3 X 5 Tips on applying for and starting a career in the startup: Applicants must be aware of this!


We are moved by the idea to make the world of work more human - without constant pressure for efficiency, stress and fear. As Publisher Best of HR - Berufebilder.de® with podcast, eLearning-on-demand offers and news service we share 15 years of experience with our customers (Samsung, Otto, state institutions). By the Top20 female blogger and consultant Simone Janson, referenced in ARD, ZEIT, Wikipedia .
Copyright: Artwork created as part of a free collaboration with Shutterstock. ,

Currently, a young Frenchwoman in the ZEIT a stir that has worked in 12 Berlin startups and says: hip work culture - all bullshit. Working in startups has advantages - if you have the right one Company place. 3 X 5 Selection Tips.

3 X 5 Tips on applying for and starting a career in the startup: Applicants must be aware of this! 3 X 5 Tips on applying for and starting a career in the startup: Applicants must be aware of this!

Tip: Text as PDF or podcast (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!


More knowledge - Podcast, PDF download, eCourse or personal advice

Here writes for you: Stefan Rippler is the publisher and author of several career specialist books. Profile

Our books

Read


Best of HR Berufebilder

Read


Read


Read


Read


Startups are job engines

Overview

Startup companies are often seen as the bright pioneers of a new, better working world. The Frenchwoman Mathilde Ramadier has worked in 12 Berlin startups and reported on it ZEIT ONLINE, Their sobering conclusion: "Co-determination, meaning and responsibility are nothing but lazy promises."

Tip: Text as PDF or podcast (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!

The sometimes fierce comments on the post show: There is at least a need for discussion. After all, startups hire average 3,5 employees in their first year. In comparison: 0,8 jobs offer "regular" companies after being founded in the first year. In other words: Innovation means growth and needs motivated high potentials who live the idea of ​​the startup, drive product development, react flexibly to challenges and enjoy making decisions.

Innovation is risk

Overview

Clear: Innovation can mean success - Google, Facebook and Co. have all started as startups. Who does not want to be there for the next big thing? But one Casting for and the everyday job life in the start-up scene differ significantly from the SME or corporate world. What startup applicants and staff should know.

Innovation is also risk. Each day in the startup looks different. You do tasks and projects, of which you have never heard before - and in part despite the lack of expertise. In the background the pressure of investors - not to mention overtime.

Startup Jobs: Top alternative to corporate career

Overview

How do you know if starting a startup is really worthwhile for one? Where can you find good positions? What are the specific requirements of a startup job? How do you establish yourself in the startup company and gain influence in the team? And is one the right type for such an unconventional career perspective?

Tip: Text as PDF or podcast (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!

Particularly young people are showing a steadily dwindling interest in the cooperation in corporations and are looking for innovative job opportunities created by the strong upheavals of the digital revolution in the labor market.

Startup employees are tinkering with the future of the company

Overview

Startups all over the world promise a new kind of lifestyle that does not exist in traditional and established companies. The independent work, flat hierarchies and room for creativity attract many of these people to pursue their career path in a startup company.

But they are not only working on their own careers, but also on the future of the society in which they live, if not on the way of life of many people in a global context. It's about making a difference; to create something big. Something that changes the world. And in a startup, this claim is not even so outlandish, considering that many new technologies have fundamentally changed the way we live.

There is no guarantee for success!

Overview

What can also be seen as an advantage for cooperation in start-ups: the people who are encountered in young companies are often the visionaries of our time, the rebellious, the brave, who want to do everything better, and therefore services and goods from the ground up rethink and revolutionize. These people often work together across national borders.

Tip: Text as PDF or podcast (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!

However, reality also shows that there is no guarantee of success in the startup world. While some startup companies, such as Airbnb and Spotify, are successful globally and generating millions of dollars, there are a considerable number of startups who simply can not make it and fail. This aspect should also be taken into consideration if you decide to pursue a career path in the startup world. It is essential to understand what you need to engage and hire to make the startup successful as well as successful and smart in shaping your own career path.

5 benefits of career in a startup

Overview

If you want to find out if the work in the startup is something for yourself, then you have to weigh carefully. The advantages at a glance.

  1. Much responsibility and decision-making authority: Self-responsibility is a key skill expected of every member of the startup team. The chance for employees in small teams to do a great deal in a special way makes startups fundamentally different from traditional companies. "Just do it" is the motto many times, which in this sense is meant very seriously. This certainly requires some courage. You have to take unexpected challenges and tasks and try yourself. However, this will not always be successful. Here the support of the founders is necessary.
  2. A high learning curve: Learning from mistakes - almost fail. That's important, as well as the mantra learning by doing. A "trial and error mentality" is indispensable, since many processes and structures are not yet available in startups and one often works in fields of work, of which one has no real idea. It means "doing and learning" - learning on the job.
  3. A special team culture with flat hierarchies: Flat hierarchies are also a feature of startups, which characterizes the workplace and is often classified as positive. Often the entire team, including the founders, sits in an office or office. It also happens that employees work independently of the location. In each case, the interchange is uncomplicated and usually digital.
  4. On the work result it depends: This is often the motto of success: It is not important which hierarchy concept is particularly popular in the management literature, or which hierarchical models were often practiced before 50 years. Only the concrete results of work are relevant.
  5. Quick career opportunities: The work motivated in a startup, because you can see very quickly and directly the results of your own work. These results, in turn, are often perceived and often celebrated by team members, unlike in large companies. In startups you work in a very performance-oriented environment. Due to the proximity to the managers, motivation and output are directly seen, often promoted and also rewarded. This creates the possibility to rise in much smaller time windows than would be possible in larger companies.

5 disadvantages of the career in a startup

Overview

Working in start-ups does not only bring advantages. Of course, disadvantages must also be taken into account before deciding on the startup job.

  1. Poor (re) pay and little security: It is no secret that the start-up life provides little or no collateral for all the opportunities it offers. This is mainly due to the lack of revenue and the resulting bad, under-average and sometimes even in individual cases even a lack of remuneration. The decision to work in a startup is and remains a risk.
  2. Little structure, excessive demands and a lack of work-life balance: In start-up companies there is not a few structures due to constant change. It is planned for the youngest to be in the short term - often also because the necessary experience to build immediate structures is simply missing. Missing structures often involve long working hours and overburdening. This is often associated with the accessibility after the evening's work and a lack of work-life balance.
  3. Bad management style: Since the founders are often inexperienced in staff management, the team often suffers from inadequate management style. Among other things, this is visible in the recruiting of the individual members in the team. Job interviews are run unconventionally and in the selection of personnel emphasis is placed on rather atypical criteria: Many founders, especially in the initial phase to complete their team friends and acquaintances approach - for "professional recruiting" is missing both the experience and often the time.
  4. Lack of reputation: Startups do not have the reputation that established companies enjoy, and are even often ridiculed. You usually work on ideas that hardly anyone else believes outside the startup team, or even worse: visions that are so innovative that they do not really understand anyone yet. It goes with the fact that as a startup employee you often work on ideas that have a great chance of not being successful at all. This can lead to frustration and a feeling of failure.
  5. Bankruptcy and termination: A quite untypical scenario is the start-up insolvency, which can naturally occur with new, innovative company foundations without a securely tested business model. This means that you have to arrange yourself as an employee. It is quite clear that startups often have financial bottlenecks or uncertainties as compared to established and successful companies. Other risks include the termination, which may be attributable to the uncertain or difficult business development of the company. Here too, one must count as an employee. Specifically, in such a case, a certain stress resistance is useful, which is necessary in dealing with risks. This includes its own psychological resilience, which is linked to the general and special uncertainties of the startup life.

5 Selection criteria for startup selection

Overview

If the path to a startup future is clear, it's about finding a start-up company that fits your profile. There is a lot to be aware of, because startup is not the same startup - and just to avoid the problems of Mathilde Ramadier, applicants should look carefully.

Tip: Text as PDF or podcast (please read the instructions!) or to this text complete eCourse Download. Regular promotions or news per Newsletter!

  1. Attention whitewashing: Whether in an interview or in exchange with (ex-) startup staff (XING, LinkedIn): When you only ever tell the best, you need to be alert. After all, things do not always go smoothly in a startup. Every day there are new challenges to overcome, usually not just small ones but big ones.
  2. Lack of discussion culture: Caution is also advised if there is no culture of discussion - good founders get involved in a dispute, because they are concerned with the matter - the success of the product and finally of the company and not to be a second Mark Zuckerberg. However, if the startup is characterized by arguments, that is not a good sign either - because technical discussions are the one thing, broken founder or employee something completely different.
  3. Important is a good team: A startup needs a well-functioning team in which everyone can rely on each other and not a fragile network of employees with profiling. This means: best to talk to colleagues in advance.
  4. Diversity counts: The smaller the company, the more important the team is very divergent in its composition: the more different skills, experiences, background the individual team members bring, the better.
  5. Also crucial: The fact that the founders can translate their vision into tangible and understandable tasks, which serve the company's strategic purpose. To find out all this, one thing is particularly important: the exchange with (ex) employees and a well-founded discussion with the desired startup.

Where can I startup jobs?

Overview

Clear start-up capital, which houses 17 percent of all German start-ups, is and remains Berlin. However, the startup monitor from KPMG reveals that other regions are catching up: the Ruhrpott, especially Dortmund, Düsseldorf and Cologne are pulling with 14,1 percent, followed by Stuttgart / Karlsruhe with just under 9 percent, Munich with 7 percent and Hamburg with slightly more than 6 percent.

From an industrial point of view, all major conglomerates have to be wary of attack by small, powerful startup speedboats: According to a study by the auditing firm Ernst and Young, e-commerce is booming, with 2017 generating some 939 million of risk capital in the first half of the year. This is followed by the fintech industry with about a third of it and then the sectors health, software, automobiles, services, furniture, pets and media.


More knowledge - Podcast, PDF download, eCourse or personal advice

Overview


Offline download: Download this text as PDF - Read usage rights, Because we do not automatically submit the title of this text for privacy reasons: When buying in "interests" the title register if support is needed. After buying text exclusively Download at this URL (please save).

3,35 Book now


Listen to Podcast & Download MP3: You can listen to this text for free, as member even without annoying popup, or download the MP3 for a fee - Read usage rights, After the purchase page refresh, then you will find the download link here. Because we do not automatically submit the title of this podcast for privacy reasons: When buying in "interests" the title register if support is needed.

3,35 Book now


Your eCourse on Demand: Choose your personal eCourse on this or another desired topic, As a PDF download. Up to 30 lessons with each 4 learning task + final lesson. Please enter the title under "interests". Alternatively, we are happy to put together your course for you or offer you a personal regular eMailCourse including supervision and certificate - all further information!

16,20 Book now


Consultant packages: You want to increase your reach or address applicants as an employer? For these and other topics we offer special Consultant packages (overview) - For example, a personal phone call (price is per hour).

149,99 Book now


occupations pictures

You want to comment here? Please the Debate Rules comply, contributions must be unlocked. Your eMailAddress remains secret. More information on the use of your data and how you can counter this can be found in our Privacy Policy.

  1. To follow debate on this post
  2. All debates follow
  3. Debates per eMail subscribe (add link here!)
  1. View Profile

    3 X 5 Tips for applying for a career in the startup: Applicants must be aware of this! | Best of HR Berufebilder. De - Highly recommended a0wG24jfXn

  2. Friederike Gonzalez

    3 X 5 Tips for the application & career in the startup: Applicants must pay attention! - Highly recommended 1Hksu9db1X via @ berufebilder

  3. Andre St

    Karrierr in start-ups not always easy - advantages & disadvantages - Highly recommended L0tSFVwHjT #HR #Worklifebalance #newwork

  4. HRfilter

    3 X 5 Tips for the application & career in the startup: Applicants must pay attention! from
    Ste ...
    - Highly recommended B7UQWOcz9e @berufebilder #content

  5. Stefan Rippler

    Tips for Startup Careers: - Highly recommended bVSFLrXT8k

  6. REGIS GMBH

    3 X 5 Tips for the application & career in the startup: Applicants must pay attention! from
    Stefan ... via @ berufebilder
    - Highly recommended dR4Cq8vVJ0

  7. Thomas Eggert

    3 X 5 Tips for the application & career in the startup: Applicants must pay attention! from
    Stefan ... via @ berufebilder
    - Highly recommended 0jUjg0ZGrN

  8. Job college

    3 X 5 Tips for the application & career in the startup: Applicants must pay attention! by Stefan Rippler ... - Highly recommended VNRDSKuVSp

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

JaI would like to be regularly informed about the latest promotions & offers Newsletter be informed.

I hereby accept the Debate Rules and the Privacy policy with the possibility to contradict the use of my data at any time.

EnglishGerman

3 X 5 Tipps zur Bewerbung & Karriere im Startup: Darauf müssen Bewerber achten!


Top100 & größtes englisches Blog zum deutschen Arbeitsmarkt (Quellen: DIE ZEIT, Wikipedia, Blogger-Relevanz-Index) mit News-Dienst Best of HR. Wir begleiten Kunden seit 15 Jahren im Wandel der Arbeitswelt - mit Beratung, Seminaren & passenden Locations.
Bildrechte: Bildmaterial im Rahmen einer Kooperation kostenlos zur Verfügung gestellt von Shutterstock.

Aktuell sorgt eine jungen Französin in der ZEIT für Aufsehen, die in 12 Berliner Startups gearbeitet hat und sagt: Hippe Arbeitskultur – alles Bullshit. Dabei hat das Arbeiten in Startups durchaus Vorteile – wenn man das richtige Unternehmen findet. 3 X 5 Auswahl-Tipps.


Hier schreibt für Sie:

 

Stefan RipplerStefan Rippler ist Herausgeber und Autor mehrerer Karriere-Fachbücher.

Profil


Werbefreie Texte & weitere Mitglieds-Vorteile

Sie lesen unsere Texte lieber ohne Werbung & Popups, mögen Sonderaktionen & exklusive Previews? Werden Sie einfach & kostenlos Mitglied - hier gehts lang!

Startups sind Jobmotoren

Startup-Unternehmen werden gerne als leuchtende Vorreiter einer neuen, besseren Arbeitswelt gesehen. Die Französin Mathilde Ramadier hat in 12 Berliner Startups gearbeitet und berichtet darüber auf ZEIT ONLINE. Ihr ernüchterndes Fazit: „Mitbestimmung, Sinn und Verantwortung sind nichts als faule Versprechen.“

Die zum teil heftigen Kommentare auf den Beitrag zeigen: Es gibt zumindest Diskussionsbedarf. Denn Startups stellen bereits im ersten Jahr durchschnittlich 3,5 Mitarbeiter ein. Im Vergleich: 0,8 Stellen bieten „reguläre“ Firmen nach Neugründung im ersten Jahr an. Sprich: Innovation heißt Wachstum und braucht motivierte High Potentials, die die Idee des Startups leben, die Produktentwicklung vorantreiben, flexibel auf Herausforderungen reagieren und Spaß daran haben, Entscheidungen zu treffen.

Innovation bedeutet Risiko

Klar: Innovation kann Erfolg bedeuten – Google, Facebook & Co. haben schließlich auch mal alle als Startups begonnen. Wer will da nicht beim nächsten großen Ding dabei sein? Doch eine Bewerbung für und der Job-Alltag in der Gründerszene unterscheiden sich deutlich von der Mittelstands- oder KonzernWelt. Was Startup-Bewerber und -Mitarbeiter wissen sollten.

Innovation heißt auch Risiko. Jeder Tag im Startup sieht anders aus. Man erledigt Aufgaben und Projekte, von denen man zuvor noch nie etwas gehört hat – und das teilweise trotz fehlenden Fachwissens. Im Hintergrund der Druck der Investoren – ganz zu schweigen von Überstunden.

Startup Jobs: Top-Alternative zur Konzern-Karriere

Wie weiß man, ob sich der Einstieg bei einem Startup wirklich für einen lohnt? Wo findet man gute Stellen? Welche besonderen Anforderungen sind mit einem Startup-Job verbunden? Wie etabliert man sich im Startup-Unternehmen und gewinnt an Einfluss im Team? Und: Ist man überhaupt der richtige Typ für solch eine unkonventionelle berufliche Perspektive?

Besonders junge Menschen zeigen ein stetig schwindendes Interesse an der Mitarbeit in Konzernen und suchen dafür nach innovativen Jobchancen, die durch die starken Umbrüche der digitalen Revolution im Arbeitsmarkt entstanden sind.

Startup-Mitarbeiter basteln an der Zukunft der Gesesllschaft

Startups in aller Welt versprechen einen neuartigen Lifestyle, den es so in traditionellen und etablierten Firmen nicht gibt. Das selbstständige Arbeiten, flache Hierarchien und Raum für Kreativität locken viele dieser Menschen an, ihren Karriereweg in einem Startup-Unternehmen zu beschreiten.

Doch sie basteln dort nicht nur an ihrer eigenen Karriere, sondern auch ein Stück weit an der Zukunft der Gesellschaft, in der sie leben, wenn nicht sogar an der Lebensweise vieler Menschen im globalen Kontext. Es geht darum, etwas zu bewegen; etwas Großes zu erschaffen. Etwas das die Welt verändert. Und in einem Startup ist dieser Anspruch gar nicht mal so abwegig, wenn man bedenkt, dass viele neue Technologien die Art wie wir leben fundamental geändert haben.

Erfolgsgarantien gibt es nicht!

Was ebenfalls als Pluspunkt für die Mitarbeit in Startups gewertet werden kann: Nicht selten sind die Menschen, die man in jungen Unternehmen trifft, die Visionäre unserer Zeit, die Rebellischen, die Mutigen, die alles besser machen wollen und deshalb Dienstleistungen und Waren von Grund auf neu denken und revolutionieren. Oft arbeiten diese Menschen miteinander über nationale Grenzen hinweg.

Jedoch zeigt die Realität auch, dass es in der Startup-Welt keine Erfolgsgarantie gibt. Während einige Startup-Unternehmen, wie Airbnb und Spotify, in aller Welt Erfolg haben und Millionenbeträge generieren, gibt es eine beachtliche Anzahl von Startups, die es einfach nicht schaffen und scheitern. Auch diesen Aspekt gilt es zu berücksichtigen, sollte man sich für einen Karriereweg in der Startup-Welt entscheiden. Es ist essenziell, zu verstehen, worauf man sich einlässt und einstellen muss, um sowohl dem Startup zu Erfolg zu verhelfen als auch erfolgreich und klug den eigenen Karriereweg zu gestalten.

5 Vorteile der Karriere in einem Startup

Wenn man herausfinden möchte, ob die Arbeit im Startup etwas für einen selbst ist, dann muss man sorgfältig abwägen. Die Vorteile im Überblick.

  1. Viel Verantwortung und Entscheidungsbefugnis: Eigenverantwortlichkeit ist eine Schlüsselfähigkeit, die von jedem Mitglied im Team des Startups erwartet wird. Die Chance für Mitarbeiter in kleinen Teams, in besonderer Weise ziemlich viel bewegen zu können, unterscheidet Startups fundamental von traditionellen Unternehmen. „Just do it“ – so lautet vielfach das Motto, das auch in diesem Sinne sehr ernst gemeint ist. Hierzu gehört durchaus etwas Mut. Man muss unerwartete Herausforderungen und Aufgabengebiete übernehmen und sich ausprobieren. Jedoch wird dies nicht immer von Erfolg gekrönt sein. Hier ist speziell der Rückhalt von den Gründern notwendig.
  2. Eine hohe Lernkurve: Aus Fehlern lernen – fail fast. Das ist wichtig, genauso wie das Mantra learning by doing. Eine „Trial and Error“-Mentalität’ ist unverzichtbar, da viele Prozesse und Strukturen in Startups noch nicht vorhanden sind und man auch oft in Arbeitsfeldern tätig ist, von denen man eigentlich keine richtige Ahnung hat. Es heißt hier „machen und lernen“ – learning on the job.
  3. Eine besondere Teamkultur mit flachen Hierarchien: Flache Hierarchien sind ebenfalls ein Merkmal von Startups, das den Arbeitsalltag prägt und oft als positiv eingestuft wird. Oftmals sitzt das gesamte Team, inklusive der Gründer, in einem Büro bzw. Großraumbüro. Es kommt ebenfalls vor, dass Mitarbeiter ortsunabhängig arbeiten. Der Austausch untereinander erfolgt in jedem Falle unkompliziert und zumeist digital.
  4. Auf das Arbeitsergebnis kommt es an: Auch hier gilt oftmals das Motto des Erfolgs: Wichtig ist nicht, welches Hierarchie-Konzept gerade in der Management-Literatur als besonders populär angesehen wird oder welche Hierarchie-Modelle vor 50 Jahren häufig praktiziert wurden. Relevant allein sind die konkreten Arbeitsergebnisse.
  5. Schnelle Aufstiegsmöglichkeiten: Die Arbeit in einem Startup motiviert, denn man sieht sehr schnell und unmittelbar die Resultate der eigenen Arbeit. Diese Ergebnisse wiederum werden von Teammitgliedern, anders als in großen Unternehmen, oft auch wahrgenommen und nicht selten auch gefeiert. In Startups arbeitet man in einem sehr leistungsorientierten Umfeld. Durch die Nähe zu den Geschäftsführern werden Motivation und Output direkt gesehen, oft gefördert und auch belohnt. Dadurch entsteht die Möglichkeit zum Aufstieg in viel kleineren Zeitfenstern als es etwa in größeren Unternehmen möglich wäre.

5 Nachteile der Karriere in einem Startup

Die Arbeit in Startups bringt nicht nur Vorteile mit sich. Natürlich müssen vor der Entscheidung zum Startup-Job auch Nachteile berücksichtigt werden.

  1. Schlechte(re) Bezahlung und wenig Sicherheit: Es ist kein Geheimnis, dass das Startup-Leben bei allen Möglichkeiten, die es bietet, wenig bis gar keine Sicherheiten bereitstellt. Das hängt hauptsächlich mit fehlenden Einnahmen und einer daraus resultierenden schlechten, unterdurchschnittlichen und bisweilen in Einzelfällen sogar einer ausbleibenden Entlohnung zusammen. Die Entscheidung, in einem Startup zu arbeiten, ist und bleibt ein Wagnis.
  2. Wenig Struktur, Überforderung und eine fehlende Work-Life-Balance: In Startup-Unternehmen gibt es durch den ständigen Wandel bedingt keine bis wenig Struktur. Geplant wird von der meist jungen Mitarbeiterschaft eher kurzfristig – oftmals auch da die nötige Erfahrung, sofort greifende Strukturen aufzubauen, schlichtweg fehlt. Fehlende Strukturen bringen oft lange Arbeitszeiten und Überforderung mit sich. Hiermit verbunden sind häufig auch die Erreichbarkeit nach dem Feierabend und eine fehlende Work-Life-Balance.
  3. Schlechter Managementstil: Da die Gründer oftmals unerfahren in der Mitarbeiterführung sind, leidet das Team nicht selten unter einem unzureichenden Managementstil. Dies wird unter anderem auch im Recruiting der einzelnen Mitglieder im Team sichtbar. Bewerbungsgespräche werden unkonventionell geführt und bei der Personalauswahl wird auf eher untypische Kriterien Wert gelegt: Viele Gründer ziehen insbesondere in der Anfangsphase zur Komplettierung ihres Teams etwa Freunde und Bekannte heran – für „professionelles Recruiting“ fehlt sowohl die Erfahrung als auch oftmals die Zeit.
  4. Fehlende Reputation: Startups haben nicht die Reputation, die etablierte Unternehmen genießen, und werden sogar nicht selten belächelt. Man arbeitet meistens an Ideen, an die kaum ein anderer außerhalb des Startup-Teams glaubt, oder noch schlimmer: An Visionen, die so innovativ sind, dass sie noch niemand so richtig versteht. Damit einher geht, dass man als Mitarbeiter im Startup oft an Ideen arbeitet, die eine große Chance haben, gar nicht erfolgreich zu sein. Das kann zu Frustration und einem Gefühl von Versagen führen.
  5. Insolvenz und Kündigung: Ein nicht ganz untypisches Szenario ist die Startup-Insolvenz, die natürlich bei neuen, innovativen Firmengründungen ohne sicher erprobtes Geschäftsmodell auftreten kann. Damit muss man sich als Mitarbeiter arrangieren. Ganz klar: Bei Startups gibt es häufiger finanzielle Engpässe bzw. Unsicherheiten als bei etablierten und jahrelang erfolgreichen Firmen. Zu den weiteren Risiken gehört die Kündigung, die beispielsweise auf die unsichere bzw. schwierige Geschäftsentwicklung der Firma zurückzuführen sein kann. Auch hiermit muss man als Mitarbeiter rechnen. Konkret ist in solch einem Fall eine gewisse Stressresistenz nützlich, die im Umgang mit Risiken notwendig ist. Hierzu gehört die eigene psychische Belastbarkeit, die mit den allgemeinen und speziellen Unsicherheiten des Startup-Lebens verbunden ist.

5 Auswahlkriterien bei der Startup-Wahl

Ist der Weg in eine Startup-Zukunft klar, geht es darum, ein zu seinem Profil passendes Gründerunternehmen zu finden. Dabei gibt es einiges zu beachten, denn Startup ist nicht gleich Startup – und gerade um die Probleme von Mathilde Ramadier zu vermeiden, sollten Bewerber genau hinschauen.

  1. Achtung Schönfärberei: Ob im Vorstellungsgespräch oder im Austausch mit (Ex-)Startup-Mitarbeitern (XING, LinkedIn): Wenn einem immer nur das Beste erzählt wird, gilt es, hellhörig zu werden. Denn in einem Startup läuft nicht immer alles glatt, täglich gibt es neue Herausforderungen zu bewältigen, meistens nicht nur kleine, sondern große.
  2. Fehlende Diskussionskultur: Vorsicht ist auch geboten, wenn es keine Diskussionskultur gibt – gute Gründer lassen sich auf eine Auseinandersetzung ein, denn es geht ihnen um die Sache – um den Erfolg des Produkts und schließlich des Unternehmens und nicht darum, ein zweiter Mark Zuckerberg zu sein. Wenn das Startup allerdings geprägt ist durch Streits, ist das auch kein gutes Zeichen – denn fachliche Diskussionen sind das eine, zerstrittene Gründer oder Mitarbeiter etwas ganz anderes.
  3. Wichtig ist ein gutes Team: Ein Startup braucht ein gut funktionierendes Team, in dem sich jeder auf den anderen verlassen kann und kein fragiles Netz aus Mitarbeitern mit Profilierungswahn. Das bedeutet: Am besten schon im Vorfeld mit Kollegen sprechen.
  4. Diversity zählt: Je kleiner das Unternehmen, desto wichtiger ist, dass das Team sehr divergent ist in seiner Zusammensetzung: Je mehr unterschiedliche Begabungen, Erfahrungen, Hintergründe die einzelnen Teammitglieder mitbringen, desto besser.
  5. Ebenfalls entscheidend: Dass die Gründer ihre Vision in greifbare und verständliche Tasks übersetzen können, die strategisch dem Unternehmensziel dienen. Um all das herauszufinden ist eines besonders wichtig: Der Austausch mit (Ex-)Mitarbeitern und eine fundierte Auseinandersetzung mit dem Wunsch-Startup.

Wo gibt es Startup-Jobs?

Klare Startup-Hauptstadt, die 17 Prozent aller deutschen Startups beherbergt, ist und bleibt Berlin. Der Startup-Monitor von KPMG verrät aber, dass andere Regionen aufholen: Der Ruhrpott, allen voran Dortmund, Düsseldorf und Köln ziehen mit 14,1 Prozent nach – gefolgt von Stuttgart/Karlsruhe mit knapp 9 Prozent, München mit 7 Prozent und Hamburg mit etwas mehr als 6 Prozent.

Branchentechnisch müssen sich alle Großkonzern-Dampfer für einen Angriff von kleinen, schlagkräftigen Startup-Speedboats in Acht nehmen: Nach einer Studie der Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft Ernst & Young boomt vor allem der E-Commerce, in den im ersten Halbjahr 2017 etwa 939 Millionen Euro Risikokapital floss. Es folgt die Fintech-Branche mit etwa einem Drittel davon und dann die Branchen Gesundheit, Software, Automobile, Dienstleistungen, Möbel, Haustiere und Medien.

Mehr Informationen? Nutzen Sie unsere E-Kurse & persönliche Beratung


E-Kurse Beratungberufebilder

Der Debatten-Monitor bündelt das Feedback von 2 Mio. Nutzern auf 100 Social-Media-Kanälen (Übersicht) zu unseren Beiträgen. Sie wollen hier kommentieren? Bitte die Debatten-Regeln einhalten, Beiträge müssen freigeschaltet werden. Fotos sind via Gravatar möglich, Ihre eMail-Adresse bleibt geheim.

Feedback-Statistik:

  1. 168 Leser nach Google Analytics
  2. 19 mal Feedback insgesamt
  3. Debatte zu diesem Beitrag folgen
  4. Allen Debatten folgen
  5. Debatten per eMail abonnieren (Link hier eintragen!)

Meistdiskutiert letzter Monat:

  1. Stefan Walz
    Stefan Walz

    3 X 5 Tipps zur Bewerbung & Karriere im Startup: Darauf müssen Bewerber achten! | Best of HR – Berufebilder.de (Beitrag via Twitter) a0wG24jfXn

  2. Friederike Gonzalez
    Friederike Gonzalez

    3 X 5 Tipps zur Bewerbung & Karriere im Startup: Darauf müssen Bewerber achten! (Beitrag via Twitter) 1Hksu9db1X via @berufebilder

  3. Andre St

    Karrierr in Start-Ups nicht immer einfach – Vorteile & Nachteile (Beitrag via Twitter) L0tSFVwHjT #HR #Worklifebalance #newwork

  4. HRfilter

    3 X 5 Tipps zur Bewerbung & Karriere im Startup: Darauf müssen Bewerber achten! von
    Ste…
    (Beitrag via Twitter) B7UQWOcz9e @berufebilder #Gehalt

  5. Simone Janson
    Simone Janson

    3 X 5 Tipps zur Bewerbung & Karriere im Startup: Darauf müssen Bewerber achten! – (Beitrag via Twitter) O9NbFHGjhc

  6. Stefan Rippler
    Stefan Rippler

    Tipps für Startup-Karrieren: (Beitrag via Twitter) bVSFLrXT8k

  7. BEGIS GmbH

    3 X 5 Tipps zur Bewerbung & Karriere im Startup: Darauf müssen Bewerber achten! von
    Stefan… via @berufebilder
    (Beitrag via Twitter) dR4Cq8vVJ0

  8. Thomas Eggert
    Thomas Eggert

    3 X 5 Tipps zur Bewerbung & Karriere im Startup: Darauf müssen Bewerber achten! von
    Stefan… via @berufebilder
    (Beitrag via Twitter) 0jUjg0ZGrN

  9. Jobcollege

    3 X 5 Tipps zur Bewerbung & Karriere im Startup: Darauf müssen Bewerber achten! von Stefan Rippler… (Beitrag via Twitter) VNRDSKuVSp

  10. Simone Janson
    Simone Janson

    3 X 5 Tipps zur Bewerbung & Karriere im Startup: Darauf müssen Bewerber achten! – (Beitrag via Twitter) O9NbFHGjhc

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.