ihr als Marke eingetragenes Blog Best of HR – Berufebilder.de® zu den wichtigsten Blogs für Karriere, Berufs- und Arbeitswelt. Mehr zu ihr im Werdegang.

Berufsbild Cirque Du Soleil-Gründer: Der Mann, der einen Berg kaufte

Ein Mann kauft einen Berg, installiert einen Luxuszug und stampft ein modernes Luxus-Öko-Hotel aus dem Boden. Und investiert dabei 150.000 Millionen kanadische Dollar.

Best of HR – Berufebilder.de®

Vom Straßenkünstler zum Milliardär

Der Mann ist in dem Fall Cirque-du-Soleil Mitbegründer Daniel Gauthier. Und während sein Geschäftspartner Guy Laliberté als Weltraum-Tourist ins All fliegt, hat sich Gauthier eben einen Berg mit dem Namen Le Massif gekauft. Als ich zum ersten mal von der Geschichte gehört hatte, dachte ich spontan: Da muss ich hin.

Und zwar genau in der Region, aus der die beiden stammen: Charlevoix. 1983 nämlich erhielt Laliberté von der Provinzregierung 1,5 Millionen Dollar, um für die 450-Jahr-Feier von Quebec eine Straßenveranstaltung in mehreren Städten zu organisieren. Der Cirque Du Soleil, heute milliardenschwer, war geboren. Es scheint, als hätten die beiden schon damals das große Ganze im Blick gehabt.

Das große Ganze im Blick

Heute hat sich Gauthier vom Cirque Du Soleil verabschiedet und wiedmet sich nur noch seinem Mamut-Projekt: Er reaktivierte die schon vorhande Zugstrecke von Quebec City nach Baie-Saint-Paul bzw. La Malbaie und baute alte Zugwagons aus den 30ern zu luxuriösen Gefährten mit technisch raffinierter Innenausstattung um.

In den nächsten Jahren will er die Gegend zwischen Le Massif und Baie-Saint-Paul in ein Vier-Jahreszeiten-Ressort verwandeln: Neue Hotels, Spas, sanierte Skipisten und Outdoor- Aktivitäten – das alles aber so grün wie möglich. Dementsprechend will er auch sein Hotel la ferme, zu deutsch “die Farm” als Nachbau der Farm verstanden wissen, die an dieser Stelle ursprünglich stand: Es besteht aus dem Haupthaus und vier Pavillions, von denen jeder einem anderen Farmthema zugeordnet ist: Es gibt eine Mühle, einen Schafstall, einen Hühnerhof, eine Scheune – und im Innenhof sogar einen Kräutergarten.

Tipp: Text als PDF (bitte Anleitung lesen!) oder zu diesem Text kompletten eKurs bzw, Reihe herunterladen. Aktionen oder News per Newsletter!

So grün wie möglich

Betrieben werden alle Gebäude mit geothermischer Energie. Auf die Solarzellen, die wie im Stern nachzulesen ist, ursprünglich noch geplant waren, hat man allerdings in der Endfassung verzichtet. “Wir haben beschlossen, nur auf geothermische Energie zu setzen”, heißt es dazu in der Pressestelle von Gauthiers Le-Massif-Gruppe.

Ein wenig nervig fand ich die allgemein herrschende, gehypte Stimmung: Es wirkte, als sollten die Mitarbeiter nicht nur das Hotel präsentieren, sondern auch eine Botschaft verkaufen. Es bleibt zu wünschen, dass sich beides mit der Zeit ein wenig legt.

Best of HR – Berufebilder.de®

Austausch mit den Einwohnern

Überhaupt ist der Ausdruck Get-together im la ferme wörtlich zu nehmen: Denn das Hotel ist eben kein abgegrenzes Gebäude, das nur den Gästen vorbehalten, sondern eine Begegnungsstätte auch für die Einwohner von Baie-Saint-Paul ist.

Diese mit einzubeziehen und einen Ort zu schaffen für den Austausch gehörte vom Anfang an zum Konzept dazu, es war praktisch eine Bedingung für den Bau. Die Gebäude des Hotels sind daher um einen Innenhof angelegt, der Sonntags zu einem kleinen Marktplatz für lokale Produkte und zu einer Konzertbühne mutiert.

Richard Lambert, der bei der Laiterie Charlevoix in Baie-Saint-Paul arbeitet, erinnert sich noch daran, wie die beiden vor über 30 Jahren anfingen: “Das waren Straßenkünstler, die wollten die Leute unterhalten. Aber keiner hat sie ernst genommen, die Leute lachten nur über die verrückten Ideen. Heute haben sie ihnen das Gegenteil beweisen.”

Best of HR – Berufebilder.de®

Wie viel wurde investiert?

Dabei war Charlevoix vorher schon eine sehr touristische Region, übrigens eine der ältesten Tourismus-Regionen in Nordamerika, prädistiniert mit seiner Lage nur eine Autostunde von Quebec-City entfernt für die Sommerfrischler aus der Hauptstadt. Aber mit dieser Investition wird, so hofft man, die Region auch auf dem internationalen Markt bedeutender werden.

Überhaupt, die Investition: 150.000 Dollar hat Gauthier von seinem Geld investiert, weitere 60.000 kamen, so heißt es, von der Region Quebec. Allerdings ist die genau Investitionssumme nicht ganz klar: Auch auf Nachfrage wurden dazu keine genauern Angaben gemacht. Vor Ort hat mir jemand erzählt, dass das gesamte Projekt die ursprünglichen 200.000 Dollar mittlerweile weit überschritten und bei 300.000 angelangt sei – und dass man nun mit der Region über weitere Zahlungen verhandle.

la ferme

Kritik am Projekt

Die Größe ist auch das, was so manchen vor Ort stört – nur zugeben möchte es so richtig keiner, denn die meisten profitieren auch finanziell irgendwie von dem Projekt. Die einen beklagen, dass es nun mit der Ruhe vorbei ist und sich die Region nun zu sehr verändern wird.

Die anderen sprechen verächtlich von einem Hotel “für Reiche Leute”, das mit den Menschen hier nichts zu tun habe. Und ganz praktisch ärgert sich so mancher Restaurant-Besitzer, dass das Hotel ihm bei der Eröffnung alle guten Mitarbeiter abgeworben habe. Doch der Erfolg scheint Gauthier recht zu geben: Das Hotel ist bis weit ins nächste Jahr hinein ausgebucht.

Bücher zum Thema

Eine Antwort zu “Berufsbild Cirque Du Soleil-Gründer: Der Mann, der einen Berg kaufte”

  1. Joesph M. sagt:

    Cirque de Soleil ist ja wohl ganz großer Mist und für die Angestellten einfach lebensgefährlich. Übrigens Ganz schlechte Seite, schlechte Menüführung, schlechte Rechtschreibung und dieses dämlche Popup. Das wars, mich haben Sie als Leser verloren.

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Ja, ich möchte regelmäßig über die neusten Aktionen & Angebote per Newsletter informiert werden.

Hiermit akzeptiere ich die Debatten-Regeln und die Datenschutzbedingungen mit der Möglichkeit, der Verwendung meiner Daten jederzeit zu widersprechen.

EnglishDeutsch
error: Warnung Der Inhalt ist geschützt!