Job Search & Application for Humanities and Social Sciences: 12 Tips for Starting a Job



Next part



Best of HR - Berufebilder.de® - Book Publisher, registered trademark, eLearning on Demand Platform, News Service the German Top20Blogger & consultant Simone Janson, referenced in ZEIT, WELT, Wikipedia .
Copyright: Photos by Simone Janson.

Even if social change is a change in employers' minds, the labor market for minds and social scientists is still tense. What is the reason and what can the graduates do?

Job Search & Application for Humanities and Social Sciences: 12 Tips for Starting a Job Job Search & Application for the Humanities & Social Sciences: 12 Tips for starting a career


Here writes for you: Simone Janson is a publisher, German Top20 blogger & consultant for HR communication, referenced in ARD, WELT, ZEIT, Wikipedia. Profile


Learn more? this Download text or book an eCourse on the topic . Insider News per Newsletter or for Members!

Just in the trend?

Overview

Earlier, people often heard that the minds and the social sciences can only become taxpayers. Today, as the signs are growing in a time of globalization and digital transformation, and that purely economic thinking is not going on in society, the positive signs for these graduates are increasing.

Do you believe that Future researcher Dr. Eike Wenzel, spiritual sciences and culture are even in the trend. Commercially successful examples of this are the book sales of Richard David Precht or Peter Sloterdjik. And the British Classic FM came within four months on 4,2 million listeners a week by providing classical music with explanatory lyrics. The secret of success in all cases was to translate the highly specialized background knowledge for normal consumers and thus make everyday use possible.

Hot-looking looks different

Overview

But they are not hot, on the contrary, many humanities and social sciences are regarded as orchids. They are the exotics among universities and rarely found in the course catalog, such as Egyptology, Sinology or Art Education.

But whoever thinks the low competition opens up better chances on the labor market, is wrong: apart from a limited special area the chances are rather bad. But what do you do if you do not get this niche?


Tip: More about - here the Download text or book an eCourse on the topic . Insider News per Newsletter or for Members!

First explain what you have studied

Overview

Among the subjects, which the "Kleiner Fächer", the "Humanities" are the largest group. And that is the one with the biggest problems after finding a job. Even if only a few academics choose an orchid, there are still too many for the few places at universities, museums and cultural institutions.

In the free economy, however, one must first explain what one has actually studied: For what Company desperately looking for the designated expert in Comparative Literature or Religious Studies? Because even if many companies like to advertise full-bodied, be open to creative career changers: In practice, no one likes to buy what he does not know. Besides, in Germany you just have to do what you have learned and not something else! The exotics often do not fit into the thinking of most employers and are eyed accordingly suspicious.

The location is difficult, but not hopeless

Overview

But even if the situation is difficult, it is by no means futile: 2004 already pleaded the Hamburg Professor Dr. Martha Meyer-Althoff in an interview at Spiegel Online for finally ceasing collective wailing over the bad job prospects and revealing constructive solutions. I used to be for my book The Optimal Career Entry, which deals with the same target group, researched extensively on this subject.

By the way, she explicitly meant her colleagues at the universities, who like to greet her orchid students with the words: "What do you want here - you are all unemployed!" But such inferiority complexes do not help, on the contrary: Meyer-Althof recommendation to the graduates was also to make clear, which occupation-relevant abilities one acquires in his studies - this then confidently to sell the job search.

Scientists can think more than professors

Overview

That it is a lot is also known Dr. Monika Wulf-Mathies, who made a career as a historian at the Chancellery, at the ÖTV and DHL: "Basically, each study conveys key and basic skills that allow you to structure the facts, systematically work on new topics and apply your knowledge in different fields and important skills, from language, culture, society and life in general, to good writing and sensitivity to SoftSkills, which are useful in many activities. "

The fact is that many exotics can do more than they believe - as the many examples of successful graduates show. About Juliane Meyer, which, with the study of comparative studies and book sciences, had made it into the editorship of an economic publishing house. Or Stefan Zeilinger's Profile, who as a technology and science historian landed not in the technical museum, but as a patent expert in a law firm.


Tip: More about - here the Download text or book an eCourse on the topic . Insider News per Newsletter or for Members!

Spiritual scientists use their chances

Overview

A recently published study by the Institute for Employment Research titled "Labor Market Opportunities for Humanities Scientists: Analyzes, Perspectives, Business Start-ups" shows that humanities and cultural scientists are seizing their opportunities in a wide range of fields of work.

However, this occupational group appears to be more frequent than others in precarious employment, and the monthly average income is about 600 Euro below that of other academic groups. Therefore, the exotics professional success usually define about work satisfaction and self-realization.

12 Tips for getting on the job for spiritual scientists

Overview

Anyone who has studied an anthropological orchid study has a lot of explanatory needs in the free economy and not necessarily the best cards.

What else can you do to find a job? By the way - if that is not enough, we bring in part 2 & 3 this series more tips.

  1. The right minor subjects: If already an orchid subject such as Islamic studies or comparative literature - why not with a minor subject such as law or economics? This increases your chances of a publishing career or the external service considerably.
  2. Looking beyond the box: Many exotics know only the universities and have no idea at all, what other possibilities still offer. Just think a step further!
  3. Gain Practical Experience: Get Out of the Ivory Tower and gain as much hands-on experience as you can during your studies - then you have a good chance to find a job outside of your niche.
  4. Experiencing Strategic Gathering: There are many studies that show better maps, who already knows at an early stage, where they are willing and willing to acquire competences in this area.
  5. Show initiative: In the economy: You have to persuade art workers of their abilities - not the other way around!
  6. You can believe more than you! In their studies, they have not only learned the subject, but also analytical thinking, organizational skills, teamwork, and many more, which helps in the labor market.
  7. Self-awareness is a good thing: Make yourself aware of what skills you have acquired during your studies, which can help you score points. You must bring it over!
  8. Conquering thirsty stretches: If it does not work out the way with the dreamjob, you can use the time to reorient yourself.
  9. Caution! So many a man who has heard again and again, he could only be taxed after graduation, sinking into a kind of intellectual defiance, if the dream job does not work out right away. This is unfortunately the wrong way!
  10. If you are not able to score points with your qualifications, you have to acquire new ones: for example, in a goal-oriented postgraduate studies or a further education in an economic direction. There are numerous offers from universities or the IHK.
  11. Alternative Entrepreneurship: Start-ups can be an alternative to realize your own ideas. But every good idea needs a market to sell. So do not start too blue-eyed, but let yourself be informed and advised in advance.
  12. Search for examples: orient yourself on how other successful spiritual scientists have succeeded. On too Best of HR - Berufebilder.de® You will find interviews, CVs and many more tips sorted by subject.

More knowledge - e-courses or personal advice

Overview

Offline download: Download this text for 24 hours as PDF or print it out - only for reading! Simply refresh the page after your purchase. Or as Premium Member 1 all texts and eCourses for free:

1,79 plus VATBook now



Your eCourse on Demand: Imagine yours personal eCourse on this or any other desired topic here together. Alternatively, we will gladly put together your course for you or create a personal e-mail course for you including supervision & certification - all further information!

29,99 plus VATBook now



Consultant packages: You want to increase your reach or appeal as a job applicant? For these and other topics, we offer special Consultant packages (overview) - For example, a personal phone call (price is per hour).

149,00 plus VATBook now

occupations pictures

You want to comment here? Please the Debate Rules comply, contributions must be unlocked. Your email address will remain secret. More information on the use of your data and how you can counter this can be found in our Privacy Policy.

  1. To follow debate on this post
  2. All debates follow
  3. Subscribe to debates via eMail (add link here!)
  1. Marcus Knecht

    Humanities Labor Market: <p> </ p ...: Orchid subjects are the ..

  2. Alexander Fedossov

    RT @AlmaMeise: @SimoneJanson on the #Student Scientist: Orchestras on #Jobsuche - part 1 -

  3. Alma Mater

    @SimoneJanson on the "#scoreist for #geist scientist: orchestras on #Jobsuche - part 1 - career #jobs #fb

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

JaI would like to be regularly informed about the latest promotions & offers Newsletter be informed.

I hereby accept the Debate Rules and the Privacy policy with the possibility to contradict the use of my data at any time.

Zum Text

Besser Arbeiten, Infos nach Wunsch: Wir geben Ihnen Informationen, die Sie wirklich brauchen und engagieren uns für eine bessere und ökologische Arbeitswelt. Als Verlag Best of HR – Berufebilder.de® mit einzigartigem Buchkonzept und eKursen bieten wir über 20 Jahre Erfahrung im Corporate Publishing – mit Kunden wie Samsung, Otto, staatlichen Institutionen. Verlegerin Simone Janson leitet auch das Institut Berufebilder Yourweb, das u.a. Stipendien vergibt, und gehört zu den 10 wichtigsten deutschen Bloggerinnen, referenziert in ARD, FAZ, ZEIT, WELT, Wikipedia.

Offenlegung & Bildrechte: Bildmaterial selbst erstellt von Verlag Best of HR – Berufebilder.de​®.  

Hier schreibt für Sie:

Simone Janson ist VerlegerinBeraterin und eine der 10 wichtigsten deutschen Bloggerinnen laut Blogger-Relevanz-Index. Sie ist außerdem Leiterin des Instituts Berufebilder Yourweb, mit dem sie Geld für nachhaltige Projekte stiftet. Laut ZEIT gehört ihr als Marke eingetragenes Blog Best of HR – Berufebilder.de® zu den wichtigsten Blogs für Karriere, Berufs- und Arbeitswelt. Mehr zu ihr im Werdegang. Alle Texte von Simone Janson.

Jobsuche & Bewerbung für Geistes- & Sozialwissenschaftler: 12 Tipps zum Berufseinstieg

Auch wenn im Zuge des gesellschaftlichen Wandels ein leichtes Umdenken bei Arbeitgebern vernehmbar ist: Der Arbeitsmarkt für Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaftler ist nach wie vor angespannt. Woran liegt es und was können die Absolventen tun?

Best of HR – Berufebilder.de®

Genau im Trend?

Früher hörte man oft, aus Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaftlern können ja nur Taxifahrer werden. Heute, da sich in Zeiten von Globalisierung und Digitaler Transformation die Zeichen mehren, dass uns auch ein rein ökonomisches Denken gesellschaftlich nicht weiterbringt, mehren sich die positiven Vorzeichen für die diese Absolventen.

Glaubt man dem Zukunftsforscher Dr. Eike Wenzel, liegen Geisteswissenschaften und Kultur sogar im Trend. Kommerziell erfolgreiche Beispiele dafür sind die Buchverkäufe von Richard David Precht oder Peter Sloterdjik. Und der britischen Privatsender Classic FM kam innerhalb von vier Monaten auf 4,2 Millionen Hörer pro Woche, indem er klassische Musikstücke mit erklärenden Texten versieht. Das Erfolgsgeheimnis bestand in allen Fällen darin, das hochspezialisierte Hintergrundwissen für normale Konsumenten zu übersetzen und somit alltagstauglich zu machen.

Heißbegehrt sieht anders aus

Doch heißbegehrt sind sie nicht, im Gegenteil, viele Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften gelten alsOrchideenfächer. Sie sind die Exoten unter den Hochschulangeboten und nur selten im Vorlesungsverzeichnis zu finden- wie etwa Ägyptologie, Sinologie oder Kunstpädagogik.

Wer aber denkt, die geringe Konkurrenz eröffnet bessere Chancen auf dem Arbeitsmarkt, der irrt: Abgesehen von einem eingegrenzten Spezialbereich sind die Chancen eher schlecht. Doch was macht man, wenn man dieser Nische nicht unterkommen?

Erstmal erklären was man studiert hat

Unter den Fächern, die die Potsdamer Arbeitsstelle Kleine Fächer verzeichnet, sind die Geisteswissenschaften die größte Gruppe. Und das sind auch diejenige mit den größten Problemen, nach dem Studium einen Job zu finden. Denn auch wenn sich nur vergleichsweise wenige Geisteswissenschaftler für ein Orchideenfach entscheiden, sind es dennoch zu viele für die wenigen Stellen an Hochschulen, Museen und Kultureinrichtungen.

Tipp: Text als PDF (bitte Anleitung lesen!) oder zu diesem Text kompletten eKurs bzw, Reihe herunterladen. Aktionen oder News per Newsletter!

In der freien Wirtschaft muss man aber erstmal erklären, was man eigentlich studiert hat: Denn welches Unternehmen sucht schon verzweifelt die ausgewiesene Expertin in Komparatistik oder Religionswissenschaften? Denn auch wenn viele Unternehmen gerne vollmundig damit werben, offen für kreative Quereinsteiger zu sein: In der Praxis kauft niemand gerne ein, was er nicht kennt. Außerdem hat man in Deutschland einfach das zu machen, was man mal gelernt hat und nicht plötzlich irgendetwas anderes! Die Exoten passen daher oft nicht in das Denkschema der meisten Arbeitgeber und werden entsprechend misstrauisch beäugt.

Die Lage ist schwierig, aber nicht aussichtslos

Doch auch wenn die Lage schwierig ist, aussichtslos ist sie auf keinen Fall: Schon 2004 plädierte die Hamburger Professorin Dr. Martha Meyer-Althoff in einem Interview auf Spiegel Online dafür, endlich mit dem kollektiven Jammern über die schlechten Jobaussichten aufzuhören und konstruktive Lösungsansätze aufzuzeigen. Ich habe seinerzeit für mein Buch Der Optimale Berufseinstieg, das sich mit eben jener Zielgruppe beschäftigt, ausführlich zu diesem Thema recherchiert.

Damit meinte sie übrigens explizit ihre Kollegen an den Hochschulen, die ihr Orchideenstudenten auch gerne mal mit den Worten begrüßen: „Was wollen Sie denn hier – Sie werden doch eh alle arbeitslos!“ Doch solche Minderwertigkeitskomplexen bringen nicht weiter, im Gegenteil: Meyer-Althof Empfehlung an die Absolventen lautete auch, sich klar zu machen, welche berufsrelevanten Fähigkeiten man in seinem Studium erwirbt – diese dann bei der Jobsuche selbstbewusst zu verkaufen.

Geisteswissenschaftler können mehr als Professoren denken

Dass das eine ganze Menge ist, weiß auch Dr. Monika Wulf-Mathies, die als Historikerin im Kanzleramt, bei der ÖTV und der DHL Karriere machte: „Grundsätzlich vermittelt jedes Studium Schlüssel- und Basiskompetenzen, die einem ermöglichen, Sachverhalte zu strukturieren, sich neue Themen systematisch zu erarbeiten und sein Wissen auf unterschiedlichen Gebieten anzuwenden. Geisteswissenschaftler entwickeln darüber hinaus wichtige Kompetenzen, von der Sprache über die Kultur, die Gesellschaft und das Leben im Allgemeinen bis hin zu einer guten Schreibe und einer Sensibilität für SoftSkills, die für viele Tätigkeiten nützlich sind.“

Tatsache ist: Viele Exoten können mehr, als sie glauben – das zeigen die vielen Beispiele von erfolgreichen Absolventen. Etwa Juliane Meyer, die es mit dem Studium von Komparatistik und Buchwissenschaften in das Lektorat eines Wirtschaftsverlages geschafft hatte. Oder Stefan Zeilinger, der der als Technik- und Wissenschaftshistoriker nicht im technischen Museum, sondern als Patentreferent in einer Anwaltskanzlei landete.

Geisteswissenschaftler nutzen ihre Chancen

Auch eine gerade veröffentlichte Studie des Instituts für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung mit dem Titel „Arbeitsmarktchancen für Geisteswissenschaftler. Analysen, Perspektiven, Existenzgründung“ zeigt: Geistes- und Kulturwissenschaftler nutzen ihre Chancen in einem breiten Spektrum von Arbeitsgebieten.

Allerdings ist diese Berufsgruppe offenbar häufiger als andere in prekären Beschäftigungen anzutreffen und auch das monatliche Durchschnittseinkommen liegt etwa 600 Euro unter dem anderer Akademikergruppen. Daher definieren die Exoten beruflichen Erfolg in der Regel über Arbeitszufriedenheit und Selbstverwirklichung.

12 Tipps zum Berufseinstieg für Geisteswissenschaftler

Wer ein geisteswissenschaftliches Orchideenfach studiert hat, hat gerade in der freien Wirtschaft jede Menge Erklärungsnot und nicht unbedingt die besten Karten.

Was kann man dennoch tun, um einen Job zu finden? Diese 12 Tipps helfen weiter:

  1. Die richtigen Nebenfächer: Wenn schon ein Orchideenfach wie Islamwissenschaften oder Komparatistik – warum nicht mit einem Nebenfach wie Jura oder Wirtschaft? Das erhöht Ihre Chancen auf eine Verlagskarriere oder den Außwärtigen Dienst ganz erheblich.
  2. Über den Tellerrand schauen: Viele Exoten kennen nur die Hochschulen und haben gar keine Ahnung, welche Möglichkeiten sich sonst noch bieten. Einfach mal einen Schritt weiter denken!
  3. Praktische Erfahrung sammeln: Raus aus dem Elfenbeinturm und schon während des Studiums so viel praktische Erfahrung wie möglich sammeln – dann hat man hinterher gute Chancen, auch außerhalb seiner Nische einen job zu finden.
  4. Erfahrungen strategisch sammeln: Bessere Karten hat, das zeigen viele Studien, wer schon frühzeitig weiß, wo er hinwill und in diesem Bereich gezielt Kompetenzen erwirbt.
  5. Inititative zeigen: In der Wirtschaft gilt: Sie müssen Artbeitgeber von Ihren Fäigkeiten überzeugen – nicht umgekehrt!
  6. Sie können mehr als Sie glauben! Sie haben im Studium ja nicht nur Fachwissen gelernt, sondern auch analytisches Denken, Organisationsvermögen, Teamfähigkeit und viele mehr, was auf dem Arbeitsmarkt weiterhilft.
  7. Selbstbewusstsein ist Trumpf: Machen Sie sich Ihre bewusst: Welche Fähigkeiten haben Sie im Studium erworben, womit können Sie punkten. Das müssen Sie rüberbringen!
  8. Durststrecken überwinden: Wenn es nicht gleich so klappt mit dem Traumjob, kann man die Zeit nutzen, um sich umzorientieren oder weiterzuqualifzieren.
  9. Vorsicht Trotzhaltung! So mancher, der immer wieder gehört hat, er könnte nach dem Abschluss nur Taxifahren, versinkt in einer Art intellektueller Trotzhaltung, wenn es mit dem Traumjob nicht gleich klappt. Das ist leider der falsche Weg!
  10. Bilden Sie sich weiter: Wenn man mit seinen Qualifikationen nicht punkten kann, muss man sich neue erwerben: Zum Beispiel in einem zielgerichteten Aufbaustudium oder einer Weiterbildung in ökonomischer Richtung. Es gibt zahlreiche Angebote von Hochschulen oder der IHK.
  11. Alternative Existenzgründung: Existenzgründung kann eine Alternative sein, um eigene Ideen zu verwirklichen. Aber jede noch so gute Idee braucht einen Markt, um sich zu verkaufen. Also nicht zu blauäugig starten, sondern sich vorab gut informieren und beraten lassen.
  12. Vorbilder suchen: Orientieren Sie sich daran, wie andere erfolgreiche Geisteswissenschaftler es geschafft haben. Auch auf Best of HR – Berufebilder.de® finden Sie Interviews, Lebensläufe und viele weitere Tipps nach Fächern sortiert.

Text als PDF kaufen

Diesen Text als PDF erwerben (nur zur eigenen Nutzung ohne Weitergabe gemäß AGB): Bitte schicken Sie uns eine eMail mit gewünschten Titel an support [at] berufebilder.de, wir schicken das PDF dann umgehend zu. Sie können auch Text-Reihen erwerben.

3,99 Jetzt buchen

Mehr erfahren – unsere Bücher zum Thema

Oder für wenig mehr direkt ganzes Buch oder eKurs zu diesem Thema kaufen, dazu weiterlesen. Hier finden Sie eine passende Auswahl.

eKurs on Demand kaufen

Bis zu 30 Lektionen mit je 4 Lernaufgaben + Abschlusslektion als PDF-Download. Bitte schicken Sie uns eine eMail mit gewünschten Titel an support [at] berufebilder.de. Alternativ stellen wir gerne Ihren Kurs für Sie zusammen oder bieten Ihnen einen persönlichen regelmäßigen eMail-Kurs – alle weiteren Informationen!

19,99 Jetzt buchen

  • buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review

  • buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review

  • buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review

  • buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review




    buch-review

6 Antworten zu “Jobsuche & Bewerbung für Geistes- & Sozialwissenschaftler: 12 Tipps zum Berufseinstieg”

  1. Marcus Knecht sagt:

    Arbeitsmarkt für Geisteswissenschaftler: <p></p …: Orchideenfächer sind die..

  2. Alexander Fedossov sagt:

    RT @AlmaMeise: @SimoneJanson über den "#Arbeitsmarkt für #Geisteswissenschaftler: Orchiedeen auf #Jobsuche – Teil 1 –

  3. Alma Mater sagt:

    @SimoneJanson über den "#Arbeitsmarkt für #Geisteswissenschaftler: Orchiedeen auf #Jobsuche – Teil 1 – karriere #jobs #fb

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Ja, ich möchte regelmäßig über die neusten Aktionen & Angebote per Newsletter informiert werden.

Hiermit akzeptiere ich die Debatten-Regeln und die Datenschutzbedingungen mit der Möglichkeit, der Verwendung meiner Daten jederzeit zu widersprechen.

EnglishDeutsch
error: Warnung Der Inhalt ist geschützt!